Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pinebrook Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 916 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

We are now in our 3rd year of being a Pinebrook family and each year gets better. Each teacher (Clark/Lieberman, Shelton & now Roth) has been better then the next and the overall experience has been great. The communication not only from the school but individual teachers has exceptional. Parent involvement is welcomed and appreciated. Every time I'm there regardless of the time of day I always see the Administrative folks walking the halls, checking on kids & classes and being an obvious presence. I couldn't be more happy with not only my children's experiences so far but mine as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

Great school ! Good teachers and a great program for children. My daughter finishes first grade this year and I have seen a marked improvement in her since we moved to this area from the Fairfax county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

It appears that it has been awhile since someone wrote about Pinebrook. Let me tell you that it's no different how I feel about the school than any of the other parents that have written below. Great staff, great lessons taught, and not to mention my favorite...ID check when entering school :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

Mrs. Haddock and Mr. Lyons are the best part of Pinebrook. Our son has been there 3 years and each teacher was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

The best part of Pinebrook is Mrs. Haddock, the principal. She is dedicated to the academic success of each child. She helped is personally to deal with a difficult teacher and my child is excelling and happy. I have a third grader and a kindergartner and have complete confidence in the excellent education they are receiving. I would have given 5 stars but agree with another parent below that more attention should be given to correcting or removing abusive teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

We have two children that attend this school. One has special needs. This school is absolutely amazing. Both of my children have learned so much in the two years they have been going there. By far this is the best school my kids have been to. If you are looking for a great school this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

excellent school good teacher .My kid cry if gets holiday she like school...Less Homework little concern thats it..but still like it as they are doing at school lot of work/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

I disagree with the high rating. The material is outstanding, but the abusive teachers need to be weeded out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

Pinebrook Elementary is by far the #1 elementary school in Loudoun County, VA, if not Virginia. My two children are now in 4th and 2nd grade and are doing excellent in school. There is a great sense of school spirit, great teachers who go above and beyond what is required, and a phenomenal leadership of the principal, vice principal and office staff. Could not ask for a better place to have my kids learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Excellent Principal, very good leader and the teachers are great and very competent, qualified. Love the school atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

I love Pinebrook because #1 Mrs. Haddock - she is an awesome principal. She has high expectations of the teachers, parents, and kids and it shows! She is firm yet fun - just wait til you see her in action at the Staff Basketball game.; #2 the teachers - Pinebrook has the best teachers around; and #3 the community - there is a wonderful community who feeds into Pinebrook. It takes a village to raise children and the parents and local businesses are a part of that village!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

We no longer attend Pinebrook Elementary and have moved to another fine school in Fairfax County but I wanted to give my two cents for those moving into the area or considering attending this school. Mrs. Haddock is the best principal and runs the school in a top notch fashion. It shows in her front office staff as well. They are completely approachable and make you feel welcome. My son had an IEP for Aspergers and she took all his needs VERY seriously and made sure he got what he needed. I highly recommend it.


Posted May 25, 2010

We are extremely happy with Pinebrook. Our twins are finishing kindergarten, and they have had a great year. They have learned far more than I ever imagined. Mrs. Haddock is an incredible principal. Our kids are looking forward to first grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

We have a very good experience of school.We just moved here.Teachers are excellent. Good extracurricular activities. Very discipline and safe school.Excellent teaching. My kids are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Pinebrook Elementary has been the best experience not only for our children but also for us the parents. We find the education to be top notch. The school has high expectaions and offers many different after school activites. You can always go into the school and parents are made to feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

In my opinion, Pinebrook Elementary is the finest school in Virginia. From the principal on down, the administration is excellent, the teachers are enthusiastic, and the kids respond in amazing way. I feel very blessed and privileged that my child has been able to attend this school for all his elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

Pinebrook Elementary is a well-run school with an excellent administration and superior teachers. I can not say enough about the three years my son has attended Pinebrook. The office staff is knowledgeable and always kind and helpful. I truly feel our principal always puts the children first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

My overall view of this school is good although it does have its faults. The teachers really push the students to excel and my child responds well to the challenge. The principal is one of the most professional ones it has been my privilege to meet. She is dedicated, involved and a very nice person. The school has a very active PTA and is always holding an event at or for the school. However, I have been disappointed with the way some parents aren't allowed to volunteer because they have small children. They keep saying that they will find ways to involve parents with small children but that hasn't happened. The office staff always makes me feel like I am bothering them when I go into the office. They could definitely be friendlier. My child enjoys going to school and that's a good thing. : )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

This is a fantastic school with an amazing administration. My kids love Pinebrook and I am constantly amazed at the dedication and care that the staff shows on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

We have been very impressed with Pinebrook Elementary and the team that runs the school under the excellent leadership of Mrs. Haddock (Principal). Every teacher we have met is awesome -- especially Ms. Wright (4th grade). Highly recommended school!! Everyone is very involved and engaged -- as Ms. Haddock explains -- Secret to a good school is having good students and subsequently good parents... Again, we are very satisfied and look forward to enrolling our other kids shortly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

154 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students89%
Male students85%
Black students85%
Asian students98%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial87%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students95%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students80%
Black students62%
Asian students93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial79%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students97%
Female students95%
Male students98%
Black students85%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students93%
Male students85%
Black students83%
Asian students90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English93%

Math

All Students90%
Female students94%
Male students86%
Black students83%
Asian students90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students91%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students95%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students96%
Female students95%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25480 Mindful Court
Aldie, VA 20105
Phone: (703) 957-4325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty Elementary School
South Riding, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT