Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mercer Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 742 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

Mercer is great! I am in sixth grade and will be staying until 8th grade! All the negative reviews are not true and it has very good teachers and very good discipline! Mr. Philips is on top of everything and I love all the clubs! I have made so many friends here too! 2013-2014 is it's most recent year and is the best! Love this school! Best in Loudoun!


Posted April 23, 2014

My son goes to this school and has had a very positive experience so far. He enjoys his teachers and his classmates. I hear the same from his friends. I'm surprised by the negative reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I hate it and I can't get out. I feel bad for my friends here to. Everyone is so screwed up. I wish I never went here. It's torture


Posted December 13, 2013

This is my sons 2nd year at Mercer and it has been a wonderful school for him. His teachers are responsive and helpful when issues arise. The new administration is working on getting it's sea legs and has demonstrated a strong leaning towards leveraging current technology. I have nothing but good things to say about this school and my son is very happy there - or as happy as any child going to school will be:-). He has participated in a number of the clubs(engineering, Lego Robotics) and is currently in two classes that will give him high school credit. I have been in the school quite often and don't understand why someone claimed it was dirty since it is well maintained and is less than 10 years old. -- submitted by an involved parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Absolutely TERRIBLE school. The teachers are non helpful the school is dirty the kids are very rude and bully eachother a lot. Whoever goes to this school i feel bad for them Them their future will be terrible and they will work at mcdonalds . This school should be taken down HORROR!!!


Posted August 26, 2013

My school is Mercer. A lot of the other reviews are bad, but that is most likely because it was a while ago. It is now the 2013-2014 school year. The teacher are all really nice and funny and would love to help you whenever you need it


Posted May 10, 2013

I agree with the previous review by a parent that the administration sweeps problems (bullying) under the rug and retaliates against the parents. There is a huge disparity between the way some students/parents are treated by the administration over others. More professional development is needed across the board, especially with their Special Education staff. This administration takes no accountability for their actions. As a parent, I find myself trying to undo all the damage done to my kids by the school. Something is very very wrong with the administration. They need a total staff overhaul from the top down. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

i just finished my 8th grade year and can not be happier to finally leave. This school is pretty annoying and terrible with the exception of a few teachers and administers. Some teachers everybody loves but there are more that the entire student body hates. This school is also pretty cliquey just as an fyi, pretty much no one hangs out with anyone outside of there clique(i am guilty for hanging out wth only my clique).


Posted August 29, 2009

I really like this school! Its makes you feel important and the teachers take the time to answer your questions so you can understand it. Its a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

Overall, its really not a bad school. There are many excellent opportunities here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

I'm a student at Mercer and I'm in 8th grade, I know what goes on there. Most of the teachers are good, some are a little boring but that's usual. I do like most of my 8th grade teachers. The principal is okay, a little weird though. Honestly the vice principal can get on my nerves, he blames everything on us! I've been here for 3 years so I'm really happy to be getting out, finally.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2008

Some fantastic teachers, but when there is an occasional big problem the administration sweeps it under the rug and retaliates against the parents. Both my kids have had this problem. Also the PTA provides little to no action or information so parents are pretty much in the dark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

What a well organized, and dedicated staff Mercer has! The way they run the school is outstanding. My child had a wonderful 6th grade year...he loves it there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

such a awsome school with good teachers, principal, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Not a good school. Teachers take too many absent. My child always say they had a sub. Teacher & esp principal & assistant principal are lacking basic discipline (bullying & disrespect). All of them act like they are on a year round vacation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Not a good school. Teachers take too many absent. My child always say they had a sub. Teacher & esp principal & assistant principal are lacking basic discipline (bullying & disrespect). All of them act like they are on a year round vacation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

This school is full of trouble, largely due to overcrowding and management. Problems could be fixed but principal is bent on covering them up not improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

Sorry,I found school overcrowded, little-to-no communication between school and parents, disorganized administration (no communication), poor Web site, lacking in basic discipline (disrespect, bullying), the PTA is not active or effective. Also kids are being taught this year by teachers rolling around carts because there aren't enough classrooms, but this was not communicated in advance to parents. Yet parents haven't been brought in, asked to advocate for portables etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

i was a student at mercer for my sixth and part of seventh grade year. the teachers there are awesome and the school is really clean, and nice. i actually wanted to go to school every day because the teachers were really nice and cool and they taught alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2006

Love this school! The principal was just great, he really took the time to pay attention to each and every student. Some of the teachers were better than others though. The extracurricular activities are organized like an actual class, where they're all dismissed by a bell. The parent evolvement, though, is not so good. There isn't much of a PTA. At times, classes that I see can be get a bit out of hand but overall, the safety and discipline is pretty good. The best part is, all the kids are extremely friendly and there is little to no problems of cliches. I think if you're looking to put your 11-15 year old in a new school, you should try at Mercer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students87%
Male students91%
Black students66%
Asian students93%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial100%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students71%
Female students65%
Male students79%
Black students43%
Asian students81%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students89%
Male students87%
Black students69%
Asian students92%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial80%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students74%
Female students73%
Male students75%
Black students50%
Asian students88%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial77%
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students82%
Black students69%
Asian students87%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial70%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students91%
Male students90%
Black students80%
Asian students94%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students25%
Female students29%
Male students22%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students29%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English24%

Science

All Students90%
Female students87%
Male students92%
Black students79%
Asian students91%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial90%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students93%
Black students91%
Asian students98%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Geometry

All Students98%
Female students100%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Duellman

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42149 Greenstone Dr.
Aldie, VA 20105
Phone: (703) 957-4340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT