Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Champe High School 5

Posted April 23, 2016
- a parent
This school deserves a much higher grade. Please understand John Champe is a new school and has it's growing pains. I have 2 children that attend the school and they love it, I love it too! I have called to talk to teachers and guidance counselors and they all ways return my calls and are genuinely concerned about my children personally and academically. The Band program is phenomenal and so is the Tech Ed department and the Football team. Its a Great School!!

John Champe High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 23, 2016
- a parent
All teachers communicate with me when I ask for it and sometimes when I don't. They are willing to do whatever it takes to help your child succeed.


John Champe High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 23, 2016
- a parent
My kids do have homework every day but they have never been overwhelmed with it.

John Champe High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
No because some of the teachers are not effective because they don't take the time to grade the work that the students does so they can see exactly what areas that the student needs help in.

John Champe High School 2

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
We are new to this area and at first we thought it was a good school until I called the school to talk to the teacher about my concerns on how she grades test and class work and homework. When I spoke with the teacher I asked her how does she grades the work she gives out because I couldn't understand how my daughter had gotten a 54% on test when the paper had 25 questions and only four was marked wrong and the teacher explained that she only graded 8 questions on that paper and I said that was not fair and the teacher said she doesn't grade every piece of work or question that a student turns in and when I said that was not fair the teacher said that she had been teaching for 17 years and no teacher has time to grade everything that a child turn in that would take up to much time. So when I called back up to the school to speak with the guidance counsellor at 8:15 am I told she was in a meeting and didn't call me back until 3:00pm and she had already talk to the teacher and she told me that she understands the teacher because she is a insider and that she said that since I'm outsider that's why I don't understand that the teacher has been teacher for a long time and that is how all the teachers in that department grades. So when I called the next morning at 9:30am to speak with the principal I left my cell and home number and that I was calling to speak about my child and my concerns and he didn't even care enough to call me back. So now I will be calling the school board. Please parents go over all your children work and make sure everything is graded like it suppose to be graded so you can make sure your child is getting the best education they can get.


John Champe High School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
We are new to this school, and we could not be more pleased. After relocating from another school in the area, I could see and feel the difference with how my children felt after the first few months. The school leadership, faculty and parents I have met have been stellar! The parents I have met have been amazing. Always willing to assist in anyway they can. I guess that's the benefit of being a newer school. The school is now in it's third year and they continue to make huge strides from their athletics to the academics. If you are looking to relocate here, I highly recommend John Champe High School!

John Champe High School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
This school is excellent. The teachers and staff really care about the students. It's still a new school but there are so many good things about it. My child has a nurturing environment to learn and prepare for college.

John Champe High School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
John Champe encourages excellence in all areas and for all staff and students. The quality of the teachers is outstanding.


John Champe High School 5

Posted April 14, 2013
- a student
Fantastic school. The teachers and administration have done a great job of building enthusiasm, and all the subjects are well-taught. Teachers are there to help students, and they actually TEACH, which, coming from a students, is a very good thing. The math department is incredibly, and surpasses Freedom's a billion times. Despite these good things, Champe still needs to work on its extracurriculars. Other than that, it's a great school to attend. Thank you JCHS!

John Champe High School 5

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
Great school Great teachers outstanding performance best staff students get all what they need to a achieve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Champe High School
41535 Sacred Mountain Street, Aldie, VA  20105
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (703) 722-2680
Last modified John Champe High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top