Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Rita School

Private | PK-8 | 233 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Alexandria

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $419,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2014

I am really not impressed with the middle school at St Rita's. It's ridiculously disorganized -- homework sheets are given to some kids but not to others. Tests may or may not happen when they are scheduled. Projects are given with no due dates. They push the kids to do too much too soon. Why do we need to make college students out of 7th graders? Is three hours of homework every night the norm these days? It's really a shame too because it's a sweet, little community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

I have two children attending St. Rita and I couldn't be happier with its nurturing environment. There is a strong academic focus and both of my children take advantage of the great basketball and track programs that are available. My older daughter is finishing her last year at the school and our whole family is feeling many emotions as she prepares for the sacrament of confirmation, and also as she prepares for high school. It will be a sad day when these kids part ways; but also an exciting new chapter that they are now very prepared for. The involvement and guidance of the principal, the pastor, the teachers, and every family has been the staple to an amazing journey of support and we are so blessed to be a part of this family environment. Both of my children now have friends for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

My youngest daughter has just begun her last year at St. Rita School. What a wonderful experience we have had here over the past 11 years. Her older sister is now a high school sophomore and was so well prepared both academically and spiritually for her transition. Our principal's office door is always open, our pastor is ever present and together with faculty and parents, they wrap their arms around your family and guide you through all the ups and downs of life. I will miss this family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

St. Rita School has a clear mission, to form students academically and spiritually, and it succeeds at both equally well. We have had several children graduate from St. Rita and find them to be very well prepared for high school. The Principal of St Rita is highly professional and caring. She and her staff provide excellent models of living the faith and are serious about providing high quality academics to the diverse student body (which comes from a variety of socioeconomic backgrounds; there are also a number of military families). The Pastor is very involved in the school and is well-loved by the students. This small school (one class per grade) has a family feel about it, and parents are very involved in after-school programs, faculty support, and fundraising. The Catholic identity of the school is strong, but the environment is very welcoming to all families, no matter their religious affiliation. The only challenge is that it can be hard to secure a spot in the school as the many young families in the parish start to have school-age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

This is an awesome school. From the admissions director Ms Cunningham to the Kindergarten Teacher Ms Moran They are awesome! friendly , helpful, courteous! I am a first time mom the whole parish is very helpful. My son loves going to school already he has had a couple of hours with the teacher not even started school and already loving it ! Me and my husband attended a ice cream social for the kids and parents and everyone in the staff was very friendly including parents! Love this school already!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

Great school. My kindergartener is thriving. We have been really pleased with the education, the teachers, the school community, parent involvement, etc. So glad we ended up choosing it over our home parish school which felt more like a fancy prep school, and over our home ACPS public school which is struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2012

This is the BEST school around. My son was in the preschool for their first year operating and I cannot tell you how pleased I was with the quality of their program. Everyone (from the principle to the priest to the teachers to the secretary, and beyond) make this an absolutely wonderful environment. We are moving and will not be able to continue next year but we would if we could. Saint Rita set a very high bar for the next school we attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

great in all what they do and how they help the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Because its the best! Good teachers,parents and most importent children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I love this school!!! the Principal is the best, she is very professional!! The Science Teacher is the awesome, she really engages the children. My children love St. Rita.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

I've been a teacher at Saint Rita for several years. It is an excellent school and very tight knit. With an average of 18-20 kids per class, the teachers can really work one on one with each child. The school has added a beautiful science lab and art studio. As for half days, there is only one scheduled per month for a faculty meeting - unlike weekly half days for public school. This year, there are three other half days from the diocese for curriculum mapping. This is mandatory for all schools. Saint Rita is a great place for students and I would highly recommend it. The principal is extraordinary and one of the best I've worked with. She is a model of Catholic values and professionalism.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 7, 2007

My child has been at saint rita since K, the school is wonderful, the princple is just wonderful. The school is small and tight knit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

This is an AMAZING school! As a current seventh grader at Saint Rita's, I can assure all prospective families that this is the school you want for both religious and academic education. It's a really small school compared to others in the area, but that is positive in my opinion. Sports is not a big central focus at St. Rita's--basketball is the only thing available. Special classes like music, art, and PE aren;t taken very seriously-- no A,B,C,D, or F's, just effort grades-- but they are well taught and favorites of the students. The computer lab is well equipped. The library is decently stocked, not so great for research (go to the computer lab) but wonderful for pleasure reading for all ages. Parents are well involved in the annual Silent Auction, Bazaars and other events as well as the everyday academics. St. Rita's gets two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2005

St.Rita Catholic school is ,in my opinion, one of the best schools. It is very open to different races and different abilities. If I were to rate it I would give a Ten not just for the school but for the teachers and staff. This school has a very complex learning system and when I have kids this will be the school on my top 5 list.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 Russell Road
Alexandria, VA 22305
Phone: (703) 548-1888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Episcopal School
Alexandria, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT