Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
233 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Rita School 3

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
Elementary here was wonderful. Small community environment and lovely people. But once we started middle school, it just fell apart. Teachers don't respond to email in a timely manner. They don't update parents on the status of students; you have to seek it out. They don't update the homework site in time for the week to start or keep the schedule that is posted. Grades are infrequently updated in a new online gradebook. They've bought technology year after year, but my child has not used a computer, laptop, or tablet in class yet this year. Fine set up for middle-of-the-road students but not for those who excel or struggle. Wonderful elementary program, average middle school program.

St Rita School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
They do a bullying study every year but nothing changes and I've never seen the results of those studies.


St Rita School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
St. Rita School has been a great choice for our family. Our children are in 7th and 4th grades and started at St. Rita's in Kindergarten. Our principal recently received the National Distinguished Principal Award. She is a gift to our school - she knows each student by name, is responsive to parents and her leadership has allowed her to build and retain an experienced faculty. The teachers bring enthusiasm and creativity to their classrooms. The school offers a challenging curriculum which includes literature, public speaking and Latin in the middle school. The school has science and computer labs and all students have recess twice daily and physical education weekly. The environment is warm and calm and the students are expected to conduct themselves respectfully. St. Rita's also offers a wide array of extracurricular activities including sports, Scouts, chess, band and strings instruction, student council, National Junior Honor Society and the school musical. We truly believe that St. Rita's has helped us raise good and kind people.

St Rita School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Thank you, Mrs. S., for creating and shepherding such a wonderful sense of community at St. Rita School.

St Rita School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
St. Rita's is the epitome of a small, neighborhood school, even though many of its students commute from further away. My family is fortunate to live just down the street, and we have been parishioners in the church for many years. My daughter enrolled in the school as part of the inaugural three-year-old preschool class (the Little Lambs), and now is thriving in the Second Grade. As she says, "I've been going to St. Rita's my whole life!" Our entire family has cultivated wonderful friendships through St. Rita School, and we look forward to great things to come.


St Rita School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
I feel so blessed and honored that my boys are students at St. Rita! The school truly embraces its mission of the soul of education is the education of the soul . The curriculum is not only strong but they truly do teach to the mind and soul of each student. St. Rita is a small school which allows an amazing community of families to flourish and support one another. Mrs. Moran is the best kindergarten teacher. She is strict and she expects a lot from the children, but the love and care she takes with embracing their nascent educational journey is an amazing to watch. Plus, the amazing principal, Mrs. Mary Pat Schlickenmaier recently was honored with a national award from the National Catholic Education Association, only one of nine principals in the entire country!

St Rita School 3

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
I am really not impressed with the middle school at St Rita's. It's ridiculously disorganized -- homework sheets are given to some kids but not to others. Tests may or may not happen when they are scheduled. Projects are given with no due dates. They push the kids to do too much too soon. Why do we need to make college students out of 7th graders? Is three hours of homework every night the norm these days? It's really a shame too because it's a sweet, little community school.

St Rita School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
I have two children attending St. Rita and I couldn't be happier with its nurturing environment. There is a strong academic focus and both of my children take advantage of the great basketball and track programs that are available. My older daughter is finishing her last year at the school and our whole family is feeling many emotions as she prepares for the sacrament of confirmation, and also as she prepares for high school. It will be a sad day when these kids part ways; but also an exciting new chapter that they are now very prepared for. The involvement and guidance of the principal, the pastor, the teachers, and every family has been the staple to an amazing journey of support and we are so blessed to be a part of this family environment. Both of my children now have friends for life.


St Rita School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My youngest daughter has just begun her last year at St. Rita School. What a wonderful experience we have had here over the past 11 years. Her older sister is now a high school sophomore and was so well prepared both academically and spiritually for her transition. Our principal's office door is always open, our pastor is ever present and together with faculty and parents, they wrap their arms around your family and guide you through all the ups and downs of life. I will miss this family.

St Rita School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
St. Rita School has a clear mission, to form students academically and spiritually, and it succeeds at both equally well. We have had several children graduate from St. Rita and find them to be very well prepared for high school. The Principal of St Rita is highly professional and caring. She and her staff provide excellent models of living the faith and are serious about providing high quality academics to the diverse student body (which comes from a variety of socioeconomic backgrounds; there are also a number of military families). The Pastor is very involved in the school and is well-loved by the students. This small school (one class per grade) has a family feel about it, and parents are very involved in after-school programs, faculty support, and fundraising. The Catholic identity of the school is strong, but the environment is very welcoming to all families, no matter their religious affiliation. The only challenge is that it can be hard to secure a spot in the school as the many young families in the parish start to have school-age children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Rita School
3801 Russell Road, Alexandria, VA  22305
(703) 548-1888
Last modified St Rita School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Rita School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top