Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
185 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 3

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Middle school needs much, much, much improvement....Better teachers especially in grades 7 & 8. We need more dedicated teachers in grades 7 & 8. Less substitute teachers...especially in middle school. Spain and stuff related to it should take a back seat...focus more on improving our school for the betterment of our children.

Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 3

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
Please think of quality before quantity. Filling up the school should not be the main goal, but the caliber of children entering the school should be more important. Enrollment may go up but the standard drops if one is just looking for quantity, and it's really not fair to do that.


Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
We are a military family and therefore move every 2-3 years. When I received my orders to the Pentagon I immediately starting looking for the best school districts (as any parent would). However, I could not find what I was looking for. I was looking for a school that provided the same values that we instill in our children at home with the high quality education that I expect. After many months I found Queen of Apostles. It was truly the call to my prayers. My children have been at QoA for 3 years and love it. Every student is treated with respect and constant care.

Queen Of Apostles Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank every teacher at this school but I want to extend a particular thank you two Mrs Ault and Mrs Reid. I feel these teachers go well beyond their tasks. They have that special touch with each student that makes them feel special.

Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 2

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Better programs, more motivation, more challenges. That's what makes a school better. Blue ribbon status is best.


Queen Of Apostles Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Dowden, for being a fantastic teacher and caring about her students' well-being and development.

Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
This is my son’s first year at Queen of Apostles and I can say that I could not be happier about my choice to send him there. He started kindergarten a little over two months ago (he is in Mrs. Dowden’s class) and he has loved going to school since then. Judging by all the classwork that he brings home at the end of each week and from the stories he tells me, I can see that he is learning a great deal. He has also developed an even greater interest in reading and writing since school started. He used to attend a learning center prior to entering kindergarten, which was working out fine, but he just seems to be a much happier kid now. I credit the wonderful Mrs. Dowden and the caring staff at QofA with all of these positive changes in him (school staff seems to know him by name). The PTA at this school is very active and strongly encourages, almost requires, parents to be involved in their children’s lives in and out of school. I think this is a great thing because so many parents nowadays are not involved at all or not nearly as involved as they should be. And there are so many ways to be involved during and after school hours. The school also organizes many activities for students, their families, and the community (fall festival, international day, 5k race, etc.) I highly recommend this school to anyone who cares about their child’s intellectual, emotional and spiritual development! Thank you QofA!

Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
Our son has been attending Queen of Apostles since kindergarten. He is now in 2nd grade and absolutely LOVES the school. He's made so many good friends who share his interests and values that he couldn't wait for summer break to end so that he could return. As a parent that makes me very happy. We love the faculty and administration. They provide every student with the attention, care and nurturing they require. The curriculum is challenging, the pace appropriate and the expectations pragmatic. It's exciting to see our son learning and growing every day! Queen of Apostles offers numerous extracurricular activities to keep students engaged, as well as unique supplemental educational opportunities, morning and extended day care and an amazing new science lab! The school also holds several family focused events throughout the year creating a community atmosphere that encourages involvement and mutual support. We are most grateful for the focus on Catholic values that provide the foundation for building strong moral character. We've witnessed the positive impact Queen of Apostles has had on our son and we can't recommend it highly enough.


Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
It's my daughter's third year in this school and all I can say is big THANK YOU to all the people that put their heart and soul into making this school the greatest place to be! Thank you for teaching the kids not only the academics but more than anything how to be better human beings - loving, caring, giving, sharing, forgiving!!! Thank you to the PTO for being so proactivlely involved in making our school and community a better place! Thank you for providing a safe and healthy environment for our kids to freely express themselves and grow spiritually as well as academically.

Queen Of Apostles Catholic School 5

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
My 6 year old twins attend this school and I am thrilled with the academic program. The kindergarten teacher uses technology to teach, smartboards, etc. She keeps a blog so I can always know what my kids are learning each week. I am very happy with the attentiveness this school pays to its kids. Excellent school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Queen Of Apostles Catholic School
4409 Sano Street, Alexandria, VA  22312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. (703) 354-0714
Last modified Queen Of Apostles Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top