Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
828 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bishop Ireton High School 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
As a graduate of BI who went on to attend a top 40 university for free, I can attest that Bishop Ireton is a good school. There are many AP options, and if you have good tests scores and grades, there are courses that will challenge you. As it is a smaller school, it is easy to be involved in sports and other extra curricular activities.

Bishop Ireton High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
Two of the best teachers I have ever had were from my time at Ireton, in the History and English departments.


Bishop Ireton High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
The school is challenging academically, and pushes students to not only be scholars, but athletes and fully rounded persons.

Bishop Ireton High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
There is a mandatory service requirement, and the school sponsors a school in Haiti for kids that really need the support.

Bishop Ireton High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
The school has an honor code, and focuses on developing the whole student. It is also a religious school, rooted in its Catholic faith.


Bishop Ireton High School 3

Posted September 06, 2014
- a community member
I attend bishop ireton and have mixed feelings about this school. The math teacher i had last year was absolutely awful. I completed my 8th grade year with the highest grade in my math class and ended freshman year with barely a C-. However, some of the teachers are excellent! There are several tests a week and studying daily would be recommended to pass all classes with an A. I disagree with freshman taking earth science as i took it in 8th grade and repeated it ninth grade even though i made a solid A in the class in middle school. All schools have pros and cons. I would recommend bi if your willing to spend excess money on tutoring outside of school.

Bishop Ireton High School 1

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
BI has communication issues and lack of responsiveness to parental concerns. I would not recommend.

Bishop Ireton High School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Bishop Ireton is a great private high school for what it costs. Be sure your child studies in advance when taking placement tests as this can dictate, especially in math, the courses you will take until you are a senior. Recommendations from teachers can help bump a student to a higher level, but they must have a track record as a student working hard to improve their performance. Public high schools may offer more in tech. courses, but you go to B.I. so as to get into a great college. If you work with the administration, one-on-one you can take a needed course at an outside high school and get it applied to your curriculum. My daughter was accepted to every college of which she applied. She earned $144,000 in merit scholarships and many of her class mates earned more. The class of 2013, approximately 190 students, earned over $9,000,000 in scholarships to colleges and universities of every academic level in Virginia and across the US. At B.I. many students are involved in sports, drama, music and other extracurricular activities. The opportunities can be exhaustive, just look for them. At B.I. the school, parent and student together can make a difference in your child's future.


Bishop Ireton High School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
Bishop Ireton High School provides the students with academic challenge as well as a friendly and nurturing environment. I have been very impressed with the faculty and staff. The teachers are wonderful! My son is a senior, so during his first 3 years at BI, Mr. Hamer was the head of school and also his advisory teacher. My son enjoyed his time with Mr. Hamer, who was always there for him. BI was the only high school my son applied to because it was the only school that he wanted to attend (and we wanted him to attend). BI exceeded all our expectations.

Bishop Ireton High School 3

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Teachers in some subjects are good. Math has required tutoring outside of school. Administration communication is poor, technically, topically, and minimal on important information relating directly to a students academic success. The guidance counselors are stretched and abbreviated in communications. A new guidance counselor was learning about the topics I was inquiring about with me.

Nearby schools

Bishop Ireton High School
201 Cambridge Road, Alexandria, VA  22314
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (703) 212-5190
Last modified Bishop Ireton High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top