Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
288 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burgundy Farm Country Day School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
Our child started in JK, for which we primarily applied for with the intention to ensure Kindergarten admission the following year, for which we are glad we did due to a long wait list for K openings. But that JK year was instrumental in building a foundation for our child to learn and love learning! He approached kindergarten with full on confidence, joy, and determination. The journey ever since has been a fun-filled learning adventure. Love the small class sizes, social and emotional development, and building an appreciation for nature, the environment and people of all backgrounds and walks of life. No where else does a child get sad when summer vacation arrives because they would rather be in school!

Burgundy Farm Country Day School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
My child has a love and compassion for all living creatures (right down to the little inch worms he finds in the grass, begging us to build a "habitat" for it and take care of it!), as well as for the environment and tolerance of others' thoughts and opinions.


Burgundy Farm Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
Honesty, integrity and fairness are taught in a way that encourages self-direction in problem-solving, learning to become self-advocates and being able to trust others to help with conflict resolution when help is needed (whether it is adult support or peer support).

Burgundy Farm Country Day School 3

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
Experience at this school for our child was variable and uneven. Early grade teachers were helpful and supportive but later elementary grade teachers could only teach a certain way and did not want to alter their methods for the individual. Also parent input was not valued.

Burgundy Farm Country Day School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
Character development is emphasized. Sometimes bullying was present and overlooked. It was difficult at times to talk to the teachers and to find time in their schedules to discuss social development.


Burgundy Farm Country Day School 4

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Our child loves the school and the close-nit environment has really helped our child gain confidence. We also feel that the academic environment is appropriately challenging. We are surprised and disappointed at how unresponsive and dismissive the administrators can be toward parent questions, suggestions, or concerns. While the weekly newsletter helps keep parents informed, it can take days for a call or email to be returned, and, even then, little follow up to see if the issues raised have been addressed. Indeed, we have even found an air of arrogance if suggestions are critical to the current structure -- as though parents couldn't possibly have anything to offer when it comes to educating children. Disappointing, to say the least.

Burgundy Farm Country Day School 5

Posted August 30, 2012
- a community member
I am one of the Class of 2012 graduates, and I attended Burgundy for 10 years. Not only does this school have rigorous academics, but also helps each student learn who they are as a learner, a thinker, a friend, a person, or a leader. Burgundy cherishes and strives to maintain the rich diversity and to engage the whole child in hands-on learning that instills respect for themselves, others, and the natural world. I could not recommend Burgundy more for any child. I had the most amazing experiences, made strong friendships, and enjoyed the interesting and intense academics. I loved every minute of it and will definitely stay in touch with the school!

Burgundy Farm Country Day School 5

Posted January 21, 2012
- a community member
I am an 8th grade student at Burgundy, and I have been going here for 9 years. I cannot recommend it more highly, and I think that if you are looking for a nurturing environment with excellent teacher-student relationships, Burgundy is the place for you. Definitely consider sending your child to Burgundy--I have loved every minute of my time here!


Burgundy Farm Country Day School 5

Posted August 04, 2010
- a parent
The finest middle school in Northern Virginia! A progressive, curriculum that encourages children to think independently.

Burgundy Farm Country Day School
no rating

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
I have three children that have gone through Burgundy--the quality of the teachers is uneven. Do your research and make sure your child gets into the class with the 'good' teachers.

Nearby schools

Burgundy Farm Country Day School
3700 Burgundy Road, Alexandria, VA  22303
(703) 960-3431
Last modified Burgundy Farm Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top