Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Browne Academy

Private | PK-8 | 250 students

Our school is best known for small class sizes, strong academics and diversity.
 
 

 
 

Living in Alexandria

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $372,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2012

Browne Academy has over the past 8 years has prepared my son for wherever he may land in high school. The writing curriculum is solid and probably at the high school level; the science and math upper middle school curriculums were far above and beyond what I ever learned at that age and the teachers are caring and generous with their time. If you are looking for a small school where you child will excel in academics and encouraged to strive for their best, Browne is probably the best value and most under rated private school in the Northern VA area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

Yes, while students are at Browne, they don't like it very much, they don't appreciate it, but in high school, it prepares them so much for what they will have to face with their excellent faculty that always put the children first. And the kids earn great friends that follow them past graduation.


Posted July 25, 2011

As a parent whose child has been at Browne for 5 years and a former educational professional, I would like to say that the curriculum offered at this school is 1-2 years above what is offered at the nearby public schools. Browne students are challenged, encouraged, and supported by caring professionals who love their jobs and support the Browne community. At the middle school level, students are expected to complete 2-3 hours of homework per night. If the students and parents manage their time, it is workable, even with extra curricular activities. The benefits of a small, nurturing school far outweigh those of surrounding schools where the student/teacher ratio is 1:25.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

As parents with a preschooler at Browne Academy, we've been very pleased with the staff and curriculum. The teachers in the PS are warm and nuturing, and provide an environment for our child to learn through both a montessori and structured type of program. Our child is happy, always excited to go to school, and we are very pleased with the education and attention she is receiving. We are looking forward to another great year in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

I am a student at Browne Academy and have observed, other fellow students, including myself, are not happy with how the school has come along. I have heard almost all the students express their strong dislike for Browne at least once. The cirriculum does not challenge the students who need to be challenge, and instead, holds them back with the rest of the class's academic capabilities. Teachers are not able to deal with disciplinary situations they need to be able to handle. Parents have addressed to the school how teachers do not coordinate homework amounts, leaving the students with hours a night. The average time students go to sleep is between 11pm and 1am, which is not healthy for the development of their young minds. The students who came in Pre-K and Kindergarten say they would not be able to stand any more years at this school. Do not send your child to this school, it is not worth the money. Most of the good reviews are from parents who are not all aware of what really goes on from behind those walls. So take it from a student, your child will not be happy at this school. P.s. The student teacher ratio per classroom is 12, not five. Good luck on your hunt for a school.


Posted September 12, 2010

Great school, even better teachers. A level of commitment to the task at hand (The student success) you only see at top notch enterprises. Thank you Browne Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

Unfortunately Browne is going the wrong direction. The faculty turn over is through the roof and teachers who are not qualified are being hired. Qualified teacher don't last more than two years. I'm pulling kids out next year. 4 or 5 years ago I was so happy with the school but now unfortuantely is not the same school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

We have been at Browne's preschool for 2 years now and we think the program is wonderful. Our child is learning art, music, math & french and can already read on her own and she is not yet 5. We are very impressed with the curriculum and the teachers who are very caring. The school is very diverse and most families are dual-income. The only negative is that it does not have a large endowment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

My child have been at Browne for 3 years now. I have less impression at Browne this year as my child requires more challenging curriculum which I don't see at Browne. I have to spend more time and purchase more educational materials (leveled reading books, math textbook and workbook) to satisfy my child curiousity. I'm thinking about and 'shopping' around other private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My grandson is in his fifth year at Brown. His teachers have been great and he has learned a tremendous amount.


Posted February 2, 2009

Our child transferred to Browne this year for middle school and we have been extremely pleased with the quality of the instruction and the depth of the curriculum. The students were very warm and welcoming and our child settled right in. We chose Browne specifically because it met the needs of our son who transferred from a TAG program and we have found Browne far superior overall. I'm not sure about the ages of the families that left because their kids were not challenged, but that has not been the case at all in the middle school. Outstanding overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

Our children have been at Browne for the past three years. We could not be happier with the quality of the teachers. Our kids are challenged and loved. It is a great, diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

I am a current parent at Browne. I have been dissappointed that the school does not allow for each child to move forward educational as they are ready. Students that are excelling in certain areas have to move backwards and are not challenged are encouraged to learn more than where the class is at any given point. Additionally, the school administration does not appear to respsect varying opinions regarding issues in our history, political beliefs and other ideas that may not be viewed as 'traditional.' I have been disappointed with the overall educational experience at Browne and will likley move my child to another school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

In our experience Browne has good teachers and facilities. However, we have left the school because it did not address disciplinary problems in a timely manner. We also were disappointed in how it met the needs of gifted students as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

Browne Academy is a great school with small classes, excellent faculty and staff, and a wonderful Head of School. The philosophy of both the school and the Head of School is that the best way for a child to blossom is for the school and parent to work together for the benefit of the child. Browne is more than a school. It is a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I am a student at Browne and I would like to say that over my past nine years here I have not once encountered a teacher who didn't appreciate each student and the curriculum and activities definitely encourage each student to try their best and achieve what is expected if not surpass it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2007

I am a teacher at Browne Academy, and now I am a proud parent of a Browne Academy student. This school's academic programs are top notch, with dedicated teachers who are truly experts in their fields. From the Pre-School to the Middle School, students experience exciting lessons and real enthusiasm for learning. I couldn't be more pleased with our new Head of School; she is a strong leader with a clear vision for our future. I am excited about what Browne has in store for my son when he enters the Pre-School program in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

Our children have been at Browne Academy for five years now, and we are happier with the school this year than in the past. We have a new head of school who is truly committed to the professional development of the faculty and staff, because she realizes the direct benefits a highly skilled teacher brings to the classroom. The quality of communication between the Administration and parents also has improved markedly this year. Given the small size of the school, it will never be an athletic powerhouse. However, the completion of the new gym now provides a venue for sports activities on campus. In any case, most parents probably place more value on the strong academic and cultural programs at Browne, which include music, art, and foreign language programs (with native-speaking French and Spanish instructors). Browne's mission is to produce lifelong learners, and on that score, the school remains on target.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

This is my family's third year at Browne Academy----and by far the best! The new Head of School, Margot Durkin, is a refreshing change, is doing a magnificent job and has been making well-thought out changes. Our child adores Browne's Middle School and we couldn't be happier with the teachers, our child's peer group, the curriculum and the work load. Just last week the 4th, 5th and 6th graders took a day trip to Philadelphia to view the King Tut exhibit which tied in beautifully with what the classes had been studying. We have been very impressed with the High School Placement Program at Browne Academy. Without a doubt, Browne Middle School students will graduate ready to succeed at any of the top independent schools in the Washington, DC area. Thank you Mrs. Durkin and all of the excellent teachers at Browne Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

We have been at this school several years and since the arrival of the new Head of School this school year, the quality of the school has gone down hill, with the departure of several good teachers in the Middle School. Although a few good teachers remain, the once challenging and exciting classes has dwindled to few. The Head of School, upon arrival, initiated broad sweeping changes in the middle school without regard to impacts on students and families. Good music programs and adequate sports program. Recommend looking at all available options and talking with parents of students before selecting a middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Margot N. Durkin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Softball
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Browne Academy is a pre-kindergarten through grade eight independent school preparing girls and boys in the metropolitan Washington, DC area for competitive secondary schools. We are dedicated to the development of the individual child as an independent, lifelong learner who embraces the core values of excellence, diversity, character and community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$17000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Need Based

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Stephens & St. Agnes School
Flint Hill School
Bishop Ireton
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5917 Telegraph Rd
Alexandria, VA 22310
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 960-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Alc At Cameron
Alexandria, VA


Quander Road School
Alexandria, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT