Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 250
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Browne Academy 4

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful (and truly diverse!) school with dedicated, enthusiastic and loving teachers. (The school makes significant investments in professional development, which is why I think it attracts - and keeps - this great staff year after year.) The head of school is responsive to parents and consistently in the classrooms with her students and teachers. From a parent perspective, it looks like there is a lot of collaboration between the classes and administration. Parents at Browne are really involved too - it's a small, tight-knit community. The campus is gorgeous and the kids are outside A LOT - the kindergarten class recently learned to "write like scientists" by investigating the school's gardens and trees. Not a bad way to learn ...

Browne Academy 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Our children will begin their Browne academic experience in the fall and as parents who are dedicated to providing our children with an outstanding education, we found Browne to be an excellent fit. The warmth and attention we received throughout the application process has been wonderful and we are so excited about the new head who started in the summer. She has so much energy! Our kids adore her already. We sent our children to Browne's summer camp to help acclimate them to their new surroundings. They quickly made friends and were embraced by the Browne students. They already feel comfortable on campus and have received insight from current students on what to expect in the fall. We can't wait for school to start and are looking forward to and anticipating an awesome year.


Browne Academy 2

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
Browne is in obvious shambles. Massive exodus, half of the faculty is gone. Schools website is very deceiving. Lots of teacher vacancies and low student enrollment. I met the new head of school...more of the same.

Browne Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
Wow I would guess that the negitive person complaining about asking for money does not understand that this is a non profit organization and the donations help to keep the school open and offer the best teachers available. We have two children at Browne who thrive. They have become lifelong learners and are excited and proud to be students at Browne. Believe me it is is not a country club school we have students and families from all walks of life.

Browne Academy 4

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
As a current Browne parent with two children in the school, we now have experiences with each division (we have been at the school for 7 years). While it has not been perfect, it is a great community and has served both of our children well. The PS is awesome, the LS is good (we could use a change in LS leadership, but there are good caring teachers in this division) and from what I can tell so far the MS is great. Browne lives up to the progressive school label, meeting children where they are. They do push, but with care and are an open environment that will work with parents to make sure their children have what they need. It's unfortunate that others did not have the same experience, but my belief is that part of that is due to mis-aligned expectations. It's a school, made up of people, not all will be perfect. It's an independent school and as a product of a Pre-K - 12 independent education, I will tell you ALL independent schools ask you for money and every school will have issues with one or more staff member every year. It's the nature of the beast. It simply boils down to what is right for your child and your family and for us Browne has been a great choice so far.


Browne Academy 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
Browne is a fantastic school. Any parent will see great social & academic development from their children while attending Browne. My two children who are in different grades have had excellent teachers during the 3 years the have been enrolled. This school is amazing because they take all types of children and succeed in turning them in to smart, capable and curious students! A parent couldn't ask for a more caring & academically focused environment for their child.

Browne Academy 2

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
My child must be in a different school compared to the most recent reviewers. Our experience is more in alignment with the "will be leaving" parent from November 26, 2012 review...

Browne Academy 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
Browne Academy is a wonderful school with supportive teachers and a wonderful student body. My child has thrived and grown so much due to teachers that truly care and love the kids. The environment is friendly and the resources are great. I have only seen children enjoy, thrive, and love coming to school. Browne is a great choice!


Browne Academy 4

Posted February 14, 2013
- a community member
Browne is a loving and nurturing community. The children enjoy coming to schools everyday. It is a positive and welcoming environment and my children are having a great experience. If you are looking for a school that really knows the students, Browne is the perfect school.

Browne Academy 2

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Browne's teaching philosophy is to deny students the opportunity to study those things that interest them so they are "stretched" by studying what they dislike. This is wildly inappropriate in the early grades and taught our children to hate school and to see teachers as abusive and capricious. Browne kindergarten is not bad, but get out after that!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Browne Academy
5917 Telegraph Rd, Alexandria, VA  22310
(703) 960-3000
Last modified Browne Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Browne Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top