Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
99 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Dear Parents, We recommend that every parent looking to educate their child to first research the work of Maria Montessori. Montessori is a unique and successful approach that should be offered to all children. Each classroom is structured so each child has the ability to reach their true potential. Each Montessori material has two purposes: the direct and indirect purpose. The direct purpose allows the child to understand the micro Montessori lesson of the material. The indirect purpose allows the child to understand the macro Montessori lesson that then will lead into greater exploration through Montessori materials. The Montessori materials is the science behind the Montessori method. It is our goal as educators to nurture a child’s natural love for learning, work, and order through self-discipline, mastering positive attitudes toward learning, and achieving ever increasing levels of independence. We encourage questions from all parents looking to educate their young child. We also offer tours of our facility and opportunities to meet our staff. Please contact us so we can get to know you and your child. Thanks, Montessori School of Alexandria
July 07, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori School Of Alexandria
Teacher effectiveness: no rating

Posted July 07, 2016
- a school leader
MSA provides continuing education experiences for all staff annually. One of those experiences is attending workshops specifically designed for Montessori schools during the national convention. This usually consists of at least three days of workshops.

Montessori School Of Alexandria
Develops grit: no rating

Posted July 07, 2016
- a school leader
These qualities exist within the child and we allow each child to explore these qualities. We help guide them to refine persistence, grit and determination. We help unlock the students potnetial.


Montessori School Of Alexandria
Develops respect: no rating

Posted July 07, 2016
- a school leader
By learning to take care of each other. This starts with the students being exposed to the environment. They learn the importance of caring for the environment, then one's self and then caring for others.

Montessori School Of Alexandria
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted July 07, 2016
- a school leader
The Montessori method respects the children and compassion, caring and empathy is all developed naturally. We also teach conflict resolution, grace and courtesy. This involves all matters of etiquette.

Montessori School Of Alexandria
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted July 07, 2016
- a school leader
The Montessori method respects the children and honesty, integrity and fairness is all developed naturally.


Montessori School Of Alexandria
no rating

Posted July 07, 2016
- a school leader
Dear Parents, We recommend that every parent looking to educate their child to first research the work of Maria Montessori. Montessori is a unique and successful approach that should be offered to all children. Each classroom is structured so each child has the ability to reach their true potential. Each Montessori material has two purposes: the direct and indirect purpose. The direct purpose allows the child to understand the micro Montessori lesson of the material. The indirect purpose allows the child to understand the macro Montessori lesson that then will lead into greater exploration through Montessori materials. The Montessori materials is the science behind the Montessori method. It is our goal as educators to nurture a child’s natural love for learning, work, and order through self-discipline, mastering positive attitudes toward learning, and achieving ever increasing levels of independence. We encourage questions from all parents looking to educate their young child. We also offer tours of our facility and opportunities to meet our staff. Please contact us so we can get to know you and your child. Thanks, Montessori School of Alexandria

Montessori School Of Alexandria 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
I am a parent of a child in the elementary classroom at MSA. I have read the previous poor reviews that were recently submitted and was dismayed. In my opinion, these reviews are not an accurate representation of the school, and in at least one case totally overblown and misleading. It is true that there have been issues, as happens at every school, but it's completely unfair to slam the school and the elementary program. I agree that some things may be handled better but to give such dire statements about physical assault is frankly ridiculous. I have another perspective on the situations they have mentioned. You can be assured that there was culpability on all parts, and that nothing rose to the level mentioned. My child was not a party to the events mentioned, but was attending the school and I can assure you that there's another, more balanced view. The teachers are as dedicated and caring as they come. My child has absolutely thrived at MSA and I cannot imagine a child receiving a more individualized, stimulating or complete education anywhere. This is a great school that will make sure your child is challenged while also working to their strengths, learning how to work cooperatively and in collaboration with others. If there is one thing I feel the school could do better is they need to upgrade the facilities. I would also appreciate a better use of social media and their website to get information out, showcase the school's programs and strengths and a more complete, professional administrative structure. Bottom line though, the school and staff are dedicated to the true principles of a Montessori education and care deeply about nuturing the whole child while giving them the best education possible.

Montessori School Of Alexandria 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
My family has been part of MSA for 7 years. The school embraces each child as an individual and instills a love of learning, consideration for others, and self confidence.


Montessori School Of Alexandria 3

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
My child attended preschool, kindergarten and elementary school at MSA. While the curriculum is excellent, it is important for prospective parents to know that multiple students in the elementary class in 2013 and 2014 were repeatedly bullied and assaulted (including pants being pulled down, etc.) over the course of several months. Despite repeated attempts to get the school to implement policies and disciplinary procedures, nothing was done and some parents ended up pulling out their children during the middle of the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 school years. If you are considering sending your child to this school, please ask to see the written policies of bullying and assault behavior and take every measure to ensure your child is safe at this school.

Montessori School Of Alexandria 2

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
MSA was a great school in the past and continued to excel at the preschool level. But in recent years, the elementary classroom has gone downhill. It has the potential to be a great program, but the administration refused to listen to parents when there are problems, which has resulted in a mass exodus after about 2nd or 3rd grade. Many families who gave this school their all through volunteering and PTA leadership positions have given up and walked away. (Ratings are hard to do because the preschool is excellent - I'd send my children there again and again for preschool. But think twice before keeping a child there past 2nd grade).

Nearby schools

Montessori School Of Alexandria
6300 Florence Lane, Alexandria, VA  22310
(703) 960-3498
Last modified Montessori School Of Alexandria is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top