Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 343
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
Blessed Sacrament School has been a great school for my son who transferred from public school. He has always been a strong student but is thriving at Blessed Sacrament. The parents have been welcoming, his teacher is phenomenal - responsive and proactive about communication, and the administration seems engaged and caring. Our transfer to Blessed Sacrament has been a great decision and wonderful experience for our family.

Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 1

Posted December 28, 2014
- a parent
We transferred our child here from a public school for more of an academic challenge since the TAG program was so limited at the elementary level. Everything with Blessed Sacrament seemed wonderful during registration but things quickly went south from there. We should have been tipped off by the militant uniform requirements: the shoes must be all black or white not an easy task in kids sneakers. Many grades were over enrolled with 29 kids in classes taught by one teacher. They were so overwhelmed it was impossible to get work done during the school day, which made homework easily 2 hours each night. Communication with the teacher on questions or even offers of help went unanswered whether it was a letter in the agenda, a separate written note or an email. The only communication we got regularly was from the principle and mostly about fund raising. Some of the children were open to making new friends, but most of the children and families were not welcoming or open to new families joining the school. The children were encouraged not to show any individualism, if they stood out they would be picked on - welcome to Stepford! This is not a place where leaders are grown.
2 people found this helpful


Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 3

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Blessed Sacrament is a good school but by no means great. The curriculum is good and the children seem to learn a lot but like any school, there is bullying and the kids are made to feel bad if they don't fit in by students and teachers. The community is a good one if you get into the school from the beginning but the parents are not all very welcoming if you start after Kindergarten. Weird. Cliquish. There are good "specials" - French, Spanish, music Art, gym, and computers but some of the "specials" teachers seem to have issues working with the youngsters who have not learned to sit still all day long or yell out answers etc. It's the kids - never the teacher. There is a buddy system pairing the older kids and younger kids - that is a nice touch. I was also surprised to hear how many of the younger grades are yelled at by the teachers. You can hear them on the playground screaming at the children - one can only imagine what goes on inside the classroom. It is an average school - not terrible considering the other options in the area but it seems that they are more focused on making the kids fit into a mold.
2 people found this helpful

Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 1

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Zero quality, so don't waste your money. They still rely on one Blue Ribbon Award from MANY years ago for their marketing. They are overworking the kids and having parents go through sleepless nights, as well. Caring, compassion or bringing this school out of it's antiquated teaching methods, means nothing. A religious school should do more to at least make these kids feel safe and build their self esteem and morals, instead of breaking their little spirits. Teachers yell hysterically and ostracize; children are unsupervised during recess and lunch; no after school activities or a good program ( such as advisory or homework help); no new technologies to prep students for higher education demands; overpopulated classrooms; useless counseling and principal support. The kids are overly stressed, whether they're being bullied by peers or staff. Frankly, the parents are odd too. Living in this surreal bubble, and depriving their kids of a better education and a happier environment. Maybe a few nice parents that feel they have no choice, or are just conforming to what they think is the norm, but in general it's not a good community in terms of spiritual or academic life.
3 people found this helpful

Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
A great education! The teachers and administration go out of their way to assist childrten who have challenges. The curriculum is tough, but when my child goes on to high school, I know he will be well prepared. The school offers tons of after school activities. The recent school musical, is one example, that was lead by several teachers who put in many after school hours. The performance was outstanding. Both parents and teachers helped sew all the costumes. The children are excited to be there. Occasional issues are dealt with appropriately by both staff and administration. The entire community is warm and welcoming! It has been a real pleasure to have had my child attend school there for 10 years! My family and I will miss BSS when we leave.


Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
BSS is a wonderful community. The principal, teachers, assistant teachers, nurses, aides and volunteers all go out of their way to work together to care for the children at this school. The best part of the school is that it is small with a family atmosphere. The classes are challenging - even the Kindergarteners have French, Spanish and computer classes. The teachers are active and supportive and go out of their way to have fun activities like musical concerts, art and science exhibits, culture day, plays, field day, etc. BSS is a great Catholic school!

Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 2

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
Unfortunately, this school has not lived up to expectations. The teachers seemed to be overwhelmed. When trying to reach out, many times they respond they do not have enough time to respond to parents. Not a single teacher leads an extra curricular activity! The only emphasis is on behavior and not just getting along with others. For example, there is an emphasis on walking on the right at all times. Students are reprimanded for reading ahead, even when reading silently. Laughing is discouraged at all times. The principle, when brought tries to play the role of arbiter, allowing the inmates (teachers) to run the asylum. Her main focus seems to be fundraising.

Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 1

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
There is a lot of bullying going on in this school. Staff and principal pretend to care. Don't be fooled by the "Blue Ribbon" award advertisement. It's more about exaggerated quantity of work, than quality education. There are no good resources for the children, classrooms are overcrowded, extracurricular activities and after school program are bad. Do you really want to pay money for that headache?


Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
We LOVE Blessed Sacrament. From the Principal down to the Teacher's Aides, everyone is so kind and caring. The teachers are very well qualified and create projects that the kids enjoy. All of the children from grades K-8 know each other and are so supportive of each other. I can't imagine my kids going anywhere. The fact that the school is a Blue Ribbon school is an additional bonus! I am so happy that my children are in a Christ Centered community surround by a loving and creative faculty!

Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center 1

Posted September 13, 2010
- a community member
Very displeased with this community. We decided to transfer to another Catholic School and it was the best decision we could have made for our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center
1417 West Braddock Road, Alexandria, VA  22302
(703) 998-4170
Last modified Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Blessed Sacrament School & Early Childhood Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top