Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Our children have attended ILS for the past 5 years. We couldn't be more impressed with the rigorous academics, the Christian spiritual& character formation, and faculty. Our children love to learn & we are learning new things (like Latin and ancient civilizations) right along with them. The school and church are such a wonderful community.
1 person found this helpful

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
We can't say enough about ILS. The faculty, staff and administration are wonderful. They invest their lives in the children. The curriculum is advanced, but they accommodate many different types of students. Very happy here.
1 person found this helpful


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of three students at ILS, I cannot say enough wonderful things about it. We have been attending for 6 years. The classical education has already benefitted my children in many ways. The older ones, in 5th and 6th grade, have been studying latin since 3rd grade, and are now participating in logic and debate. They are able to not only formulate coherent arguments (on a variety of topics from literature to science to school policies) but are able to identify false and true arguments they hear from other sources. My 2nd grader loves her introduction to latin in addition to the other subjects such as history, science and literature. Immanuel helps to develop children not only intellectually but spiritually as well. They are taught to love what is good and true and beautiful, and to identify the same. They are respected and loved and challenged. Truly a "hidden gem" in Northern Virginia.
1 person found this helpful

Immanuel Lutheran School 4

Posted December 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is excellent as long as your child does not have any real learning disabilities. They do not have any support for a child that cannot handle a strong and forward leaning curriculum. If your kid is bright and needs to be constantly challenged this is a great school for you. Great teacher -kid ratios, thoughtful caring teachers who are very interactive with parents in order to make sure your child is on track. There are only two downsides for us, 1st- no Spanish is taught even in middle school grades;2. Small number of students in middle grades means no athletics and decreased socialization which can make going to a larger school for high school a bit of a shock. For the overall cost you would be hard pressed to find a better education.

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
LOVE, LOVE this little unknown school. The teachers are warm, but firm with the kids. They not only teach education, but also morals and how they should treat each other. We tried public school, however my child needs the accelerated learning this school provides. I have sent many parents to see this school and they all want to know how to get their children into the school. Plus, it's one of the most affordable private schools in the area.
1 person found this helpful


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
Immanuel Lutheran School is wonderful. The Classical Curriculum and Christian environment make this school one of a kind. Both our Children are thriving. Highly recommend.

Immanuel Lutheran School 1

Posted May 13, 2013
- a community member
Students have no room to play, teachers have little to no control over them. Seems as though the school has grown entirely too large for the school's facilities.

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
The middle school at Immanuel is superb. Our son is in 6th grade and is receiving an excellent education that includes classical literature, Latin and Logic. The math curriculum (Saxon) is also very strong. The faculty and adminstration are exceptional - a very dedicated, intellectual group who are truly passionate about classical education. An amazing school!
1 person found this helpful


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
Several years ago, when my wife and I first started the school search for our oldest child, we felt rather overwhelmed by all the choices available. And let's be honest, the pressure of picking the right school for your kid is fairly daunting. But when we found Immanuel Lutheran School, we could tell from the start that the school would be a great fit with its challenging academics and awesome teachers. We've been so impressed by the rigorous curriculum, the continued growth of the school and the way the faculty work together to make sure each student achieves his or her full potential. An excellent school.
1 person found this helpful

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
Our child has been at Immanuel for three years, and we could not be more impressed, not only with the high standards of academic excellence, but also the nurturing and supportive community of the school, both the families and the faculty. From the moment we drop our child off in the morning, we know that every child will spend their day surrounded by teachers and faculty who are deeply committed to nurturing them spiritually and academically. Every member of the faculty and administration knows every child by name and is a visible presence around the school throughout the day. Further supporting the academic environment is a wonderfully supportive and caring school community comprised of families who actively support the mission of the school. We are truly blessed to have such a wonderful choice for a Christian, classical education in Alexandria!!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immanuel Lutheran School
1801 Russell Road Road, Alexandria, VA  22301
(703) 549-0155
Last modified Immanuel Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Immanuel Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top