Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
205 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alexandria Country Day School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a community member
To the July 16, 2014 Poster: There seems to be no way to get in touch with you. I'd suggest you either make your concerns more explicit or remove your review. It's not fair to either the school or parents reading these reviews to make a half-accusation without following it up. I've toured the school and everything I saw was very positive, so I do not appreciate a warning to "be careful" that is completely unsupported by facts. As the rating system would not let me post without selecting stars, I've defaulted to 5 stars.

Alexandria Country Day School 5

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
We have three children attending ACDS and feel fortunate to have them there. The environment is challenging and creative academically, and supportive and warm socially. The teachers are devoted and caring to the students, and in equal measure responsive to parents. In the last couple of years, there has been change in leadership that has invigorated the curriculum, (including a new math program in the lower school and language arts program in the middle school), and instilled an atmosphere of energy and excitement. Parents are very involved with the school community, and encourage participation (however much time a parent can contribute - great or small). ACDS prepares students for high school, just look at the variety of schools the student chose to attend: public, private, boarding, large, small, specialized, and all competitive. The size of the school initially appealed the most to us, the academics and environment have kept us there.


Alexandria Country Day School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
Our child is at ACDS and we wanted to share what a wonderful experience it has been. It is a challenging yet supportive educational environment - and above all, our child simply loves school. We were drawn to ACDS because of its K-8 focus, down to earth culture, balanced approach, and small classes with meaningful individualized attention. We have been very impressed by the administration (especially the head of school), teachers, students, and school community.

Alexandria Country Day School 1

Posted July 16, 2014
- a parent
I don't think the environment is appropriate for any children. If you have your kids there or if you are currently considering enrollment, be very careful. Please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to share our experience.

Alexandria Country Day School 5

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
We have a child in the lower school and another one applying for next year ( 10- 11). In our two years at the school we have found ACDS to be a community focused on the enrichment of the whole child: their academic performance is of course the primary focus, but the faculty and leadership also emphasize character development and self-esteem. Respect to fellow students is emphasized and reinforced. We chose ACDS over other schools in the area because we appreciate and share these values. Our child's experience so far has been extremely rewarding and has lived up to our hopes and expectations.


Alexandria Country Day School 5

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
ACDS is a great school. My son will be attending his 2nd yr there and has adjusted very well. The school offers a personal environment which allows the students to have a great relationship with the teachers and staff. It is great when a student attends a school and EVERYONE can greet him by name! The teachers are great and truly comitted in providing a great learning atmosphere. The Parent-Teach League is awesome!!

Alexandria Country Day School 4

Posted August 22, 2009
- a student
I am currently going into 7th grade at ACDS and I have been going since kindergarten. however, there is construction going on to make the school bigger, adding a cafeteria, bigger gym, and a performing arts center. I love the school, and I have made a lot of friends!! The teachers work pretty well if you need special attention. i hope your child considers enrolling!

Alexandria Country Day School
no rating

Posted July 27, 2008
- a student
I have been attending ACDS since kindergarten and am now in my last year there. Everything about this school is fantastic. I am academically in the top 5% of people in my age in the country and i give ACDS credit for this acheivement. ACDS has the most spectacular community and teachers who answer to you without talking down to you. If you are considering ACDS for your child I really hope you send them there because I cannot think of a better place for your child to spend their grade school years.


Alexandria Country Day School 5

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
My son has attended ACDS since kindergarten. He's now in 6th grade, and it's been a wonderful experience. The teachers truly want the best educational experience they can provide to every child. Now that he is in middle school, we especially appreciate the emphasis on respect for others.

Alexandria Country Day School 5

Posted August 14, 2007
- a parent
My son has been attending ACDS for two years and he loves it! The teachers are great, the parents are involved. The school has a very nuturing culture and the class sizes are just right.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexandria Country Day School
2400 Russell Road, Alexandria, VA  22301
(703) 548-4804
Last modified Alexandria Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Alexandria Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top