Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 780 students

Strong community school with active parent body

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

Best school ever 3 of my children go there 1 is in middle school she got promoted in 2013. All of my children love this school great staff. Very good 5-Stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

My daughter is currently in kindergarten and the teacher Mr Riddile is excellent. This is a great school and it shows with the staff and through the teachers on how well it it. They truly work together as a team and keep the students in line with standards for SOL and all. I truly love this school and it had been nothing but outstanding for my child. Thank you to the principal and teachers for all they do in a daily basis keep up the great work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

its strengths, not it's. This was self corrected by the poster from 6/13. I wish there were more schools like Tucker, with the combination of dedicated staff, high expectations, and diversity.


Posted June 10, 2014

To many minority kids in the school. Way over crowded. Most of the kids do not speak English and the teacher to ratio to child is very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

This school runs things in a very professional manner. I was pleased with the administration and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Our daughter attended this school from K through 5. We would not have dreamed of sending her anywhere else. The year round model stands out for maximizing student learning. The teachers are experienced and dedicated. The TAG teacher is unparalleled in challenging and energizing advanced students. Lower performing students receive excellent supports form specialized teachers and the extra school time. And middle of the road students -- like mine -- aren't lost in the shuffle. My daughter received personalized attention to meet her needs and challenge her at her level. The principal Mr. Paschal is easy going, friendly, approachable, and responsive. The art, P.E., and music programs and teachers are the highest quality. With Alexandria's great new superintendent, I think the entire system will be headed in a positive direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

Tucker's focus is passing the SOL's and closing the achievement gap, so be prepared for a lot of test prep and a curriculum that test-based. If your child lacks a supportive home environment and resources in order to succeed academically, this is the school for you. If your child does well in school and does not cause a problem, they will be overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

My son LOVES this school - he transferred from another school in the area and it is like day and night - he progressed rapidly in his reading and writing capabilities and enjoys his time there. the teachers are friendly and fantastic and the principal responsive and helpful. We feel very comfortable in this school and look forward to sending our daughter there soon as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

There is no better place than Tucker! I have been extremely happy with not only the school and staff but the overwhelming involvement of parents and the community in the success of Tucker. Previous reviews have mentioned large class sizes. As is the case for all ACPS schools and the projected growth of the West End of Alexandria, this is a big indicator of how wonderful this school is. More families are seeing the benefits of the modified calendar as well as the diversity of Tucker and are CHOOSING to relocate their families to the area. With the City's plans to construct more housing developments in the nearby areas and other areas in the West End of Alexandria overcrowding in the entire city will be at the forefront of future discussions. Do not take the opinions of reviewers at face value as they are subjective and only reflect the views of a few, do your research, visit the school, attend an event and/or speak to families in the community. I guarantee the majority of the conversations had will be positive. I am proud to be a Tucker Parent and you will too should you be given the chance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

Tucker Elementary School was a great experience for my son who was in the 2012-13 Kindergarten Program . His teacher was young but very good. My child had some attention difficulties and his teacher was able to implement a behavioral program/token economy to increase his attention span and work performance. The teacher and principal were always willing to discuss my child's progress and ways to support his academic and behavioral goals. In addition, the staff was respectful and communicative. My son entered Kindergarten unable to read and now reading at a 1.5 reading level (of course, I as a parent supported his goals at home as well). I also loved the diversity and SES differences at the school as well. Great school and well ran!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

I am the proud parent of 2 Tucker Tigers! Tucker has excellent teachers who go beyond their work to educate and enrich the children. The principal and assistant principal are strong leaders who care about our children. The academic program is fantastic and gives the student the opportunity to learn and apply it in a day to day basis. The year round program is a great tool for working parents and the kids look forward to it. My oldest child attended Tucker from K-5th grade, now my youngest is a Tucker Tiger and loves it as much as my oldest one did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

This school formly had 5 stars, instead of 2, based on test scores. The fact that it has dropped like this should be a wake up call to the Alexandria government and school system.


Posted July 18, 2011

We are not pleased with Tucker. While there are some good teachers, the administration and cirriculum are not great. Most families moving out of Cameron Station do so because of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

My son was suppose to attend this school for the 2011 and 2012 school year. The registration process went smoothly but then in June when I was expecting a welcome letter instead I received the letter saying that they had over the limit registrations this year and that I have to choose another school within a week or else they will do a lottery and if he is not selected they will send my son to any school of their choice. I called them to find out whats going on they were very rude. I have always heard nice things about this school but my experience wasn't at all satisfactory. They should have informed the parents before hand that they were having issues regarding the available space. They did announce in the open house that they are cutting down no. of kindergarten classes this year. But this was nothing I expected. Then I have to go through the list of schools they provided to see which school will be appropriate and how far is it which was a headache. Anyhow I must say the teachers seemed nice and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

This school is absolutely excellent, from the extraordinary kindergarten teachers to the atmosphere of high expectations. The teachers are warm and kind, yet they do have steep standards for their students. Of course, like anywhere, there are a few duds personality-wise, but even those few still seem to have the success of the students as their priority. There is a diversity of culture, but it's amazing to watch the kids just think it's normal to have so many students of so many different backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

Tucker is a great school. It is definitely a community school where teachers, parents, administration and the community work together to teach and enrich our children's learning experience. The year round schedule is great and works really well. My children have been able to opportunities gain skills and learn about many other subjects that are not part of standard curriculum. Tucker has a diverse student body where heritage is celebrated, not discriminated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

Best school! Love the staff and the facility. It serves a diverse population and get great results.


Posted February 5, 2009

Tucker in an excellent school, my kids love it and so do I. My oldest son is currently in 4th grade since k. The staff are very professional and care for the students. The modified schedule works just great for us and the intersession classes are very positive for the kids. The cultural diversity has a positive and incredible influence for all of us in our family. The communication and security in the school make me feel very comfortable. Unfortunately, we will be moving out of state and my kids will not attend to Tucker next school year, but I strongly recommend Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

Tucker is a great school with a superb staff and involved parents. My daughter loves the school and is always excited about learning. The modified school schedule has a shorter summer break and longer periodic breaks throughout the year. This schedule helps break up the learning into nicely dispersed chunks, so the kids are never away from school too long (the summer break is about six weeks). The school has a great focus on academics and works hard to develop good young citizens. It has a broad ethnic and social diversity, which is a refreshingly positive influence on my daughter. My son starts at Tucker next school year. He can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Since K my son has gone to this school. He is now in 3rd grade. Each of his teachers have been great. They are stiff, but that is what makes Tucker such a great school. The teachers always answer to the emails and assist you with anything you need. They care for their students and their weillbeing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students80%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students76%
Female students73%
Male students79%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English82%

Science

All Students81%
Female students80%
Male students82%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students73%
Male students49%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students75%
Female students78%
Male students71%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students72%
Male students70%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students44%
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students79%
Female students89%
Male students68%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students67%
Female students72%
Male students60%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students79%
Female students73%
Male students84%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
French
Arabic languages
Amharic
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • After School Programs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • C. Rene Paschal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (703) 212-8465

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • After School Programs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Amharic
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • After School Programs
Girls sports
  • After School Programs

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
780
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
780

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
GW Middle School
Francis Hammond Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

435 Ferdinand Day Dr
Alexandria, VA 22304
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 933-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT