Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 780
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
Best school ever 3 of my children go there 1 is in middle school she got promoted in 2013. All of my children love this school great staff. Very good 5-Stars

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is currently in kindergarten and the teacher Mr Riddile is excellent. This is a great school and it shows with the staff and through the teachers on how well it it. They truly work together as a team and keep the students in line with standards for SOL and all. I truly love this school and it had been nothing but outstanding for my child. Thank you to the principal and teachers for all they do in a daily basis keep up the great work!!!


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 4

Posted June 13, 2014
- a community member
its strengths, not it's. This was self corrected by the poster from 6/13. I wish there were more schools like Tucker, with the combination of dedicated staff, high expectations, and diversity.

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 2

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
To many minority kids in the school. Way over crowded. Most of the kids do not speak English and the teacher to ratio to child is very poor.

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
This school runs things in a very professional manner. I was pleased with the administration and staff.


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter attended this school from K through 5. We would not have dreamed of sending her anywhere else. The year round model stands out for maximizing student learning. The teachers are experienced and dedicated. The TAG teacher is unparalleled in challenging and energizing advanced students. Lower performing students receive excellent supports form specialized teachers and the extra school time. And middle of the road students -- like mine -- aren't lost in the shuffle. My daughter received personalized attention to meet her needs and challenge her at her level. The principal Mr. Paschal is easy going, friendly, approachable, and responsive. The art, P.E., and music programs and teachers are the highest quality. With Alexandria's great new superintendent, I think the entire system will be headed in a positive direction.

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 3

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
Tucker's focus is passing the SOL's and closing the achievement gap, so be prepared for a lot of test prep and a curriculum that test-based. If your child lacks a supportive home environment and resources in order to succeed academically, this is the school for you. If your child does well in school and does not cause a problem, they will be overlooked.

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
My son LOVES this school - he transferred from another school in the area and it is like day and night - he progressed rapidly in his reading and writing capabilities and enjoys his time there. the teachers are friendly and fantastic and the principal responsive and helpful. We feel very comfortable in this school and look forward to sending our daughter there soon as well!


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
There is no better place than Tucker! I have been extremely happy with not only the school and staff but the overwhelming involvement of parents and the community in the success of Tucker. Previous reviews have mentioned large class sizes. As is the case for all ACPS schools and the projected growth of the West End of Alexandria, this is a big indicator of how wonderful this school is. More families are seeing the benefits of the modified calendar as well as the diversity of Tucker and are CHOOSING to relocate their families to the area. With the City's plans to construct more housing developments in the nearby areas and other areas in the West End of Alexandria overcrowding in the entire city will be at the forefront of future discussions. Do not take the opinions of reviewers at face value as they are subjective and only reflect the views of a few, do your research, visit the school, attend an event and/or speak to families in the community. I guarantee the majority of the conversations had will be positive. I am proud to be a Tucker Parent and you will too should you be given the chance!

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 4

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Tucker Elementary School was a great experience for my son who was in the 2012-13 Kindergarten Program . His teacher was young but very good. My child had some attention difficulties and his teacher was able to implement a behavioral program/token economy to increase his attention span and work performance. The teacher and principal were always willing to discuss my child's progress and ways to support his academic and behavioral goals. In addition, the staff was respectful and communicative. My son entered Kindergarten unable to read and now reading at a 1.5 reading level (of course, I as a parent supported his goals at home as well). I also loved the diversity and SES differences at the school as well. Great school and well ran!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School
435 Ferdinand Day Dr, Alexandria, VA  22304
(703) 933-6300
Last modified Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top