Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
Most of the employees at this school are burnt out and apathetic towards all aspects of their jobs.

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 1

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
There are a few star teachers here but overall it is a horrible school. I have gone all the way up to the principal with issues only to be treated with absolutely no respect by him or any of the administrative staff.


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
Mr Riddile, Thank you for all of your help this year! You are an amazing teacher and we appreciate you taking the time/patience to help guide our son through his first year!!!

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
I was hesitant about sending my son to this school after reviewing the test scores, reading reviews from 2014, listening to rumors, etc. He attended Kindergarten last year and blossomed with the help of the staff. We LOVED everything about Tucker. The faculty exceeded our expectations and I feel silly that I ever listened to idol gossip. My son was lucky enough to be placed in Mr. Riddile's classroom and was excited to go to school each and everyday. Mr. Riddile offered a nurturing environment that helped my son grow. I am a fan of this school and hope that everyone experiences the same!!!

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
This school excels at so many things: the teachers actually care about the kids and their potential!! The staff is wonderful, friendly, and loved by the kids. The building itself is in fantastic shape. I'm one happy mama!


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 2

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
School is getting way to crowded. Samuel Tucker is in a very nice neighborhood. I feel the community as a whole is being over taken with English being pushed back as second language now. Every year it gets worse and worse.

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Alexandria in November 2014 and my daughter has been attending Samuel Tucker since then. It's been a great experience for her. My daughter is now in 3rd grade and she has developed a huge interest in reading and writing. The principal and teachers really work together as a team and put their greatest efforts to help students to achieve their goals. I appreciate how they encourage reading in and out of school. There are so many things I love about Samuel Tucker. The school principal, the assistant principal and other staff teachers greet the parents and student every morning at the front door, and also make sure that parents that are driving their kids to school arrive and exit smoothly. This year they also held a special orientation event for parents to meet and greet the teachers and other school staff, and helps parents to have a better understanding of how the school programs work, how we as parents can work together as a team to educate our children. Again my daughter is a proud Tucker Tiger who ROARS (responsible, organized, accurate, respectful & safe).

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
Best school ever 3 of my children go there 1 is in middle school she got promoted in 2013. All of my children love this school great staff. Very good 5-Stars


Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is currently in kindergarten and the teacher Mr Riddile is excellent. This is a great school and it shows with the staff and through the teachers on how well it it. They truly work together as a team and keep the students in line with standards for SOL and all. I truly love this school and it had been nothing but outstanding for my child. Thank you to the principal and teachers for all they do in a daily basis keep up the great work!!!

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School 4

Posted June 13, 2014
- a community member
its strengths, not it's. This was self corrected by the poster from 6/13. I wish there were more schools like Tucker, with the combination of dedicated staff, high expectations, and diversity.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School
435 Ferdinand Day Dr, Alexandria, VA  22304
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (703) 933-6300
Last modified Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top