Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-12
Private
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 170
Before care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
If you look in the dictionary under "transformative," you should find Commonwealth Academy. Our son's experience has been nothing less that that. After struggling through elementary school in a school that was ill-suited to his needs, we transferred him to Commonwealth. Fast forward a few years and the young man is transformed. He is excited about school and about learning. He goes far beyond the minimum and actually challenges himself to take on more and more. He and his classmates have an amazing bond rooted in learning and shaped by a fantastic faculty. There is something in the DNA of this school that inspires kids who struggle with ADHD and other disabilities to achieve more than they thought they were capable of. We are looking at colleges now and believe, thanks to CA, that our son will be ready to succeed wherever he goes. That's because CA delivers on its mission of being a college preparatory school from its teaching to its college counseling.

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Commonwealth Academy in high school. With the help of an outstanding college counselor and supportive teachers, the college process went very smoothly. From selecting potential colleges, to applying (including essay writing), to choosing the right college my son was engaged and prepared. My son left Commonwealth Academy understanding what his learning differences are and how to overcome them. Because of the relationships he was able to build with his teachers my son became a self-advocate. He learned excellent study skills at CA and is successfully using them in school now. I am so appreciative that one of the school events that I was fearful of turned out to be so easy and successful.


Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
Commonwealth Academy is uncompromising about academic and personal integrity. Some find that difficult but most appreciate its high expectations.

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
We are absolutely grateful to have found this school! It is like none other! We were VERY worried of placing our daughter in a public school system that makes all the promises for student accommodations, but doesn't keep them. The public middle and high schools in our area have very bad reputations. Failing, and with tons of bullying. Other private schools boast of basically "running your child into the ground" with added homework pressure, and no support. We did NOT want that for our child. This school offers a SAFE and CARING environment, where teachers and staff are COMPLETELY invested in all around student success. Students have all the support, with very small class sizes, excellent learning strategies and top notch technology tools. They have study hall and advisory for extra homework support, and there is constant communication between parents, students and teachers. The extracurricular activities and the Parent Association are wonderful, as well. I never believed when other parents used to tell me that my child would wake up every day eager to go to school. Our child wanted to immediately become a part of C/A the moment she took the tour. Frankly, so did we!

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
What a relief (and joy) to find such a school. We couldn't be more pleased about our experience with C/A. What makes this school THE right place for students like our son is the structure of the academic program, the organization of the school day, and the resources and facilities. Best of all, faculty members are extraordinarily capable and compassionate. Teachers really "get" our son. From the get-go, we felt that C/A would be a great opportunity for him; we're confident he'll continue to do very well. We recommend the school wholeheartedly.


Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted October 27, 2012
- a parent
We started our son here this year. He is extremely bright, but has ADHD and we were tired of struggling with Fairfax County schools to get him the help he needs and tired of the homework struggles at home with him. CA has been an absolute godsend. Our son was a grade level behind in math before he started and now after just a few months he is grade level AHEAD. He absolutely loves it and is ACTIVELY ENGAGED IN LEARNING. The learning at this school is very hands on, the class sizes are tiny and the teachers are absolutely phenomenal. We could not possibly be happier with CA, and only wish we had found it sooner!!!

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
Finally! A school that knows how to teach children with differing learning styles. Other schools say they can do it but, once your've signed on the line, the school can't, or won't. Lovely instructors. Great communication. No homework issues. Could not be more pleased

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
The only downside parents will experience at Commonwealth is that they didn't find it sooner! Learning difference or not, any student who is serious about their future will find a learning environment here that is second to none. Quality (and well trained) teachers, accountable Administrators that lead and inspire, as promised-small class sizes, state of art technology, well thought out and solid courses of study, with an unrelenting focus on helping students master core competencies. Imagine having a parent-teacher conference where each of the teachers has actually taken the time to evaluate your child's performance and then discusses the plan for building on strengths and addressing any weaknesses. Even better, add in the well planned and communicated class assignments, structured study halls, daily advisory periods, weekly reports, and the general availability of teachers to assist students directly, so now homework at home is a pleasant and productive activity. Be sure to get to know about C/A before you go elsewhere, I wish we had!


Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a community member
Commonwealth Academy is a private college prep school that gets you ready for college. This school helps kids with learning differences or has other needs, this school is one of the best academic schools in the Washington DC Metropolitan area, I am a student who attends to this school since the 6th grade, and I have learned so much and became more and more confident in myself as a person. Great teachers that inspire, brand new computers, smartboards in every classroom, great head of school, very organized and has a good balance in structure. Great kids are there as well who are bright and smart. This school helps you alot, and please apply to this school, this school has been a blessing in my life. 5/5!

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
My Son had been in 5 different Elementary Schools before 6th Grade as a Military Child - all over the U.S. It wasn't until we enrolled him in CA that the instruction was differentiated to meet his individual needs. CA is a healthy environment for all aspects of child development.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Commonwealth Academy
1321 Leslie Avenue, alexandria, VA  22301
(703) 548-6912
Last modified Commonwealth Academy is a Private school that serves grades 3-12
Commonwealth Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top