Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-12
Private
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 170
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Commonwealth Academy 1

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
Commonwealth Academy is by far the worst school my son has ever attended. There are many many reasons for this. I am going to list 5 of the reasons why you should never send you child to Commonwealth Academy. 1:They treat students unfairly and students are not given any rights whatsoever 2:All the school cares about is the money. They could not care any less if the student has a good education. Once the Parent/Guardian pays there tuition the staff treats the student awful 3:Some of the students have severe problems such as one of the kids Physically assaulted a teacher yet they were not expelled. Yet the disliked a certain student and expelled him for telling a shadow that the school sucks. 4: Also a student threatened to Kill another student and they only received a Lunch Detention 5: Commonwealth Academy is very far behind in there education. A friend of my son left Commonwealth Academy and attended a public school and had to take after school tutoring because he was so far behind. Overall Commonwealth Academy is an awful school and if you ever plan to attend there be prepared for a very rude awakening.

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
We are absolutely grateful to have found this school! It is like none other! We were VERY worried of placing our daughter in a public school system that makes all the promises for student accommodations, but doesn't keep them. The public middle and high schools in our area have very bad reputations. Failing, and with tons of bullying. Other private schools boast of basically "running your child into the ground" with added homework pressure, and no support. We did NOT want that for our child. This school offers a SAFE and CARING environment, where teachers and staff are COMPLETELY invested in all around student success. Students have all the support, with very small class sizes, excellent learning strategies and top notch technology tools. They have study hall and advisory for extra homework support, and there is constant communication between parents, students and teachers. The extracurricular activities and the Parent Association are wonderful, as well. I never believed when other parents used to tell me that my child would wake up every day eager to go to school. Our child wanted to immediately become a part of C/A the moment she took the tour. Frankly, so did we!
2 people found this helpful


Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
What a relief (and joy) to find such a school. We couldn't be more pleased about our experience with C/A. What makes this school THE right place for students like our son is the structure of the academic program, the organization of the school day, and the resources and facilities. Best of all, faculty members are extraordinarily capable and compassionate. Teachers really "get" our son. From the get-go, we felt that C/A would be a great opportunity for him; we're confident he'll continue to do very well. We recommend the school wholeheartedly.
1 person found this helpful

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted October 27, 2012
- a parent
We started our son here this year. He is extremely bright, but has ADHD and we were tired of struggling with Fairfax County schools to get him the help he needs and tired of the homework struggles at home with him. CA has been an absolute godsend. Our son was a grade level behind in math before he started and now after just a few months he is grade level AHEAD. He absolutely loves it and is ACTIVELY ENGAGED IN LEARNING. The learning at this school is very hands on, the class sizes are tiny and the teachers are absolutely phenomenal. We could not possibly be happier with CA, and only wish we had found it sooner!!!
2 people found this helpful

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
Finally! A school that knows how to teach children with differing learning styles. Other schools say they can do it but, once your've signed on the line, the school can't, or won't. Lovely instructors. Great communication. No homework issues. Could not be more pleased
1 person found this helpful


Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
The only downside parents will experience at Commonwealth is that they didn't find it sooner! Learning difference or not, any student who is serious about their future will find a learning environment here that is second to none. Quality (and well trained) teachers, accountable Administrators that lead and inspire, as promised-small class sizes, state of art technology, well thought out and solid courses of study, with an unrelenting focus on helping students master core competencies. Imagine having a parent-teacher conference where each of the teachers has actually taken the time to evaluate your child's performance and then discusses the plan for building on strengths and addressing any weaknesses. Even better, add in the well planned and communicated class assignments, structured study halls, daily advisory periods, weekly reports, and the general availability of teachers to assist students directly, so now homework at home is a pleasant and productive activity. Be sure to get to know about C/A before you go elsewhere, I wish we had!
1 person found this helpful

Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a community member
Commonwealth Academy is a private college prep school that gets you ready for college. This school helps kids with learning differences or has other needs, this school is one of the best academic schools in the Washington DC Metropolitan area, I am a student who attends to this school since the 6th grade, and I have learned so much and became more and more confident in myself as a person. Great teachers that inspire, brand new computers, smartboards in every classroom, great head of school, very organized and has a good balance in structure. Great kids are there as well who are bright and smart. This school helps you alot, and please apply to this school, this school has been a blessing in my life. 5/5!
1 person found this helpful

Commonwealth Academy 2

Posted August 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Commonwealth Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
My Son had been in 5 different Elementary Schools before 6th Grade as a Military Child - all over the U.S. It wasn't until we enrolled him in CA that the instruction was differentiated to meet his individual needs. CA is a healthy environment for all aspects of child development.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Commonwealth Academy
1321 Leslie Avenue, alexandria, VA  22301
(703) 548-6912
Last modified Commonwealth Academy is a Private school that serves grades 3-12
Commonwealth Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top