Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 40

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Howard Gardner School 5

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
Attending HGS was a life-changing experience for my son. He is one of the "twice exceptional" kids: very smart but with a different learning style. The teaching staff at HGS convinced him that he could be successful, and then helped him reach his goals. We will always be grateful.

The Howard Gardner School 1

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
my experience at the howard gardner school was very poor... my freshmen and sofmore year were to be remembered, but in junior year one day i was told i had to leave the school for no good reason, the persons responsibele are emily and cathirine thommas the 2 founders of the school, i have absoloutly no respect for these 2 people that made my highschool experience very uncomftorable. i was suddenly forced to go to public school having to ajust very quickly. my experience was a 1 out of 10,


The Howard Gardner School 5

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
The Howard Gardner School offers small classes and a challenging curriculum. The dedocated teachers integrate field studies with classroom work and the students are encouraged to become critical thinkers. All students are involved in internships that are tailored to their individual interests. By the time they apply to college, the kids have impressive resumes and they are already comfortable with college-style learning. The school is also great at helping the students choose a college that is right for them. They now have a middle school program, too!

The Howard Gardner School 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
We can't say enough about our pleasure and satisfaction with our daughter's progress and engagement with school since joining the HGS community. It has been a remarkable transformation. We're just thrilled and heartily endorse the experience. It isn t just a school; it is a learning community that supports every member of the community.

The Howard Gardner School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
HGS and their visionary leaders have made a huge difference in our lives. A unique and wonderful school.


The Howard Gardner School 5

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
The Howard Gardner School is indeed a unique academic and social experience. This school has done so much to encourage my son to tap into his abilities and interests as well as mature into a responsible and caring individual.

The Howard Gardner School 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
There is no other school like Howard Gardner. A welcoming and nurturing community, HGS students thrive in a progressive educational environment. There are no standardized tests here, so no pressure to conform to a 'one-size-fits-all' curriculum. Kids feel accepted and involved and are able to truly learn here. The model all schools should follow.

The Howard Gardner School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2008
- a teacher
Howard Gardner is simply an amazing school. What makes the school unique? The kids are happy and they know the teachers care about them. Beyond that, the students really understand how to learn by the time they go to college. It's truly a remakable place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Howard Gardner School
4913 Franconia Road, Alexandria, VA  22310
(703) 822-9300
Last modified The Howard Gardner School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
The Howard Gardner School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top