Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bren Mar Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
It's a great school. The staff and the students are what keeps me coming back.

Bren Mar Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
I want to say thanks to all my students this year that did their best. It's not easy teaching a class of multi-leveled learners and having expectations placed on them to all learn the same material to be given on the same test. So all I ask of my students, regardless of what others expect of them (to pass a standardized test) is that they work hard and do their best. If they can honestly say yes they did, then I'm proud of them. So, I'm giving a shout-out to all my students who did their best this year.


Bren Mar Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
I have a kindergartener and a first grader in the school. So far, my experience has been great. Teachers are qualified, kind and caring toward the children. Both of my kids learned beyond my expectations and are truly eager to go to school every single day. School is small so it seems that everyone knows each other, including teachers from other grades that know my children's names. The new principal also brought great new ideas and I am excited to see the additional enhancements to come. In terms of approvement I see a need in technological improvements and more diverse after school activities.

Bren Mar Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a teacher
After teaching in multiple schools in the FCPS and DC, I can attest that this school is one of the best. It has outstanding teachers and students. The teachers are highly educated and really understand best instructional practices. They are endlessly dedicated to their students. The diversity is incredible. It's a great places to learn!

Bren Mar Park Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Great school. Fantastic teachers. Small class sizes. Really caring staff. My children enjoy learning and attending Bren mar park.


Bren Mar Park Elementary School 4

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter was in Kindergarten at Bren Mar Park last year. We had a wonderful experience. Her teacher was amazing. I saw clear evidence of her use of best practices in the classroom. Because it is a Title 1 school, the lower grades have class sizes of 24 students or less, and there is a lot of extra staff (ESOL, reading specialists, math specialists, etc.) There were 3 or more adults in the classroom at nearly all times. I saw a lot of evidence of differentiation and data-based instruction throughout the school. The assistant principal, Ms. Baxter, is very approachable, and you can tell she has put her heart and soul into the school for many years. There is minimal parental involvement in terms of the PTA, but the school hosts many family nights and other events that are well-attended. One of the benefits of the school is its incredible diversity. My daughter learned about many different traditions and cultures from around the world. We changed schools in order to attend a special program, but there are many days I wonder if we did the right thing. I highly recommend Bren Mar Park.

Bren Mar Park Elementary School 1

Posted October 22, 2013
- a community member
I am very unsatisfied with the lack of technology education as we all know technology is becoming a very big part of this generation of kids. Although they upgraded their play ground and got new dell computers I would highly recomend they invest money in Ipads for indivisual students and maybe have a special class that is meant for higher graded students so they can learn more advanced things and be more educated for the future.

Bren Mar Park Elementary School 4

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
My daughter finished kindergarten at Bren Mar this last year and loved it. I had the opportunity to meet many of the students and teachers throughout the year and they were all very nice. The teachers seem very dedicated and put in a lot of extra effort through the special events and activities at the school. The school is very diverse and has a relatively large special education program which I think is reflected in the test scores/rating. We were initially reluctant about the school, but after speaking with other parents decided to give it a try and did not regret it.


Bren Mar Park Elementary School 2

Posted September 29, 2012
- a community member
My little brother is currently attending the school. He has made new friends and is doing great but, a kid is bullying him and his teacher is doing nothing about it. The teachers are not in the cafeteria as this is happening. They won't do anything even though he has told them several times. I am very disappointed in this. My brother and his friend should not be being hit and beat up. It's ridiculous and they are lucky I'm not with him during school hours.

Bren Mar Park Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
I love the small size of this elementary school and the small class sizes. I was initially hesitant about trying a public school, as I thought my child would not receive the high quality and personalized education. I am glad I tried, Bren Mar Park! My child is in K and his teacher is absolutely fantastic. The principal and her team are excellent and have a genuine interest in the children. There are also many parent/student activities that engage children.

Nearby schools

Bren Mar Park Elementary School
6344 Beryl Rd, Alexandria, VA  22312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (703) 914-7200
Last modified Bren Mar Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top