Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clermont Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
It goes without saying, but Mrs. Cox is amazing! We've had one daughter that had the pleasure of having her two years in-a-row when she moved up from 5th to 6th grade.

Clermont Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
We are very happy with every teacher our children have had. We haven't had a negative experience with any of them, and they all have been very engaged with the kids and parents.


Clermont Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
It totally depends on the teacher, but our kids usually have a decent amount of homework.

Clermont Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
The entire school focuses on the CARE (Cooperation, Acceptance, Responsibility and Effort) initiative that is incorporated into every classroom.

Clermont Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
All four of my children have attended Clermont Elementary at one point or another. Being military, our children have attended numerous schools across the US, and we love Clermont. When we were finally ready to buy a home, we only looked in the Clermont district. The school has only gotten better. It was recently completely remodeled and it looks beautiful. The administration and staff are very professional and supportive. There are tons of extracurricular activities for the kids to be involved in, and the PTA/volunteer support within the school is phenomenal. It is truly a unique community feel in such a metropolitan area.


Clermont Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
We love Clermont. The new principal and administration are really terrific. The PTA is active and the community is friendly and welcoming. We have had terrific teachers each year. When problems have arose, the principal has been immediately accessible and open to hearing concerns. The new renovation is nearly complete. The school is looking great. My child loves Clermont just as much as we do.

Clermont Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Clermont (third grade and kindergartan). Our experience has been great, our kids are well adjusted and progressing well in their studies. The class sizes are reasonable for today's standards and the staff engages well with the parents. It's a very involved parent teacher community. I also have to add that the SACC program is phenomenal. Overall, a great school and community.

Clermont Elementary School 4

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
We've had a great experience sending our two girls through Clermont. Teachers and Staff are great. The school is freshly renovated and looking awesome!


Clermont Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
I have two kids at Clermont - a third grader and a kindergartener. Our experience at Clermont for the past 4 years has been great. Both my kids have had excellent teachers. I feel both are being challenged by classroom instruction and homework. It is amazing what kids can do, even in Kindergarten! When we had a real issue for the first time this year, we feel like the Administration handled it proactively and professionally. Everything we could have asked for. Yes, the school construction has been a pain, but the results are awesome and they are almost done. Our kids are also in SACC (aftercare) at Clermont. The SACC team is fun, fair and has the best interest of our kids at heart. Bottom line: I rarely ever do "reviews," but Clermont is a great school with a super involved parent, teacher and PTA community. It is deserving of all 5 stars.

Clermont Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
We absolutely have loved Clermont Elementary. Our teachers so far have been terrific--very engaged and nurturing. They truly care about the well-being of the students. I am very impressed with Clermont's principal who is fairly new to Clermont, but has set a tone of inclusiveness and puts the needs of Clermont's students first. We couldn't be happier and feel very lucky to be living in this school district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clermont Elementary School
5720 Clermont Dr, Alexandria, VA  22310
(703) 921-2400
Last modified Clermont Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clermont Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top