Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandburg Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 1229 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

If your child is in advanced classes, they will be good to go. However, my child states there is constant fighting in the hallway, mean kids, and a lot of bullying. Faculty and staff are great, but they can't help the attitudes and behaviors of all the students - it's unfortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

The parent review about bullying is a situation my child went through. The whole story about the principal not being available or caring at all is so true. I went through the same exact thing no that principal is NOT wonderful the total opposite. My child was punched in the face and I was not told until my child told me then I went to the school about it. I got a police report to document it and then I removed my child from that unfit place. Fairfax county has a good reputation BUT since leaving Fairfax county but still in Virginia my child is making A's & B's and have not had any issues with bullying or fighting at all. We should of moved our child a long time ago from that school. We are much happier now with a principal who cares. Better leadership will get you a greater school some people just like wearing a title and not living up to the responsibility of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

Our child attended this school and was jumped by a boy in class and had his head slammed to the ground. The next day he was harassed by the boy's friends, who claimed to be gang members and threatened his life. The new principal, whom people strangely seem to think is so wonderful , refused to take our calls or requests for meetings. He never had a single conversation with our son, who was physically assaulted and verbally threatened on his watch. The vice principal, to whom we were referred by the principal's assistant, said that the only way they could ensure our son's safety was to put him in detention (what?) but they did not feel that the threats toward our son were "legitimate concerns". Our son still has a bone spur on the back of his skull as a reminder of that day. I am certain that principal cares for kids, but not all kids. He made it abundantly clear that he did not care about ours. Any school where the mantra is "keep your head down and you'll probably be okay". Is simply not okay. Obvious safety concerns aside, the academics are laughable, even in honors classes. 7th and 8th grade are important developmental years and our children deserve better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

My child is mentally disabled & has an IEP but is high functioning. My child was physically assualted at this school 2 times (documented). Teachers that are supposed to be special education trained do not know what is stimming. That is Autism 101 how do you not know what it is and what to do to prevent it. If you have a child with special needs and is in the general class I suggest you think twice about this school b/c I removed my child for his safety as well as his educational needs were not being fully met. The school being in a wealthy area is like a a sheep wearing wolf clothing....Do not be fooled. After my child was taken out of the school I then was contacted by the special education department chair.....Where was the communication & concern before we left. #SAD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

The new principle at this school is fantastic. My son attends this school, takes honors courses (but not AAP), and loves it. He has had such a positive experience here, has made great friends, and loves his teachers. I have been especially impressed with his math, history, drama, science, and band teachers this year - all have been exceptional and work very hard. My son and I are both very satisfied with Sandburg.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

I went here for the first half of 7th grade and we could not believe how awful it was. I was having a terrible time with my math teacher and we spent weeks trying to change it,and spent a lot of time sitting in the guidance office,curled up in a ball,in tears,completely shut down because not just my councilor,but the entire guidance staff was being so hateful. More than once I had to go home because of it. The principal did absolutely nothing about this and didn't seem to care. They really made it clear that they did not want me there.


Posted July 27, 2011

Carl Sandburg MS is already a great school and its reputation is on the rise. From a parents perspective, the school is offering my daughter a challenging education. With a Gifted and Talented Program, Spanish immersion continuum from Fort Hunt ES, and ESOL, Sandburg meets the needs of a diverse student body in an affluent neighborhood. The teachers are easily accessible and the principal was a recent first year principal of the year. The school policies are strict (i.e. enforced dress code, no cell phones, etc.) but my daughter still loves it. With very active Northern Virginia parents and numerous ECAs, such as Advanced Band, Odyssey of the Mind, National Junior Honor Society and AVID, this school has it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

CSMS seems to get a bad rap from gossip. I have had two children go through and my last is there now. I am very happy with the admin, teachers and opportunities offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

I am very impressed with Sandburg Middle School, especially the seventh grade science department. My daughter entered 7th grade as an unmotivated student...now she is involved and very interested in science. Thank you Ms. A!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

I am very pleased. My children have had a great experience at Sandburg. Parents are always welcome and made to feel welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

This is a great school. It could use some fixing up(it is very old.), but otherwise this is a great school like I said. It has excellent academic programs. I have a daughter that goes there and she loves it. I give 5 thumbs up to this school and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2005

I wish my rising 7th grader could attend this school as his brohter did. The staff was outstanding. They wrapped their arms around my son with ADHD and gave him the support he needed which allowed him to succeed as an honor roll student and grow into a young man he can be proud of. I will forever be grateful to the administration at CSMS. I read the complaint about the school being dirty, not to my knowledge, but yes, the school is old. Such things are small in the big picture. This is an excellent school and any kid able to attend this school should count his lucky stars. We've had experience in another middle school which is where my rising 7th grader will go and I'm very nervous. Kudos to the staff and anyone wondering about this school? You're doing the right thing. CSMS is at the top of Fairfax County Public Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

This school actually has a very good academics program for the honor classes. The honors classes are very indepth and engage in conversations of learning making the teacher learn more about the student. The music department is wonderful. All bands, orchestra's, and choirs sound great thanks to the great teachers. In particular the orchestra teacher. She engages the students into loving music and making them stick with it. She is also famous state-wide and is known for her teaching in certain parts of the country. The school is NOT unclean at all. Everyday you see janitors in the halls and bathrooms cleaning up all the messes the kids make. The school also has very nice resources because it used to be a high school. A track, football field, and baseball field are all there. It is just basically a great school to be at!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2005

I think this school is dirty and unsafe.My daughter cames home and complaines that she see's roaches in the cafeteria and bathrooms are also unclean.The Academics are all right. But I am worried about the cleaness of the school. Really I hope some reads this and gets a exterminater soon. And it is also old . They need to remodel it quick!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

615 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

616 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

540 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

615 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students82%
Male students77%
Black students62%
Asian students90%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial81%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students54%
Female students54%
Male students53%
Black students43%
Asian students65%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students75%
Male students68%
Black students57%
Asian students73%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial70%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English80%

English: Writing

All Students71%
Female students78%
Male students66%
Black students53%
Asian students70%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial82%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students25%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students68%
Female students70%
Male students67%
Black students40%
Asian students82%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial63%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students75%
Female students72%
Male students77%
Black students57%
Asian students71%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial73%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students93%
Black students88%
Asian students100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English95%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8428 Fort Hunt Rd
Alexandria, VA 22308
Phone: (703) 799-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Whitman Middle School
Alexandria, VA


Islamic Saudi Academy
Alexandria, VA


Alc At Bryant
Alexandria, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT