Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glasgow Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Kowallis and Ms. Uphold have taught my child to be more confident and love math and science. They are amazing teachers.

Glasgow Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
PBIS program is strong. Panther principals are followed throughout everything in the school and the kids are compassionate and caring.


Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
We were nervous to send out first there last year and now are thrilled to send our second. The school is fantastic - and what makes it so is the commitment of the teachers. The teachers care about the whole child, not just the test scores. The principal is so responsive. We are lucky to be able to send our children to this school.

Glasgow Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Shanna Anderson - for constantly looking for new approaches, trying new things, and engaging student and parents for the benefit of our student. Anntoinette Lee and Angela DeHart - for bringing new, challenging, and fun STEAM activities to Glasgow. Maryann Rogers - for patience, perseverance, flexibility, and insistence on excellence - with appropriate supports

Glasgow Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
It's not always easy to teach at a Title 1 school; many of our students don't have easy access to education, after-school supports, or the basic necessities of life. Engaging these students while also meeting the needs of very advanced learners is a delicate balancing act.


Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Our family has been a part of Glasgow MS community since 2011. Each year, Glasgow improves as a school and a community, particularly in the last 3 years. Today, Glasgow embraces its rich diversity - academic, cultural, ethnic, and economic - to create a warm, respectful, creative environment for learning. Remarkably, it meets the needs not only of our neediest students but also of our most advanced learners via specialized programs such as AVID, International Baccalaureate Middle Years Program, and an Advanced Academics (gifted) Center. At the same time, Glasgow is a leader in attending to the social-emotional needs of tweens and young teens, embedding Positive Behavior Intervention Support and the Panther Principles of Kindness, Commitment, and Safety in all aspects of the curriculum. Strong PTA and parent partnerships make this a great place for children to learn and grow as they bridge to high school. Keep up the good work!

Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
Our family has had an excellent experience at Glasgow Middle School. It is a well run school with positive leadership, happy students and strong academics. Our child has been academically challenged and the music programs are outstanding!

Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a community member
awesome it is the best school the qulatiy is very diffrent now and its school staff are kind and push students to there best


Glasgow Middle School 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a community member
I am disgusted that this school is still in existence! This is a poor run down school with a terrible principal and terrible teachers! It seems as if they got these teachers off the streets. So many complaints have been handed down to the office about the teachers but NOTHING is done! I would never let my kid go here, EVER! They treat students so bad & staff members are so disrespectful! FCPS needs to do an investigation on this school IMMEDIATELY!

Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
Over the years, Glasgow seems to go up and down in terms of its reputation, so we weren't sure what to expect when we got there. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the teachers and the way the school is run. Our son has been challenged by the classes and he has homework almost every day. There is a lot of diversity there and the different economic and cultural backgrounds creates challenges (like bringing down overall test scores), but I think the school does what it can to try to help kids succeed. My son says the differences in the kids is not a big deal. If your child wants to learn and tries hard, there are a lot of opportunities at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glasgow Middle School
4101 Fairfax Pkwy, Alexandria, VA  22312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (703) 813-8700
Last modified Glasgow Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top