Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 1,393
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a community member
awesome it is the best school the qulatiy is very diffrent now and its school staff are kind and push students to there best

Glasgow Middle School 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a community member
I am disgusted that this school is still in existence! This is a poor run down school with a terrible principal and terrible teachers! It seems as if they got these teachers off the streets. So many complaints have been handed down to the office about the teachers but NOTHING is done! I would never let my kid go here, EVER! They treat students so bad & staff members are so disrespectful! FCPS needs to do an investigation on this school IMMEDIATELY!


Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
Over the years, Glasgow seems to go up and down in terms of its reputation, so we weren't sure what to expect when we got there. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the teachers and the way the school is run. Our son has been challenged by the classes and he has homework almost every day. There is a lot of diversity there and the different economic and cultural backgrounds creates challenges (like bringing down overall test scores), but I think the school does what it can to try to help kids succeed. My son says the differences in the kids is not a big deal. If your child wants to learn and tries hard, there are a lot of opportunities at this school.

Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
Over the years, Glasgow seems to go up and down in terms of its reputation, so we weren't sure what to expect when we got there. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the teachers and the way the school is run. Our son has been challenged by the classes and he has homework almost every day. There is a lot of diversity there and the different economic and cultural backgrounds creates challenges (like bringing down overall test scores), but I think the school does what it can to try to help kids succeed. My son says the differences in the kids is not a big deal. If your child wants to learn and tries hard, there are a lot of opportunities at this school.

Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
Good music program, very nice facility, though a bit large and easy to get lost in, literally and figuratively for a shy kid. Some of the teachers very good, some a bit stand-offish. Parents do need to keep a close eye on the academics.


Glasgow Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2012
- a community member
it is as if the teachers dont care about the students accheivments you dont see the principal at all and teachers often turn a blind eye to things. teachers also often gossip about students in the hallway where students can over hear. because of that students cant ask a question between classes without being asked to wait until the conversation was at a good stopping place. the students only have four minutes between classes so it is very hard to go to ones locker between classes to switch supplies for differnt classes which is done alot because we have every single class every single day. there are a few teachers who have no idea how to be a teacher and even after many complaints nothing was done. the administrators and couselors often take the side of teachers when there is a conflict between a teacher and a student. most of the reserch booksin the library are at least 10 years old and therefore gives students inaccurate information. there are also teachers that have attitude problems. i have witnessed one teacher calling a student a jerk in front of the entire class because he stated he was confused when she was explaining a problem on the board.

Glasgow Middle School
no rating

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
i really love this school, especially the new one. it clean, a lot of classrooms, nice pain, huge gym. BEAUTIFUL

Glasgow Middle School
no rating

Posted June 08, 2006
- a parent
For our 6th grader, academics have been adequate to less than adequate - no homework, little, if any emphasis in basic skills such as spelling, leaves us wondering if our child will be unprepared moving into upper grades. Parent involvement seems to be about average for public middle schools - low. However, involved parents do what they can. Our child was worried about the presence of gangs prior to starting there last year, but gang activity appears to be minimal or non-existent. The faculty and staff appear to be dedicated in their efforts to provide a good learning environment - and effort counts a lot in my book Overall I would rate this school as above average if doing a nationwide comparison, a little bit below average for the Washington DC greater metro area.


Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted May 27, 2006
- a parent
No complaints about the academic program or teachers. Middle school years are hard socially. Glasgow lacks experienced counselors that know the students and can track these social challenges.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glasgow Middle School
4101 Fairfax Pkwy, Alexandria, VA  22312
(703) 813-8700
Last modified Glasgow Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glasgow Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top