Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glasgow Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Shanna Anderson - for constantly looking for new approaches, trying new things, and engaging student and parents for the benefit of our student. Anntoinette Lee and Angela DeHart - for bringing new, challenging, and fun STEAM activities to Glasgow. Maryann Rogers - for patience, perseverance, flexibility, and insistence on excellence - with appropriate supports

Glasgow Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
It's not always easy to teach at a Title 1 school; many of our students don't have easy access to education, after-school supports, or the basic necessities of life. Engaging these students while also meeting the needs of very advanced learners is a delicate balancing act.


Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Our family has been a part of Glasgow MS community since 2011. Each year, Glasgow improves as a school and a community, particularly in the last 3 years. Today, Glasgow embraces its rich diversity - academic, cultural, ethnic, and economic - to create a warm, respectful, creative environment for learning. Remarkably, it meets the needs not only of our neediest students but also of our most advanced learners via specialized programs such as AVID, International Baccalaureate Middle Years Program, and an Advanced Academics (gifted) Center. At the same time, Glasgow is a leader in attending to the social-emotional needs of tweens and young teens, embedding Positive Behavior Intervention Support and the Panther Principles of Kindness, Commitment, and Safety in all aspects of the curriculum. Strong PTA and parent partnerships make this a great place for children to learn and grow as they bridge to high school. Keep up the good work!

Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
Our family has had an excellent experience at Glasgow Middle School. It is a well run school with positive leadership, happy students and strong academics. Our child has been academically challenged and the music programs are outstanding!

Glasgow Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a community member
awesome it is the best school the qulatiy is very diffrent now and its school staff are kind and push students to there best


Glasgow Middle School 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a community member
I am disgusted that this school is still in existence! This is a poor run down school with a terrible principal and terrible teachers! It seems as if they got these teachers off the streets. So many complaints have been handed down to the office about the teachers but NOTHING is done! I would never let my kid go here, EVER! They treat students so bad & staff members are so disrespectful! FCPS needs to do an investigation on this school IMMEDIATELY!

Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
Over the years, Glasgow seems to go up and down in terms of its reputation, so we weren't sure what to expect when we got there. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the teachers and the way the school is run. Our son has been challenged by the classes and he has homework almost every day. There is a lot of diversity there and the different economic and cultural backgrounds creates challenges (like bringing down overall test scores), but I think the school does what it can to try to help kids succeed. My son says the differences in the kids is not a big deal. If your child wants to learn and tries hard, there are a lot of opportunities at this school.

Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
Over the years, Glasgow seems to go up and down in terms of its reputation, so we weren't sure what to expect when we got there. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the teachers and the way the school is run. Our son has been challenged by the classes and he has homework almost every day. There is a lot of diversity there and the different economic and cultural backgrounds creates challenges (like bringing down overall test scores), but I think the school does what it can to try to help kids succeed. My son says the differences in the kids is not a big deal. If your child wants to learn and tries hard, there are a lot of opportunities at this school.


Glasgow Middle School 4

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
Good music program, very nice facility, though a bit large and easy to get lost in, literally and figuratively for a shy kid. Some of the teachers very good, some a bit stand-offish. Parents do need to keep a close eye on the academics.

Glasgow Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2012
- a community member
it is as if the teachers dont care about the students accheivments you dont see the principal at all and teachers often turn a blind eye to things. teachers also often gossip about students in the hallway where students can over hear. because of that students cant ask a question between classes without being asked to wait until the conversation was at a good stopping place. the students only have four minutes between classes so it is very hard to go to ones locker between classes to switch supplies for differnt classes which is done alot because we have every single class every single day. there are a few teachers who have no idea how to be a teacher and even after many complaints nothing was done. the administrators and couselors often take the side of teachers when there is a conflict between a teacher and a student. most of the reserch booksin the library are at least 10 years old and therefore gives students inaccurate information. there are also teachers that have attitude problems. i have witnessed one teacher calling a student a jerk in front of the entire class because he stated he was confused when she was explaining a problem on the board.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glasgow Middle School
4101 Fairfax Pkwy, Alexandria, VA  22312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (703) 813-8700
Last modified Glasgow Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top