Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Potomac High School

Public | 9-12 | 2373 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

The Al-Qaeda all around the school cause problems every day. They come into disputes with some cartel agents as well. One day, some members of the church of Scientology began attempting mass conversion. That was the day when 30 kids were severely injured as the Al-Qaeda agents blew up.


Posted September 14, 2013

My child is very uncomfortable with the school. It's incredibly overcrowded and teachers care little to none about student safety. We had a similar problem with her brother-and decided to send him to the nearby catholic high school. A good investment, for sure. Will most likely be transferring our daughter there as soon as we can, she cannot handle the nonsense going on at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

There's SO many AMAZING things that I can rant on about this school. The kind and loving teachers helped me graduate at the top of my class with all honors. (and yes I am African American, not that it really matters.) I love this school and all the great opportunities and extracurricular activities it offers, which look great on a high school transcript! I would recommend this school do any incoming ninth graders.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2013

I can no longer work at this school, my co workers seem to have hope but I have lost all. I have only a hand full of students in all of my 5 classes who care about success. Most of the staff only really cares about athletics (where all the budget goes) and not about the actual achievement of students, I have filled out transfer applications to 8 other schools a couple of which are 50 miles away because anywhere is better than here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 17, 2013

We have been very happy with West Potomac. They have everything needed for academic success for the kids who choose to take advantage of it (AP, Honors, and an impressive array of Extracurriculars). When we have had questions or concerns we have found the teachers and staff very competent and caring - responding quickly and effectively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about West Potomac HS. I had the pleasure of attending West Potomac and now coach one of their dance teams. The staff and teachers have such a positive attitude and have a vested interest in their students. West Potomac is a Academy school which gives students the opportunity to take class in a career field. I am very excited to have my children attend my al mater, West Potomac HS


Posted November 8, 2010

There is good reason why this school gets a bad rap -- it's a bad school! The school is overcrowded and full of juvenile delinquents. As a result, the staff has become totally desensitized when it comes to caring for the kids or looking out for their needs. My son switched from West Po to Mt. Vernon and is doing so much better. My daughter wanted to give West Po a try since many of her friends are there, but that didn't last long. A few months in and she was begging to leave the school. I attribute many of the problems to an abundance of children in the area who have no guidance at home, when they act out there's no recourse. This carries over to school, but the school is so jaded and maybe even feels like their hands are tied. There's only so much they can do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

West Po is a GREAT school! The upperlevel classes that are offered are both accomodating and challenging to the students. It's extremely centered around bettering the student so that by the time they graduate they are a well-rounded individual. Every hallway has dozens of posters and information about colleges. The school is extremely involved in its students. We have top choir, band, and theater departments in Fairfax County (which is top ten in the nation!) as well as great sports teams. There is a definite blend of demographics from both ends of the 'food chain' to put it nicely, but the diversity is amazing and so are the cultures. I can also say I feel safe here, yes there is theft problems and maybe one or two bad crowds. I am so glad that I am a Wolverine, it has broadened my views on the importance of college. I love W-Po.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

West Potomac can sometimes get a bad rep. However, let's first put some things into context: It's a Fairfax County school. A Fairfax county school will beat any private school in the Northern Virginia area by leaps and bounds. FFX county public schools are top 10 in the nation. Also, there are great teachers here and a great sports program. Sure, there may be a few bad teachers, but if your student can't handle one bad teacher in 4 years, then your student can't handle the real world. There were a lot of changes in principals in years passed, but it's settled pretty well now. They even have a guy from Thomas Jefferson on the administrative staff now (TJ has been named the top high school in the nation over and over). School has less drugs than Bishop Ireton, etc. Go here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

This is a great school. Good students and good teachers.:> Like all schools theres always some bad students and bad teachers. But most of them r great!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

West Potomac is accomodating to any student willing to challenge themself and work hard or any student who wants an unconventional education. The teachers are extremely qualified and as long as you're willing to learn, they'll teach you a lot. The stealing is a small problem, and the drugs are a bit of an issue, but it's not like people are constantly stealing and lighting up everywhere; there are just a few bad groups who make it seem like everyone is worse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

this school is the best but the teachers are even better
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

When reading other reviews, it looks like two different schools are being discussed - which is exactly what is happening. Overall my kids have had an excellent experience here, both academically and in extracurricular activities. WPHS has outstanding choral, band and drama drama depts. They also offer a wide range of upper level classes. The teachers my children have had (with two notable exceptions) have been encouraging, knowledgable and good motivators. The one big problem at WP is theft. There is a certain group of kids who constantly steal ipods, cell phones, wallets, etc., and as addressed in other reviews, the administration does nothing about it as they don't want to offend anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

West Potomac is typical of many high schools in that the staff are fighting discipline issues, gang issues, drug issues, etc. My two children could not wait to get out of West Potomac because of the atmosphere created by the staff's handling or mishandling of issues. Not only is there a lack of consistency and communications between the educators themselves and how challenges are handled , there is extremly poor follow up and communications with the parents. Very dismal situation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

As far as academics, West Po cultivates young minds and challenges students to go above and beyond the call of duty. There are several outstanding teachers who deserve a higher score than 3 of 10. The debate team recently won a Championship debate in the Harrisonburg, VA area. The students are generally well behaved, but one downfall is that there is a level of laziness; which is a virus in the public school system nationwide. One negative thing I can say is that an outsider walking the halls, looking in classes will think that he or she is in a segregated school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 16, 2007

There is very good reason that this school is ranked the lowest in Fairfax county. The administration too afraid to be called racist and refuses to enforce discpline or any standards. Because of that, there are gangs and the school is not safe. People have drugs and weapons at school. This place is terrible and needs to be closed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2007

I've had a wonderful career so far at West Potomac. The classes are tough, but there are so many opportunities to get help, whether it's from a fellow classmate or your teacher. I have not had a 'bad' teacher yet. Teachers want students to succeed and counselors do everything they can to push a student to their fullest potential. Adminitrators/security have done an amazing job on keeping us safe and on track. There is a lack of school spirit, though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2007

School is really good, the classes can be a little hard, and the pressure is a little too much, (i.e. they get alot of homework) but this helps students in the future. They also have a wonderful arts program. They have a whole building dedicated to arts, and music. The school could be mistaken as a college campus. Their are also alot of parent involvement in this school, we get a lot of money from parents and they really support us.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
90%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

617 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

568 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

543 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
98%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

631 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
94%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

556 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students50%
Female students55%
Male students45%
Black students42%
Asian students68%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial36%
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English54%

Algebra II

All Students75%
Female students77%
Male students73%
Black students52%
Asian students91%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial94%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English78%

Biology

All Students72%
Female students73%
Male students71%
Black students56%
Asian students87%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial82%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English86%

Chemistry

All Students71%
Female students70%
Male students72%
Black students53%
Asian students84%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial95%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English78%

Earth Science

All Students91%
Female students86%
Male students94%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities84%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English92%

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students89%
Male students88%
Black students80%
Asian students81%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English93%

English: Writing

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students87%
Black students79%
Asian students90%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English92%

Geometry

All Students73%
Female students73%
Male students74%
Black students60%
Asian students79%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial88%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English79%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students93%
Black students81%
Asian students95%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English93%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students75%
Female students75%
Male students75%
Black students60%
Asian students84%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial83%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English86%

World History II

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black students73%
Asian students83%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial86%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Clifford Hardison

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 Quander Rd
Alexandria, VA 22307
Phone: (703) 718-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Quander Road School
Alexandria, VA




Alc At Bryant
Alexandria, VA


Alc At Cameron
Alexandria, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT