Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Potomac High School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful principal & outstanding staff. I really love how there is always activities going on after school for the students to participate in. This school is truly a safe haven for kids to stay off the streets and out of trouble. WPSH The World's Greatest High School

West Potomac High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mr. Rice!!! You are an out of this world band teacher. I hope your students realize just how lucky they are to have you. I wish I had a band teacher like you growing up.


West Potomac High School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
The "4" rating is misleading since it calculates test schools only. If you look at the demographics, English as a second language is higher than other schools and can affect test scores. My daughter currently attends West Potomac HIgh School. She's had a positive experience there. Impressive teachers who are very involved and caring teachers. There are LOTS of extracurricular activities. Sports, Band, Orchestra, after-school clubs and a top-notch theater department. Active PTSA and parent volunteers. I personally volunteer frequently and have first hand knowledge of the school. It has a diverse student population which has enhanced my daughter's learning.

West Potomac High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I can't say enough about the teachers my daughter has had ~ all are dedicated and involved. I'm especially impressed with the teachers who also are the "sponsor" for the clubs. The go to weekend and evening events with the students which is time away from their own families. Very thankful for their commitment to the students.

West Potomac High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
My daughter participates in sports (fall and spring) as well as several after-school clubs and she still has time to get homework done. Sometimes she has to stay up a little later or get up earlier but that's her choice for doing the other activities.


West Potomac High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I can only go by my daughter's experience ~ she's a determined student and has thrived by being challenged in the AP offerings at West Potomac. Her teachers have been stellar ~ they are always available for questions, extra help, clarification. The dedication of teachers amaze me.

West Potomac High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I feel the teachers and Administration respect the students and strive to offer an atmosphere of mutual respect. But, of course, their first priority is safety and learning so if a student is being disrespectful, they will be called on it.

West Potomac High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
There are programs in place year-round to address bullying, stress, etc. Many of the clubs are community service oriented which students raise awareness for local needs (charities).


West Potomac High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
The Principal, Mr Alex Case and Kevin McMahon (Director of Student Services) are very enthusiastic about student programs which foster fairness, honesty and integrity. As a parent volunteer, I've seen these programs in action on many levels and throughout the year.

West Potomac High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 28, 2015
- a student
The teachers don't care, the staff don't care, it is repulsive. Completely awful school that is so unfair and so annoying.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Potomac High School
6500 Quander Rd, Alexandria, VA  22307
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (703) 718-2500
Last modified West Potomac High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top