Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 2,373

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Potomac High School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
The Al-Qaeda all around the school cause problems every day. They come into disputes with some cartel agents as well. One day, some members of the church of Scientology began attempting mass conversion. That was the day when 30 kids were severely injured as the Al-Qaeda agents blew up.

West Potomac High School 2

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
My child is very uncomfortable with the school. It's incredibly overcrowded and teachers care little to none about student safety. We had a similar problem with her brother-and decided to send him to the nearby catholic high school. A good investment, for sure. Will most likely be transferring our daughter there as soon as we can, she cannot handle the nonsense going on at this school.


West Potomac High School 5

Posted July 15, 2013
- a student
There's SO many AMAZING things that I can rant on about this school. The kind and loving teachers helped me graduate at the top of my class with all honors. (and yes I am African American, not that it really matters.) I love this school and all the great opportunities and extracurricular activities it offers, which look great on a high school transcript! I would recommend this school do any incoming ninth graders.

West Potomac High School 1

Posted June 11, 2013
- a teacher
I can no longer work at this school, my co workers seem to have hope but I have lost all. I have only a hand full of students in all of my 5 classes who care about success. Most of the staff only really cares about athletics (where all the budget goes) and not about the actual achievement of students, I have filled out transfer applications to 8 other schools a couple of which are 50 miles away because anywhere is better than here.

West Potomac High School 4

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with West Potomac. They have everything needed for academic success for the kids who choose to take advantage of it (AP, Honors, and an impressive array of Extracurriculars). When we have had questions or concerns we have found the teachers and staff very competent and caring - responding quickly and effectively.


West Potomac High School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a community member
I cannot say enough good things about West Potomac HS. I had the pleasure of attending West Potomac and now coach one of their dance teams. The staff and teachers have such a positive attitude and have a vested interest in their students. West Potomac is a Academy school which gives students the opportunity to take class in a career field. I am very excited to have my children attend my al mater, West Potomac HS

West Potomac High School 1

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
There is good reason why this school gets a bad rap -- it's a bad school! The school is overcrowded and full of juvenile delinquents. As a result, the staff has become totally desensitized when it comes to caring for the kids or looking out for their needs. My son switched from West Po to Mt. Vernon and is doing so much better. My daughter wanted to give West Po a try since many of her friends are there, but that didn't last long. A few months in and she was begging to leave the school. I attribute many of the problems to an abundance of children in the area who have no guidance at home, when they act out there's no recourse. This carries over to school, but the school is so jaded and maybe even feels like their hands are tied. There's only so much they can do.

West Potomac High School 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
West Po is a GREAT school! The upperlevel classes that are offered are both accomodating and challenging to the students. It's extremely centered around bettering the student so that by the time they graduate they are a well-rounded individual. Every hallway has dozens of posters and information about colleges. The school is extremely involved in its students. We have top choir, band, and theater departments in Fairfax County (which is top ten in the nation!) as well as great sports teams. There is a definite blend of demographics from both ends of the 'food chain' to put it nicely, but the diversity is amazing and so are the cultures. I can also say I feel safe here, yes there is theft problems and maybe one or two bad crowds. I am so glad that I am a Wolverine, it has broadened my views on the importance of college. I love W-Po.


West Potomac High School 4

Posted November 09, 2009
- a student
West Potomac can sometimes get a bad rep. However, let's first put some things into context: It's a Fairfax County school. A Fairfax county school will beat any private school in the Northern Virginia area by leaps and bounds. FFX county public schools are top 10 in the nation. Also, there are great teachers here and a great sports program. Sure, there may be a few bad teachers, but if your student can't handle one bad teacher in 4 years, then your student can't handle the real world. There were a lot of changes in principals in years passed, but it's settled pretty well now. They even have a guy from Thomas Jefferson on the administrative staff now (TJ has been named the top high school in the nation over and over). School has less drugs than Bishop Ireton, etc. Go here!

West Potomac High School 4

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Potomac High School
6500 Quander Rd, Alexandria, VA  22307
(703) 718-2500
Last modified West Potomac High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Potomac High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top