Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Eagle Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
we are grateful for Mr. Cam. He is a wonderful kindergarten teacher. He is engaging and youthful. My son loves him and thinks the best of him. We are very happy to him as our son's kindergarten teacher.

Mount Eagle Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
We love Mount Eagle. At fist we were nervous because of the low ratings. This school is small, intimate neighborhood school. Our son is in kindergarten and loves his teacher, loves his school and has learned so much! He has started reading and writing. His classroom is small (14 student!) and we love that. It is just what he needs. The community isight. People know you and you are not just one small ant in the mass. Mrs. Consolla is great too!! She is engaged and takes care of her little school with love and sharpness.


Mount Eagle Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
This wonderful neighborhood school is a little treasure of the expansive Fairfax County. You can't beat the class sizes. The staff is absolutely outstanding and the teachers are dedicated and caring. The most important thing is that my son LOVES going to school! We've also met so many wonderful families, and have made lifelong friends within the school community. The special resources available at Mount Eagle are plentiful- art, music, drama, chess, lego club, field trips. I can't say enough good things about our experience here.

Mount Eagle Elementary School 2

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at Mount Eagle I have been underwhelmed by the school so far. The student body is very socioeconomically diverse and I think the teachers struggle to help the more advanced kids progress. When I speak with parents at other area elementary schools it seems there kids are doing much more in class than my child. I appreciate that this school caters to a diverse population and that makes all of the teacher's jobs more challenging. But if they want to keep the advanced kids at the school they need to figure out how to better meet their needs too.

Mount Eagle Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
We are so grateful for the wonderful teachers at Mount Eagle. It's our second year at the school, and our son is excelling and loves going to school. As a parent, I love the small class sizes and all of the extra resources available for students. Great neighborhood school, and I feel that the ratings are way off. Mount Eagle Elementary should be rated a 10!


Mount Eagle Elementary School 4

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
I like this school. My son has been at Mt. Eagle four 3 years and he seems to enjoy it. I love the advanced academics teacher the most. She is very hands on and well organized. There is a great network of parents and teachers working together, although I think they are a little harsh on some students. Overall, there we're some great opportunities for my son to learn new and interesting things in an environment that embraces it's diversity.

Mount Eagle Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
As a former teacher with Fairfax County Public Schools and early childhood educator, I can tell you our first grader has received nothing but the best from her experience at Mount Eagle Elementary. Even though the school is small, it delivers a developmentally appropriate education in a community based environment. Parents are encouraged to walk their child to class, giving families and teachers an opportunity to touch base every day. The teachers are clearly some of the best in the county and truly care about their students. Events like Principal's Pride, Literacy Nights, and Learning Celebrations help support student and family achievements at individual levels. Even though our school boundaries pull students from 4 small local neighborhoods, the student body is very diverse. The size of the school helps foster lasting relationships between students and families. The PTO at Mount Eagle gains strength every year and promotes community relationships with yearly events like BINGO, a school dance, and an international food night. We have been more than pleased with the education our daughter has received and look forward to sending our younger children to Mount Eagle as well.

Mount Eagle Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I had a student at Mount Eagle for her 1st and 2nd grades. It was a wonderful experience. She was targeted as an Advanced Academic Student and received all of the extra attention she needed. In 2nd grade, she was in a special AAP joint 2/3 class. It was amazing and when she moved over to the AAP center , she was well-prepared. It is a friendly, community-minded school. The library is excellent. The teachers are responsive to individual needs.


Mount Eagle Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
horrible. this year my 2nd grader has learned (from student body) about sex, foul language, and been bullied. the SACC program for this school is equally bad. if i could afford it we would either move or go to private school. we are stuck and i am desperate to get out of this school.

Mount Eagle Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
We are parents of a kindergartener and have loved our experience so far. The kindergarten teachers have been great and we've enjoyed the sense of community in our little school. The PTO is very active and the staff has been friendly and responsive.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Eagle Elementary School
6116 N Kings Hwy, Alexandria, VA  22303
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (703) 721-2100
Last modified Mount Eagle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top