Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Vernon High School

Public | 9-12 | 1889 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

My daughter is a freshman in High School. she never failed a class till she step foot in Mount Vernon High School. Her teacher is always giving her a hard time. the Principal leadership is failing. she needs to hire better teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

CRAZEH, 5 Stars Man. Very Diverse and stylish ways of teaching, Exellent IB program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Mount Vernon continues to be a great school, having great athletic and extra curricular activities, but most of all GREAT teachers. We are thrilled to have our last of 5 entering this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

So far this school has been very welcoming and helpful. We are military and new to the East Coast, so it was very important to us that the school be military firendly and understaning to transitioning students.We are looking forward to the new year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

mount vernon high is making a valliant effort to meet the needs of all students in the face of gross misconduct by several students. The principal is amenable and works to deal with situations to the best of his ability.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2012

Cannot say enough about this school (positive). Yes, there is a diverse student population, I enjoy that, as do my kids! Students, faculty and staff are very friendly and it's very cool to see the different students interacting. There is a top notch ROTC program, great sport programs, drama/other extra curricular activities, good parental involvement, and so far the teachers have been top notch!! I'm particularly impressed with the leadership and guidance departments, and how they truly support the teachers, students, and parents! For such a large student body, so many cultures and personalities (in the students and staff) it's certainly a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

Great principal, some great teachers, a lot of good teachers. Potential for friction with so much diversity but the administration handles it well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

Let's try this again. We have only been at Mount Vernon for a year. My daughter came from a very small school and we were concerned about the size. My daughter also has a 504 education plan, another concern: would it be adhered to, would she fall through the cracks, would she fit it? I am THRILLED to report that we have had nothing but positive response and assistance in helping our child succeed through this transition, and she is thriving. We love the diverse population and the students and staff seem to be happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

With the exception of 1 or 2 teachers over the course of our 4 years and 2 of 6 kids at Mount Vernon High School (and any issues with a teacher have been promptly and courteously handled appropriately) we could not be happier with the teachers and the counselors. As other reviewers have stated-there is a sincere interest in the individual student and and a genuine warm and caring staff from the front office on. We could not be more pleased!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

With the exception of one awful biology teacher, I have been happy with my daughter's teachers at Mount Vernon. She is being challenged in most classes, although some teachers have a hard time getting the classes under control from disrespectful students. This has made the learning environment difficult for my freshman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Not a great school. I have two kids in this school, I have a freshman at this school and his teacher don't seem to care about him. His failing 2 classes, and he said Soar time doesn't seem to work because his teachers are failing half the class and all they do is busy work dong that time, and they don't even help him when he needs help. Graduation rates are low and not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

Mount Vernon is an excellent school with excellent faculty. Very responsive to parents and truly dedicated to their students. My children had all been through elementary and middle school in private school, my oldest two through private high school. I am so much happier at Mount Vernon than I was with my oldest two boys private high school. Truly a team approach to education! Can't say enough about how truly pleased I am!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

caring teachers diverse student body
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

This is my childs second year at this school. We are a military family and have been to several schools all over the world. I am disappointed with this school. The sports department...mainly football is horrible. The coach doesnt listen to his players and the staff doesnt listen to the parents. He had the team moving office furniture around and up and down the stairs for practice one evening. The school discipline also needs improvement. Children are on the grounds smoking and nothing is said to them! They do need more extra curricular activities and also need more counselor-parent interaction so we can prepare and make sure our children are on the right path for college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Mt. Vernon High School has the most diverse population in the area. Many of the students are from immigrant families who don't speak English. All students are encouraged to achieve and learn. When I tutored in ESOL I had a student who's reading skills improved from low 20s to high 50s. While this was still failing on the grading score, we were thrilled with the progress. I witnessed all the student's self-confidence levels rise considerably again an achievement there is no way to measure. The Administration, Faculty, Parents and Students work very hard and are proud of their school.


Posted March 15, 2008

They have amazing sports teams. THeir Pre-IB program is phenomenal and the teachers are willing to help and are just overall excellent. If your are not into sports, there isn't much else to do. Great school for athletes and dedicated students. The new principal is doing a great job in trying to present a more positive image of the school to the community. Great school overall. I wouldn't send my children to any other high school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I've had children in MVHS for the past 9 years. There has always been a math team, as well as an 'It's Academic' quiz team. The engineering/robotics club formed within the past 5 years. The drama staff is new for the 2007-2008 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

This is the second year for the principal and she is doing a great job. She continues to look for ways to reach ALL students by working with teachers to develop good relationships with the students. This provides a support system and an interest in each student's education. There are some great teachers at Mount Vernon and more are being added each year. The principal also looks for ways to get parents involved and interested in their student's education. She also is very strict about modest dress and has a zero tolerance for fighting and disrespect. Mount Vernon High School is a school that is on the way UP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Fantastic Field Hockey teams. Lots of sports and clubs to join. Helpful teachers who constantly communicate with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

Our child is in Pre-IB 9th grade classes and her teachers are good. Because IB classes are open to anyone, as a single class or as a full load, there are undesireable behaviors in several of her classes. The disappointment is the kids' lack of discipline/respect that is accepted by staff. Rules are not consistently enforced; kids are too aggressive, rude, and physical. It wasn't what we expected but we are trying to get through it. There is very little parent involvement, though the parents who do volunteer in the school work very hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

606 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

477 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
94%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students60%
Female students64%
Male students57%
Black students60%
Asian students80%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial71%
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English62%

Algebra II

All Students46%
Female students45%
Male students47%
Black students43%
Asian students75%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial43%
White students54%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English49%

Biology

All Students72%
Female students71%
Male students72%
Black students71%
Asian students89%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial81%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English81%

Chemistry

All Students63%
Female students64%
Male students62%
Black students56%
Asian students68%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial57%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English71%

Earth Science

All Students72%
Female students68%
Male students76%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial80%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English76%

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students84%
Male students84%
Black students82%
Asian students90%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial90%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English91%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students87%
Male students83%
Black students80%
Asian students93%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial93%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English88%

Geometry

All Students54%
Female students52%
Male students55%
Black students51%
Asian students59%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial64%
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English59%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students87%
Female students82%
Male students91%
Black students87%
Asian students81%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial89%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English92%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students67%
Female students61%
Male students72%
Black students63%
Asian students87%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial71%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English77%

World History II

All Students78%
Female students75%
Male students82%
Black students75%
Asian students81%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial79%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Nardos E. King

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8515 Old Mount Vernon Rd
Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone: (703) 619-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Islamic Saudi Academy
Alexandria, VA


Alc At Bryant
Alexandria, VA




Hayfield Secondary
Alexandria, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT