Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 766
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parklawn Elementary School 3

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is alright however it does not challenge it's students in the best way possible. They do have PTA meetings, Bingo nights, and other events to try to get the students and their parents involved. Their after-school activities are limited and wish they offered more.

Parklawn Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
I've enjoyed working with teachers, principals, and staff at Parklawn. This is a great school with a great diversity of students. The new principal works well with all at the school. Please give Parklawn a chance it's a great school.


Parklawn Elementary School 5

Posted December 26, 2014
- a parent
We have two years' experience at Parklawn, which is just a terrific community school that serves the Parklawn, Lincolnia Heights, and Heywood Glen neighborhoods. Our child's teachers are caring and encouraging and we are impressed that he is able to receive individual attention given there are 21 other students in his class. Parklawn offers traditional and multi-age learning environments, a well-stocked library and technology in the classroom. The school's beloved principal recently retired after more than 25 years; her replacement is in his first year and seems to be well-liked. An earlier post complained that children are yelled at - we have never seen or heard of anything like that at the school.

Parklawn Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
This School needs some guidance on how you speak to children. I have consistently witnessed children being talked down to and screamed at. This is not acceptable behavior for adults. If you can avoid it DO NOT send your Children to this school. This school may have been great at one point in time but it is far from it now. What a shame.

Parklawn Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
very low standard of education, the School's entire focus is on music and dancing.Even the advanced academic services are low, it's not a good place for challenging students.Students are into a lot of bullying and use bad language and spoil your kids.


Parklawn Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2009
- a parent
Parklawn has great principals, teachers and staff! It is an incredible learning commnuity where everyone works together in order for children learn and grow. Parklawn has been a wonderful place for my child - he is thriving!!

Parklawn Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
All I have to say is this school is great

Parklawn Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school and she has been doing better than ever! When my son starts kinder he will certainly be joining his sister. The teachers and service are great so far, I hope things stay this way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parklawn Elementary School
4116 Braddock Rd, Alexandria, VA  22312
(703) 914-6900
Last modified Parklawn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parklawn Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top