Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 714 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2013

Great programs and Student-Teacher communication. It helps advanced kids with the AAP program and others.


Posted September 26, 2013

So far my child has enjoyed her years at Riverside. She is in 3rd grade AAP this year and really looks forward to school. There have been a few issues in the past and I have talked to whomever I needed to take care of the matter. Teaches and other staff have been great at helping with any of our concerns or issues. I love the ladies in the office and so does my daughter (we walk in to say good morning everyday ).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

I would think twice before sending your child to this school. Then think again. I cannot say enough negative things about this school. Bullying, poor teaching methods, horrible communication on behalf of the staff on up to the principal, you name it it is AWFUL. We tried extremely hard to make this school work for us and in the end decided it was not worth the effort. If you are satisfied with mediocre teaching then fine, but if you want truely exeptional teaching LEAVE and do not return. There are far better public schools within a mile of this one that are superior. We ended up leaving after two years and feel that it was the best decison we have ever made. Our child is THRIVING at her new school and she has been there for two years and about the enter her third year. The principal is nonresponsive and blames the student. Who does that? Truly, DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD IN THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Teachers here do not communicate properly with parents about student progress. Additionally, the don't adequately address student deficits and students are left struggling. Leadership makes excuses and do not hold their teachers accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

I have mixed feelings about this school. Out of the 6 years my kids have attended public schools, I've never had to come up to a school as many times as I've come to Riverside. The staff and principal seem to be okay and cooperative if you stay active with talking to the principal and teachers with the issues you are having. The assistant principals treat the principal like she's President Obama b/c you have to go through them to talk to her unless you are persistent to talk with her. There is one assistant principal I must say is super annoying and no matter what you come to the school for although it's none of her business she wants to know whats going on. I've personally met a counselor, speech therapist and school pshychiatrist who wasnt worth a penny with a hole in it until I got others involved from the county. I can say that all the issues I've had were solved by being respectfully aggressive but I wanted to write a truthful review that gives the pros and cons of this school. There is still a lot of work that needs to be done but overall being an active parent will get you positive results in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

Very very good school. Well rounded after scholl activities and programs. Reading is their top priority. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

not a good school. My kids are in 6th and 4th grade and they have some problems with the staff at Riverside. Some Teacher should resign if they think they cant send the kids to the office just for being kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

Our son is a Kindergarten student and loves Riverside. Now just a few months into the school year he is trying to read, writing sentences, and is just very eager to learn in general. The staff seems kind and dedicated. We are glad we chose to send him to public school and are pleased with the education he is receiving at Riverside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

Riverside ES is a wonderful school. My daughter is in Kindergarten and I couldn't be more thrilled with her teacher and the education that she is receiving there! The staff is truly dedicated and it's obvious they love what they do for a living!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

My daughter is a student at Riverside and recently had a promblem with some boys bullying her on the bus. Both her teacher and the school counselor took the matter very seriously and helped all the students involved work through it. I applaud their zero tolerance for bullying policy! My daughter is thriving at Riverside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

I go here here and give it 2thumbs up
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2006

Riverside has been abandoned by its neighborhood and as a result is an inner-city school. In the past three years, the county added a GT center here to raise the abysmal test scores. Many teachers, and the vice principal, are wonderful. Likewise the PTA is small but dedicated. The greatest issue is an overwhelming number of students who come from homes where the parents either don't care, or are too tired from working two jobs, to properly prepare/support their children. Teachers can only do so much. The neighborhood is solidly upper-middle class, but they have all fled to the Spanish immersion program at Ft. Hunt, or to private schools. Woodley Hills elem., 1/4 mile down the street, is a much better school, with students coming from similarly disadvantaged circumstances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

I would highly encourage all parents to send their children to Riverside! The faculty is really great and the teachers are superb! We have moved alot between MD, DC, and VA and I must say that Riverside is, by far, the best thus far. Whenever I have questions there is always someone willing to do whatever they can to help. When I have questions and need to get in contact with my daughters teacher(s) they return all of my calls promptly and they are always prepared with any answers. They make my job as a parent alot easier. They show genuine concern for each and every student. My daughter now has the ability to take advantage of the GT Program in its entirety and not sparingly as with other schools. She is also playing the violin this year and she loves it! Keep up the great work Riverside! Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

Riverside has a great Gifted Center and Young Scholars Program. They are sensitive to my child's needs and skills, and know when to place him in an environment that could challenge him more. This school is definitely getting better and better. The teachers are highly qualified and caring to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students55%
Female students57%
Male students54%
Black students34%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students48%
Female students39%
Male students55%
Black students34%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English60%

Science

All Students61%
Female students62%
Male students59%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students54%
Female students54%
Male students54%
Black students48%
Asian students55%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient students35%
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students68%
Female students69%
Male students67%
Black students61%
Asian students86%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students60%
Female students56%
Male students63%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students30%
Proficient in English75%

English: Writing

All Students60%
Female students52%
Male students65%
Black students33%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient students35%
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students49%
Female students38%
Male students58%
Black students37%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English50%

Science

All Students61%
Female students56%
Male students64%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students44%
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students69%
Male students78%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students83%
Female students78%
Male students88%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lori Morton

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8410 Old Mount Vernon Rd
Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone: (703) 799-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brentwood Academy
Alexandria, VA


Islamic Saudi Academy
Alexandria, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT