Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter has had a great two years at RES with wonderful teachers. With the new principal, the overall feel of the school has improved- teachers, staff, and students seem genuinely happy to be there! Communication is from the administration is much better, and IME was already good at the classroom level. The addition/expansion of the school's STEAM program has also been very appreciated.

Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2016
- a parent
2 years at this school and the changes in one year have been amazing. After years of neglect from the school board, we have a new principle who is going to great lengths to change the atmosphere. Both years our teachers have been excellent. They respond immediately to my emails. Their doors are always open for meetings. They call me with positive updates. Class sizes are small and manageable. Communication lines are improving.


Riverside Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Such a great experience having my first child in kindergarten! And I owe that to his wonderful teacher & her aid. My son has really enjoyed school, learned a lot of valuable life lessons and grown tremendously over this past year. I know that wouldn't had been the case of he didn't have 2 great teachers teaching him!

Riverside Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
They have a new honor roll system that prioritizes student effort over achievement so that kids understand that it is their effort that makes the difference.

Riverside Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
It is obvious that teachers and administrators care about the success of all students. Their reaction to discipline does not end with a consequence. They consider and implement a support plan that helps students develop empathy and helps them truly learn from their mistakes. My kids are not your typical trouble makers, but there was one incident this year, and I appreciated the way it was handled by one of the assistant principals and other staff.


Riverside Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
They have adopted a new motto, "Effort & Attitude " and have clearly made this a priority throughout.

Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
This school is going through a transformation this year with a new principal. The biggest change I have seen has been with the positive learning environment. My kids love going to school now and their effort has improved drastically. I also notice a major improvement in communication and community outreach.

Riverside Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
The bullies and disrespectful students are allowed to disrupt classrooms. The most recent teacher feedback / working conditions survey indicates the Administration doesn't support teacher's efforts to maintain order in their rooms and this describes the situation i've experienced. One of my children had a peaceful classroom with cooperative children and had a great, productive year. The other had foul mouthed bullies who frequently abused teachers, and pushed, threatened, and hit fellow students resulting in a year that was not very productive. I expended a great deal of energy working to get the classroom environment improved. If the situation is as bad this year, I will move the kids to another local school. There is a high rate of staff turnover at this school. I would not consider staying here except it is our assigned AAP center. Woodley Hills ES is a wonderful school, highly recommend it... consider going there instead.


Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a community member
Great programs and Student-Teacher communication. It helps advanced kids with the AAP program and others.

Riverside Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
So far my child has enjoyed her years at Riverside. She is in 3rd grade AAP this year and really looks forward to school. There have been a few issues in the past and I have talked to whomever I needed to take care of the matter. Teaches and other staff have been great at helping with any of our concerns or issues. I love the ladies in the office and so does my daughter (we walk in to say good morning everyday ).

Nearby schools

Riverside Elementary School
8410 Old Mount Vernon Rd, Alexandria, VA  22309
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (703) 799-6000
Last modified Riverside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top