Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stratford Landing Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 825 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

The new leadership at SLES leaves much to be desired. Still hoping the new style evolves to a partnership with parents. Vague leadership remarks leave one feeling like this school was in the dredges before - it was not. And we can stop pretending SLES is suddenly a Title 1 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

I struggled with this rating. My son is in the AAP and came from a Montessori program. He tested very high on the IQ exam and initially we were thrilled, but this year has not been very good. He started there in 3rd grade. His third grade teacher was great, she really managed the kids, there were no behavioral problems reported by our son. Montessori teaches the kids to be responsible for themselves and their own behavior, it's a student directed progam. Fourth grade has been a different story, the teacher has been ill-equipped to manage the behavioral issues of the kids in her class. My son has been bullied the entire year, by one boy and the two boys that follow him. My son has handled it and has also spoken to the teacher, but she seems to have missed the boat. We have asked that my son not be placed in the same class with this boy for 5th grade. Academically, the AAP is really not all it's cracked up to be. At my son's Montessori as a 2nd grader he was working on 6th grade math concepts and doing well with them. At SLES AAP he is doing 5th grade math using concepts he learned last summer at math camp. It's really disappointing. Classes should be smaller, that is a big problem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2014

We are a military family and moved here just before 1st grade. Right away we were pleased with the school and the ease of registration. We are now at the end of the 2nd grade year and still extremely impressed. Both teachers have been amazing. The new principle seems to be making huge changes within the school, for the better! The PTA is very active. I couldn't be happier and look forward to my second child starting kindergarten here in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

We moved to this area for the stellar reviews of this school. After a year of behavioral issues, disruption and bullying that our children endured on a daily basis, we've pulled them out and have gone private. We took these issues to the Admin Office and they did nothing. Teachers hands are tied and they have no back-up which may be the reason why so many left.. Rooms are overcrowded (29 students in both our children's class with 4-6 being special needs in one room) and only ONE TEACHER! Truly a nightmare for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

As a transient military family, we have been absolutely thrilled with our experience at Stratford Landing. The teachers and community are the best in the area. Our kids have excelled beyond our wildest expectations here, and we are thankful for the experience. If you are considering schools in 22308, Stratford Landing is a must!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

What a problematic year this has been for our family. No school is perfect, I understand that. However, when there are problems, the administration turns a blind eye to it. The discipline problems with many of the students is enormous. Some of the kids who attend SLES are sadly so damaged that their needs dominate the learning environment. Come to this school only if you are in the area from K-2nd grade OR if your child tests into AAP. Otherwise, it could be the worst mistake of your life. Neighborhing Waynewood does not have the magnitude of problems SLES does. Then again, they have different leadership. This school has been a nightmare. I wish there was a way to rate it in the negative category.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

The Gen Ed program at this school is distressed. I echo the sentiments of the previous entry. The school has a practice of 'stacking' all special needs & IEP's in one class creating --a burden to the teacher. If your child is unfortunate enough to be placed in the room with all IEP's, the class will resemble what would have been Special Ed @ 15-20 years ago. It is sad that the county has created a fiasco with their 2-tiered system; AAP & Gen Ed. Instead of AAP being an elite educational experience, it is what Gen Ed should be. Gen Ed then becomes a dumping ground for profound behavior problems, learning challenges, and burdened teachers. It is no wonder that the teacher turnover at this school is so high. The 'supposed' average students are left without an appropriate peer group or educational rigor. Emails to the leadership voicing concern/complaint will go unanswered. It's a sickening situation. I applaud the teaching staff! Parents are involved. I hope that the outcry against the lack of sound leadership increases so that this school can be brought up to the level it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

This is our first year at this school and it has been such a great "restart" of my childs elementary school years. The teachers are all Amazing, really care for their students and make learning fun! I do not care for the Vice Principal or the Principal very much, but the fact that the teachers and the other employees are amazing help you forget that not everyone is qualified for a "Higher up" position with children. The office people are a little stuck up or seem like you are bothering them when you have questions... but you can't win them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2010

Teachers are energetic and positive. Test scores speak for themselves. Choir and orchestra are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

Stratford is a excellent school. We have been very happy with the education that our sons and daughter has received here. The school focuses on every child - not just the gifted (our children are not in the program).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The Stratford Landing ES community is amazing. Parents volunteer countless hours every year to raise money, plant gardens, assist teachers and more. Additionally, the teachers and the administration are stellar. Teachers are more than willing to help parents help their children, the teachers volunteer countless hours after school to help better the school. All in all, it is a great environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

My son is autistic and has attended Stratford Landing for the past 2 years. We moved a mile down the road in the middle of the year and now live in the Waynewood district. We asked to keep our son at SL for the remainder of the year because change is hard on him. The principal waited 4 months to make a decision and then gave us 6 days to move our son with no IEP meeting and no time to prepare him. Her explanation for the urgency is that she has to answer to her PTA. It is a sad situation when the opinions of the PTA influence a principal's decision-making more than the concern for her special needs students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Our daughter had a wonderful experience at Stratford Landing a few years ago and it is still a wonderful place for learning!


Posted September 17, 2009

We have fantastic Kindergarten teachers! They really know how to teach to each child's individual need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love the professionalism and caring of the entire staff and the high standards they keep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

What a great place for out children to go to school. The teachers are so enthisiatic about the learning process and treat teh children with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

This is a fantastic school in a great neighborhood. The teachers are young, energetic and really encourage the kids. They are also available to the parents for conferences, meetings and by e-mail. You cannot buy this quality of education at most private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

Stratford Landing is a superb school. The teachers are committed to challenging the students and they tailor the classwork to the needs of the students. The school is very well run and has a highly involved PTA. I have several children attending this school and I have never had any major issue concerning their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Stratford Landing is a nice public elementary school. Class sizes are high and individual student attention suffers. The PTA is excellent, but the Administration relies on the PTA for things that it should be funding itself. Student correction or discipline was almost non-existent in my childrens' classes, so teaching progressed slowly. However, the teachers do the best with what they have. The Administration comes across as superior to many parents which creates a stand-offish environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

Stratford Landing has been terrific for my son and daughter. The staff has always been kind and caring. The administration leaves something to be desired though. My daughter this year has had one of the best teachers ever, Mr. Jones. Mr. Jones really takes the time to get to know his students and really shows that he cares about his students. He keeps us updated always on what is going on with our daughter. He also tries to do many different things with the kids to keep them interested. We are really going to miss having Mr. Jones next year. The school needs to hire more male teachers like him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students91%
Male students88%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students85%
Female students84%
Male students87%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students94%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students91%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Math

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students96%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students87%
Male students84%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial85%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

English: Writing

All Students87%
Female students92%
Male students81%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students75%
Female students81%
Male students69%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students82%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial92%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students96%
Male students81%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students90%
Female students94%
Male students85%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracial90%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8484 Riverside Rd
Alexandria, VA 22308
Phone: (703) 619-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT