Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stratford Landing Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Great new teachers, everyone is positive (front office folks could still smile more), more administrators who seem to be keeping things in control, homework that makes sense, no more worksheets, kids seem to be doing way more interesting projects this year as compared to previous 2 years and lots of good communication about the renovation.

Stratford Landing Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
HUGE turnover (AGAIN) leaves us with teachers trying to please the micro managing administration and experienced teachers are either running for the door or miserably biding their time.


Stratford Landing Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Ridiculous amount of repetition. Homework given as something to do. With later start times kids and families need to take back quality time outside of school.

Stratford Landing Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
we've gone to hand holding and circling up to make sure no one is different than anyone else

Stratford Landing Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Responsive classroom is a joke. Puts all discipline in classroom. Let teachers teach and administrators handle issues.


Stratford Landing Elementary School 2

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
The administration does not meet the needs of the community. Teachers are micro managed and miserable. Responsive classroom is touted as wonderful - it is anything but - ask any kid or parent. High curriculum standard of the past has been replaced with hand holding and extensive rule system with lack of due consequences. Principal does not support higher learning of Center program. Worst the school has been in years.

Stratford Landing Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
No homework for the entire year.Teacher was absent 2 months.Was not allowed to transfer to another class.

Stratford Landing Elementary School 1

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
I had child there she did not receive homework for the entire school the class was out of control.Teacher missed over two months of class unexplained she got demoted.The principal does not listen she thinks she knows everything and talks down to ppl.THIS IS A HORRIBLE REPRESENTATIVE OF A FAIRFAX COUNTY SCHOOL.GET YOUR CHILD OUT OF THIS DUMP IMMEDIATELY! Bellview Elementary School IS LIGHT YEARS AHEAD OF THIS DUMP.


Stratford Landing Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
First of all, the enrollment is over 900 so the number listed here is incorrect. Stratford Landing is a VERY large school, that being said, it is a GREAT place. Teachers are happy and communicative, the administrators who are new to the building are upbeat and friendly to the kids and parents -- they are visible daily which makes quick questions possible. There were lots of changes made this year which did not sit well with some parents at the beginning of the year (assigned tables at lunch), this seems to be going well, and after having lunch with my children 2x this year, it is WAY better than last year. Volunteers are amazing. PTA has a great Facebook site. The school website has a new webmaster and it seems to be updated regularly. Overall, we have only been here two years but we are very pleased with what our children are experiencing.

Stratford Landing Elementary School 3

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
I struggled with this rating. My son is in the AAP and came from a Montessori program. He tested very high on the IQ exam and initially we were thrilled, but this year has not been very good. He started there in 3rd grade. His third grade teacher was great, she really managed the kids, there were no behavioral problems reported by our son. Montessori teaches the kids to be responsible for themselves and their own behavior, it's a student directed progam. Fourth grade has been a different story, the teacher has been ill-equipped to manage the behavioral issues of the kids in her class. My son has been bullied the entire year, by one boy and the two boys that follow him. My son has handled it and has also spoken to the teacher, but she seems to have missed the boat. We have asked that my son not be placed in the same class with this boy for 5th grade. Academically, the AAP is really not all it's cracked up to be. At my son's Montessori as a 2nd grader he was working on 6th grade math concepts and doing well with them. At SLES AAP he is doing 5th grade math using concepts he learned last summer at math camp. It's really disappointing. Classes should be smaller, that is a big problem

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stratford Landing Elementary School
8484 Riverside Rd, Alexandria, VA  22308
(703) 619-3600
Last modified Stratford Landing Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stratford Landing Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top