Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2016
- a community member
My granddaughters have done very well at this school. Moved on to Carl Sandburg and were on the National Honor Society.

Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
I'm impressed with the teachers and the parents in this school. Parents are encouraged to participate...and they do. It's fantastic. My kids are loving school and I like the atmosphere of the school. My kids are doing well in each subject and I feel like I have a good idea what's going on every week because communication is great plus I can volunteer in the classroom and help when they need it. Plus the PTA has some really fun programs that lets newcomers like my family join the community. The teachers are also kind and seem to really care about the students. So far my kids seem to be having a great experience.


Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
Have read all the previous reviews. It is NOT hard for non-WW community kids to assimilate (moved here with daughter in 3rd grade - no issues; adopted two boys (K and 2nd grade aged) from overseas with NO English language skills AND learning disabilities - no problem). We live well outside WW. Assimilation complaints are idiotic. Supposed issues with diversity issues once kids go to Sandberg and WePo are also moronic. We have experienced no such troubles at Sandberg or WePo. To the contrary, my kids have accumulated dozens of friends from the Rt 1 Corridor. If you want additional diversity exposure join Gunston or LMV soccer, FHLL and other FHYAA sports or BSA/GSA. At WW itself the Special Ed, Speech Therapy, ESOL and Reading programs are outstanding. Staff generally have LONG tenure at the school. Mr. Meyer (principal) stands at the Conover corner every morning assisting the student crossing guards. Teachers maintain excellent comms with parents. Parent volunteers coordinate activities for every class room. Fields/playground are in pretty good shape. With 4 kids I currently have a consecutive 12 year history with WW, with 2 more years to go. Excellent school.

Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2013
- a parent
My family currently has three children enrolled at Waynewood Elementary. As a military family, we have seen a number of schools across the nation, and this is one of the best. It has all the ingredients for success: Great teachers, great administrators, great neighborhood of families with a common prioritization of the importance of our children's education.

Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a community member
I've attended this school since I was in Kindergarten through 6th. I've loved it, the teachers are very caring and the parents are very much involved. It is mostly White, not much diversity, but that's ok because it's always been like that and thats why in my opinion it's the best public elementary school in Alexandria or even in Fairfax County!


Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Don't understand why some of you are so worried that children aren't prepared to meet the the "real" world, when children transfer to a middle school... Children aren't blind and they have enough exposure to real population of this area via sports, camp, rec center activities...Don't you worry about them adjusting to it! More important for this age group is to learn what ideal world should be like, how to be polite with others and take care of people and environment, with minimum expose to crime and violence. I believe this school raises great future generation, sensitive and kind to diversity and poor.

Waynewood Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is like a facade. It's nearly all white. There was one Asian in my daughters class. I think the children are in shock when they are thrown into the fire of middle school with a much more diverse population. The parents further try to skirt the elephant in the room by continuing with AP classes in middle school and will do anything to insure that happens. It makes for a one dimensional child. I had two children (a son and a daughter) at Waynewood who came from a diverse advanced academic background, they found it academically boring (son) and socially full of drama (daughter). We opted for a diverse private school and haven't looked back.

Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
I went to this school when I first came to this country from S. Korea. This school is great. Teachers and staff are attentive and professional. For all those parents who gave low ratings to this school might be more comfortable in a lesser rating ghetto schools. April 3, 2012, your kids will be more comfortable in Washington Mill Elementary. It will better suite your child's needs. There's more lower middle class group of kids with disabilities attending there. Don't hate on the working class people who do not depend on state aid. Way to represent your hood!


Waynewood Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
Comments like the one below on April 3, 2012 have no place in the discussion. The school is either effective at teaching today's youth or it isn't. If you do not like the school, then leave. It really is that simple. So much for the desire to have a color blind society.

Waynewood Elementary School 3

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
When you look at test scores by subgroup you will see that our school has no diversity if you didn't already notice by looking in the classroom. With the neighborhood resources available and the extremely active PTA, these test scores should be hovering the 100's. There is also a significant difference in scores between girls and boys. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to teach to an all white middle class group of kids without disabilities who's motivated parents can afford all the classroom amenities and tutors. These children will likely not be prepared for middle school when they meet their true peers and neighbors from Rt. 1 I'm surprised Great Schools gave Waynewood a 9.

Nearby schools

Waynewood Elementary School
1205 Waynewood Blvd, Alexandria, VA  22308
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (703) 704-7100
Last modified Waynewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top