Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lane Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 834 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 27 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2014

All the schools in the area are great. But what i like that stood out most about Lane is the administrative office. From the Principal to the Nurse, everyone was very warm and helpful. When the nucleus of the school is impressive that feeds throughout the entire body. I have a 3rd grader and a 1st grade at Lane. They both love the school. And many of the teachers call them personally by name just from knowing them in the hall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

We Love Lane! I have two children that attend Lane Elementary, and they have enjoyed every minute! I like the way the teachers care for my children and keep me in the 'loop' about their progress. They have an open-door policy and welcome parent helpers and volunteers. My children look forward to the educational field trips and I like the way the trips are connected to their learning. I looked at several schools in the area before moving into this cluster. I wanted a school with diversity, small class size, an acitvie PTA and great leadership. I'm happy to say, I've found all of these qualities at Lane!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

We moved here mid-school yea, our daughter is in 6th grade and the transaction has been rather seamless for her. The faculty and kids have been wonderful in welcoming her and helping her transition to their structure. The one issue my daughter did encounter with another child, was handled quickly and professionally by the teacher, and I am happy to say no other incidences have occurred since. Very happy with Lane Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Lane is a very welcoming school. The administration, teachers and staff are friendly and really care about the students. Our son is in kindergarten this year and loves being a Lane Lion. We look forward to our daughter entering kindergarten in 2015. The teachers really work together, creating a cooperative environment for the students and families. The PTA is very active, as well! We are very happy here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

The school has supportive teachers who are committed to their students. The multi-age class for 1st/2nd graders has inspired my child to do his very best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

Lane Elem has been a great school for both my kids. Both have enjoyed their teachers and the extracurricular activities offered. Although, both do complain about the quality of food for lunch, so both do bring their lunch to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

Administration truly seems to care and want students to improve. We are very happy with the school after two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

This is the 3rd school that my daughter has attended. (We usually move yearly.) This is the best school my daughter has attended. The staff really care. My daughter enjoys her days. We are hoping to stay in the area and continue at Lane.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Our daughter has been a student at Lane for four years. We are very happy with the quality of the instruction, the easy communication with the teachers and front office and the many wonderful in-school and after school activities. It is a very positive environment for children and their families. Go Lions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

I am really happy with Lane so far. It is such a great environment, both from the inside with caring teachers and administration and outside with parents who really talk to one another and watch out for one another. There really seems to be a community here, with parents very willing to be involved and PTA and school events to help build that community feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

My kids & I love Lane ES. My oldest came from another school, and he compare the 2 and says that Lane teachers' always have an smile on their face, people who works at the school is friendly, etc. Their worse fear is to stop going to Lane if we decided to move. Teachers are well qualified, homework, communication is excellent. I wish they could more field trips & outside activities but I guess this situation is the same across the board in Fairfax county. PTA has good fundraising but should look for new Tecniques to engaged Lane families to do/assist to more activities. Overall Staff, teachers, Directors, are great and well train for their position.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Lane is an amazing school! The teachers are dedicated to the kids and to providing a rich education to each and every one of them. My children love going to school everyday and have developed loving and trusting relationships with their teachers. I have been disappointed by the lack of involvement of many parents with the PTA, but the PTA is an incredible source of support to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

This is our first experience with the elementary school system and so far Lane has been absolutely top notch!! Our Kindergartener has grown leaps and bounds both academically and in maturity in just the last two months!! He has a wonderful, enthusiastic teacher and assistant teacher. Socially the school has a very well run PTA and the Principal is very involved. We are thrilled with the school and look forward to more years to follow in the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Lane is one of the best elementary schools around. The teachers care and are out to teach the kids about life not just SOL tests. The PTA is highly active and supports the students, teachers and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

The community at Lane is very engaged - the teachers, administrators and parents are all involved in the successful education of our children. It's a very positive atmosphere and the children benefit from the involvement of so many different people from different backgrounds. The children also get to benefit from a variety of specials throughout the week - library, computer lab, music, PE, art - as well as a variety of extracurricular activities the PTA sponsors. Our experience at Lane has been very positive! And, the SACC program there is also great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I have a third grader and a Kindergarten student at Anthony T Lane Elementary. I am in my 4th year at Lane and absolutely love the school. We have a fabulous Principal who is a parent as well which keeps her balanced between the parents and the administration. Our Assistant Principals also bring fabulous leadership to our school. We have fabulous PTA run after school programs and an unbelievable curriculum as well. Our Art and Music programs keep our kids well rounded. Our PTA is fantastic and family oriented. I feel lucky that we are in the Lane district lines and feel my kids are blossoming because of the education they are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

This school has been great for my two kids. Positive experience thus far with teachers and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

I really like Lane and have positive interactions with teachers and administrators. PTA has helped the school tremendously with needed projects and materials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

The staff and the administration at this school are top notch. The demographic mix of students and the multicultural exposure my son receives at Lane is an added bonus for my son. In addition, the PTA is very involved with the school and raises slot of money to assist the school in getting items on teachers wish lists.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

My kids have attended Lane for 3 years. The teachers are all wonderful. The PTA is very strong and involved with this school, constantly helping the school with various projects and funding events.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students74%
Male students76%
Black students60%
Asian students86%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students66%
Female students70%
Male students61%
Black students60%
Asian students76%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English67%

Science

All Students90%
Female students91%
Male students89%
Black students80%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students68%
Male students63%
Black students60%
Asian students72%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students74%
Female students70%
Male students77%
Black students56%
Asian students88%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students78%
Male students76%
Black students70%
Asian students92%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English75%

English: Writing

All Students73%
Female students69%
Male students77%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students72%
Female students73%
Male students71%
Black students63%
Asian students100%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students58%
Female students55%
Male students60%
Black students50%
Asian students83%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students54%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students83%
Black students80%
Asian students72%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students85%
Female students87%
Male students84%
Black students80%
Asian students92%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7137 Beulah St
Alexandria, VA 22315
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 924-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Key Center School
Springfield, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT