Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 84 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lane Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The staff as well as the administration really care about the well being of the children. They are very approachable, and to top it off the PTA is one of the best I've ever seen!

Lane Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 26, 2015
- a teacher
The majority of the teachers at Lane have gone back to school to earn their Masters degree in education. The teachers are innovative and strive for the success of their students. They are a tight knit community.


Lane Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a teacher
Lane is a diverse school in its students and staff. They are very up on the times. They focus on student creativity and success. All of the teachers integrate technology in their classrooms. The teachers are highly qualified and build wonderful relationships with their students.

Lane Elementary School 2

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely no diversity in the faculty despite the extremely diverse student body. Very little opportunities for physical activity and too much emphasis on test scores rather than instilling a love of learning at an early age. If your child starts his/her education in an environment where they're encouraged to love learning rather than having information drilled into their young brains, then be prepared for a very harsh transition.

Lane Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
No standout teachers. They are all overburdened by the need to have strong test scores.


Lane Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
Too much and typically on areas not covered in class. Follow Montgomery county. Homework is not helpful and in fact is discouraging to the average student. Particularly with the lack of recess and free play. These are still kids!!!

Lane Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
The school awards students in a way that makes it very discouraging for certain kids with varying personalities, backgrounds, cultures. Diversify staff so that students who may not stand out to current staff have an opportunity to be recognized. 4 years in and this is still very discouraging to my child who feels the need to be awarded and recognized because other students are, but doesn't get recognition for good behaviors.

Lane Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
Our child began at Lane 2014-15 and she LOVES school!! Her teachers are responsive, helpful and genuinely care for all of the students. Learning is fun and interactive and we had family projects that allowed us to work collaboratively. Expectations are high! The PTA is a great way to become involved with the school and they host many events that are fun for the whole family-Basket Bingo is our favorite! We also appreciate how welcoming and friendly the staff is, including the administration-very easy to approach. Just can't say enough good things about the Lane community!!


Lane Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
The staff' administration, and PTA all work together to provide a caring environment with lots of support. I would recommend this school in a heartbeat. My daughter has enjoyed her time here and has loved the teachers and administration..

Lane Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
My children have had an excellent experience at Lane. They have had very supportive and responsive teachers every year. The administration has been inclusive, open and approachable. We initially considered a private school for our children, but we have been thrilled that we decided to enroll at Lane.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lane Elementary School
7137 Beulah St, Alexandria, VA  22315
(703) 924-7700
Last modified Lane Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lane Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 84 reviews. Top