Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 81 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Douglas Macarthur Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Our teachers worked with us as parents to help our child meet needs. They were compassionate and interactive. The support staff, especially the para professionals who support all teachers, are wonderful!

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
I believe they would be more effective if they were given the opportunity to teach holistically rather than to the test.


Douglas Macarthur Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Homework cannot be graded so children are not always required to do anything. This is frustrating for teachers and parents.

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
The school is very competitive if your child is in the top of the class. If your child is well behaved and passes testing he or she can learn to just get by.

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Honesty and compliance is drilled into the children. Most children are naturally this way and the families are good that have their children attend. We love the new AP as of the last year and 1/2.


Douglas Macarthur Elementary School 3

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
If you are an average or above average student with no special needs or behavior challenges, this is a good school. Not great...good. If your child needs anything special...a 504, IEP or just individual attention...not so good. The administration has not been proactive or even up to date on laws and regulations. Good news is that there will be a new AP that will hopefully have more knowledge. School atmosphere is kept cool and orderly...no talking in the hallway and all straight lines...not child friendly. Teachers are mostly good or Great! There is too much pressure on them regarding testing and keeping the kids under "control". We have LOVED our teachers:-)

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter just completed Kindergarten at Douglas MacArthur and we could not be happier with our experience at this school. Teachers care, parents are involved, the principal is present, and the encore classes are incredible. My daughter had Mr. Jackson as her teacher and he was amazing. Very great at teaching each child at their individual level. His communication to parents was great as well. She highly enjoyed her PE classes. They introduced different exercise routines to the kids including rock climbing and yoga. She ran laps each day and really learned how to take care of her body. I am so pleased with this school. I never want to move away! When I asked my daughter what she'll miss most about school at the completion of the year, she quickly responded, "The teachers." I'm so grateful for all the wonderful teachers at our school.

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
This was our first year at MacArthur and we have been so pleased. My daughter's kindergarten teacher has been wonderful and the assistant principal, Ms. Itzkowitz, was very responsive when an issue came up. It's so comforting to know that we have leaders in the school who are there to support us and make the transition to elementary painless. Parents that I speak to really love the community and active PTA involvement. Highly recommend!


Douglas Macarthur Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
MacArthur is a wonderful school and community. It is the only school that uses responsive classroom model. Our children love the morning meetings -- when all students meet to share about their day. The teachers and staff are helpful and responsive. My 2nd grader loves her teacher. The teacher is so great that she even made learning Economics and taking math tests fun! We love the school and the community.

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff are caring and very responsive. The parent community is engaged and supportive. We've been extremely pleased with the school for both the classroom activities and after school offerings.

Nearby schools

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School
1101 Janneys Ln, Alexandria, VA  22302
(703) 461-4190
Last modified Douglas Macarthur Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top