Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 417

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Francis C Hammond Middle 1

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
thsi schol has good teachers and stuff but the safety is very low i remember obe day my child came home with a black eye and a busted lip amd and bruises she was so hurt she cane home crying and begging me not t go back i felt sb ad i couldn't beleive it she had said that soneobe was picking on her and i told her to tell the teachers but it seems like they didnt help i chose this school because it was close to our bew neighberhood and it looked lje a good school but now i know what goes on there my daughter said that they do that alot and there are many fights and they usally endup on all social media and some kids even get cyberbullied this was my daughter last year which i am glad and im hopping this review will make other parents think twice about sending tge children here i can honestly say mad a mistake chossing this school

Francis C Hammond Middle 2

Posted August 25, 2014
- a community member
I admit that this school can be a a excelent it cud be however, you always get picked on If you are a guirl the girls would try to pick on you and if they are a group they wud not let let you sit with them at lunch and youll panic as to where you could sit. if you are also a boy the other boys would pick on you and try to get you involve on a fight. this school hashas been known as a very rude school. there are also many videos of fights going on especially in instagram. If i coulf choosr where i shud have been for 7th to 8th gd. i wpuld not cjpose this school


Francis C Hammond Middle 1

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
The school has the best test scores out of all 3 schools but they still aren't as high as other counties. There are fights ocassionally which I don't think is a safe school environment. The honors classes are good yet they keep kids in if they are struggling. Some teachers are really new and don't know the curriculum and constantly say wrong answers. Sometimes the school lunch ladies don't where hair nets and hair gets on the food which makes the frozen food it is even more gross! As residents in the City of Alexandria parents and students should have the rights to pick and choose which school they would like to attend. Our schools could be better if the administrators reinforced the rules inside the schools. I believe that ROTC class should apply to every student that has bad behavior. These are the kids of the future and I believe that we can change and improve many things if we stay firm.

Francis C Hammond Middle 1

Posted September 11, 2011
- a community member
ok here it is... this school is totally horrible! i was a student there for two years and i am now homeschooled. the students are rude and disrespectful. I was in the office once and this boy was sitting there cursing at the guidence counslor. i was in 7th grade then and that was soo shocking to me. the level of disrespect for teachers and staff is REALLY bad! all though some of the staff was no better. some people will have a different opinion on this school but i am telling you that my experience was terrible!!! the only plus was the teachers. they were cool but some had a hard time with the studennts also...

Francis C Hammond Middle 5

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
This school is the best public school you can send your child to. No matter what kind of person your child is they are to find 3 or more friends and I am sure your child will enjoy it but the first 1 to 2 weeks are gonna be hard and then your child will make a friend.Also their grades will improve cause of the teachers and programs.


Francis C Hammond Middle 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Francis C Hammond Middle 5

Posted May 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Francis C Hammond Middle 5

Posted November 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Francis C Hammond Middle 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Francis C Hammond Middle 4

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
FCHMS is making great progress. This year they are implementing blackboard (an internet based home work assignment/tracking program). My best recommendation is get involved with FCHMS before your child starts attending, so that you can push for programs early oh and get involved. There are a number of additional opportunities here for minorities and those with educational challenges. The school principal (not the grade principal) has been slow to respond. But when he does respond it is professional and courteous. If you are conservative minded, I would watch what movies and books are assigned or played in class. Monitor how the health class teaches your children about sex. Again stay involved. The funding is here to do great things.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francis C Hammond Middle
4646 Seminary Rd, Alexandria, VA  22304
(703) 461-4100
Last modified Francis C Hammond Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francis C Hammond Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top