Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Washington Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 527 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 13, 2014

This school is excellent. I think the caliber of G.W.'s faculty is on par with the best in all of Northern Virginia, if not the world. Ours on does well at G.W.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

My child and I both love GW Middle School. As a student who is on the college track, he tells me that cannot imagine a better place to go to school for many many reasons. The opportunitties that are offered to him are truly amazing and he has a tight group of sharp, polite friends. I think the school's culture is very positive and progressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

Great school. Talented teachers. Very Smart Kids. Challenging Curriculum. Supportive environment. Lovely orchestra. We love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

G.W. has great academic and music programs. It is a wonderful school in a gifted community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Our family's experience at G.W. has been great. Great school. Great community. We highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

GW provides our son with a great education year after year. The school's resources and talented teachers continually exceed our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Faculty and staff focus on developing students' ability to learn independence and take personal responsibility for their assignments. I think this makes the students well-prepared for high-school and beyond. GW is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

GW Middle School is a great school. The George Washington Middle School building was split into two schools (GW1 and GW2) in 2009. The decision was made to create more personal environments for students and to focus more closely on their needs. George Washington's curriculum was overhauled that same year and students now follow the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Program, which emphasizes languages along with mathematics and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

George Washington Middle School offers a great education to our kids. Their language programs and music programs are world class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

We had heard pretty lousy things about GW. After a year, we've seen little evidence of the exaggerated problems about which we were warned. The Honors Program (which is basically self-selected) is generally good, and particularly strong in history/social studies. The art program is spectacular, as are the chorus and band programs (art and music in particular are better and more visible than at any nearby private school). GW is actually two separate schools within one complex and this means that each GW unit is smaller than a typical elementary school, which provides for a ton of hands-on attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

GW is a great school with caring teachers, an amazing 21st century curriculm, and a strong community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

GW has a phenomenal orchestra and band program. I'm thrilled about the move toward the international baccalaureate program. The honors program provides my daughter the kind of academic challenge she needs. And the teachers are supportive and caring. I am particularly pleased with the responsiveness of the guidance counselors, as well as the ability to track my daughterI'd progress on Blackboard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

We are a military family and have had the opportunity to see a number of excellent schools, and school systems, across the country. We think GW Middle School (and ACPS) is a great community and has highly skilled educators. GW is one of the best schools our family has ever experienced. We highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

G.W. Middle School is well funded and the teachers are highly skilled. Our children thrive there and are challenged appropriately. The community's resources in supporting the school are very impressive, as well. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

G.W. provides our son with a great "college-track" experience. We have had a great experience at the school. We feel very fortunate to have a school with such abundant resources and opportunities as part of our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

I have nothing but high marks to give GW. My son has health needs and they have been on top of things with that. He's in honor classes and is challenged for the most part. The classes are engaging. He's had the opportunity to participate in many interesting projects and there are a ton of interesting after school clubs and activities. I am a very involved parent and after reading these review I'm starting to realize that great sites such as this, while extremely helpful as a starting point, have to be just that---a starting point. You have to narrow down your school choices and then go visit for yourself. We love GW and were concerned about all the reports about bullying prior to our son's beginning there. But, he's had no such issues and without question we know he's getting a great education! Im just hoping his new school will be just as great when we move this summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

GW is a disgrace. There is constant bullying and much of it is racially motivated - nothing gets done AT ALL about that. If your child is not on the advanced track he/she have virtually no shot to acheive all they are capapble of because the kids run rampant over the administration. Just look at the one student's comments re how great the school is. Notice the horrific grammar and spelling for anyone in middle school. Then the comment that there is no trouble at the school unless you are looking for it - sounds more like a prison than a school. Until the PARENTS of most of the kids actually CARE and make learning and discipline a priority their kids, and those around them, will continue to suffer. Go to parent/teacher night and you'll understand what I'm talking about as few of the non-advanced kids' parents attend. Funny though, they always seem to make the sporting events. I specifically left Alexandria (a place my wife and I absolutely loved) to go to Arlington for the schools - best decision! Arlington school system is MILES ahead - the parents are engaged, the kids range in ability but are way more respectful and don't bring dow others around them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

GWMS greatly improved within the past three years. The kids atill run in the hallways like crazy but the teachers are more involved, the administration is on top of things and honors classes have changed for the better. GWMS is a work in progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2011

Honestly, this is probably the worst possible school ANYONE would want their child to attend. Kids run around in the hallway like wild animals on the loose...the teachers do nothing to control it and I think most of them are probably too scared to do anything. These kids were the most belligerent, idiotic, and inconsiderate set of people I have ever met in my entire life. Fights break out constantly and disrupt the learning environment. The test scores are ridiculously underachieving and principal involvement is mediocre at best. I was in honors classes at GWMS, and they were a joke. Send your kid to a private school, Alexandria's public school system is TERRIBLE, and your kid is better off somewhere where learning is the top priority.


Posted April 10, 2011

I was continually threatened and harassed during my two years at GWMS- to a point where I was terrified of going to school. Teachers and staff could not keep students under control; fights broke out multiple times a day. When I was threatened by another student, staff members blamed me (and I was the victim). On top of that, classes were so overcrowded and out of control that when I moved I went from easy honors classes to struggling with regular leveled classes because we were so far behind everyone else. GWMS ADVANCE classes were behind the REGULAR classes in my NJ school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students73%
Male students63%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students28%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students81%
Female students83%
Male students78%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students75%
Male students65%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students63%
Female students63%
Male students63%
Black students32%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students76%
Male students59%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students24%
Proficient in English77%

English: Writing

All Students71%
Female students81%
Male students60%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students32%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students70%
Female students75%
Male students65%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students24%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students80%
Female students88%
Male students70%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English85%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (703) 706-4507

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1005 Mt Vernon Ave
Alexandria, VA 22301
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 706-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Commonwealth Academy
Alexandria, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT