Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 120 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Washington Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2016
- a parent
This is not your grandfather's GW Middle School. As Alexandria has gentrified and ACPS has taken a great leap forward over the last ten years, the academic and arts programs at this school have become second to none. We highly recommend this school to other families. Note: This website's rating methodology is problematic if it does not give this school an top score. Go visit the school and you will see.

George Washington Middle School 5

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
The GW Middle School community is filled with engaged families and students. The school and ACPS exceed our family's high educational standards. We have the resources to send our children to private school but feel that GW offers the best Middle School educational environment for our son. He and his peers thrive there and we think they are being well educated in a positive social environment.


George Washington Middle School 3

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
Unless your child is in an honors level class, the work is not demanding enough and the expectations are low. It has not set a good precedent for the kinds of work and deadlines that my kids should expect to provide in high school and beyond. There is too much reliability on packaged educational products; and teaching to the standardized test. Creative approaches to teaching are not prevalent. Most of that is due to decisions by the school system's administration. Given the school's size, they do a good job managing the students. The teachers are enthusiastic and supportive.

George Washington Middle School 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
GW Middle School is phenomenal. Its teachers set a great example and work to make the students the future leaders they were born to be. Our children have found the course offerings to be challenging and the student body is composed of an academically motivated diverse group of students. GW is an amazing school and Alexandria is a wonderful community.

George Washington Middle School 5

Posted June 22, 2016
- a community member
My 6th grader has been appropriately challenged academically, but is having so much fun he barely noticed. He appreciates the independence given to him at GW and his new found maturity is reflected in his learning style. Bravo!


George Washington Middle School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
We are so fortunate to have a middle school of such high caliber as GW in our community. The school has a positive culture, outstanding academics, and acclaimed language and arts programs. We have been very pleased with the experience our children have had there. We also like that the school's culture seems to steer clear of hyper-consumerism and hyper-competitiveness.

George Washington Middle School 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
We think GW's teachers are outstanding. The school's academics are second to none in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The performing arts programs and language programs are world class. The energetic and gifted community of Alexandria supports the school in so many ways. We are honored to be part of the school's community and are very pleased we decided to send our children to GW Middle School. Added bonus - NO TUITION FEES.

George Washington Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Our family took a tour of this school and were very impressed with the curriculum, the talented educators, the facilities, and the high-performance culture of the school. Our daughter has attended for two years and we are still impressed and think she is receiving a fantastic education in a wonderful learning environment. We have been very pleased with all the individual attention she receives given the relatively large size of the student body.


George Washington Middle School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Alexandria City Public Schools are ranked as seventh best in the Commonwealth of Virginia and Virginia as the 11th best state for schools by Niche.com. GW Middle School is a great school in a great school district.

George Washington Middle School 4

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
George Washington Middle School is good, to say the least. The electives are really good (especially band and orchestra). The core classes are good too, but some teachers are really not good at all. Most of them are good, and a lot of them are great. All three of the best teachers I've ever had were from GW. There isn't much bullying anymore, but there is some teasing going around. I don't know why people are giving this one out of five stars. They are probably overprotective parents whose kids are whiny babies. At the same time, I don't know why people are giving this school five stars. George Washington Middle School is an above average school with a great elective program, good academics, and great students and teachers. If you don't want your precious child to experience the real world, then send them to a private school. If you don't want to waste money, GW is a valid choice for any parent out there.

Nearby schools

George Washington Middle School
1005 Mt Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA  22301
(703) 706-4500
Last modified George Washington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top