Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 350
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

20 reviews of this school


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 2

Posted February 28, 2015
- a parent
This school has changed principals often. The new building has not changed the staff. They only offer Spanish and middle school students have to go to GW for after school activities. Spend time at this school in the classrooms and meet with the current principal before making a decision to send your child here.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Jefferson Huston middle school is a great school am very happy Faculty and staff focus on developing students are learning independence and take personal responsibility for their assignments. I believe this makes the students prepared for High school. Jefferson Huston is the best best school from 0ld Town Virginia JF keep up the wonderful work.


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 1

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is now a way to big building, the classes are small, the student population is not as diverse as it used to be. The parking is tight, and it is not easy to access the building. One can not enter from the rear of the building for after hour programs. The floors are all cement so not good on legs or feet. If I were not in the designated area for attendance, I would not send my children there.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
I was really happy with the school's special education preschool. My son learned a lot, and learned compassion for others. The teachers were hands-on and caring.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 3

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Jefferson-Houston offers three preschool programs. My children attend the PLT program that combines typical developmental children with children with delays in their development. Is a wonderful program with a great team of teachers that families should take benefit of.


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 4

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
my son just started going to this school three days ago and he seems excited to go to school... they must be doing a good job.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 1

Posted January 06, 2013
- a parent
Jefferson Houston has the potential to be a good school but the bullying is out of control. I had to pull my son from the school and the administration is not proactive enough to handle the students that are causing the problems. I recommend to do your research before enrolling your child.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 2

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
Jefferson Houston is awful. I was highly disappointed in the teachers and school leadership. The intramural sports program is disorganized as the students ride the bus to George Washington. We discovered that many of the students were "walking" to George Washington instead of riding the bus. Although the teacher to student ratio is great, most of the kids require constant disciplining so the teachers can't spend as much time teaching. There are no good after school programs or school activities. Recommend you spending an entire day there and do lots of research before you decide to send you child to Jefferson Houston!


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
This is Alexandria's hidden jewel. The teachers are outstanding and the students are very respectful of each other. I have two kids at the school, both of whom are doing very well (one has made the honor roll with straight As for the past two quarters - and the other is consistently making As and Bs). The school now has an IB program, which is extraordinary - and the principal is top-notch (best I've ever encountered - she genuinely cares about every student and knows them by name).

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 5

Posted July 27, 2010
- a parent
Jefferson-Houston Elementary School is a very good school, with great teachers and staff. Ms. Graves is doing a wonderful job for the whole of the school. She is turning the school around. The building is very nice, I like the way it is laid out with its open classrooms for shared teaching. My daughters went to this school and now my grandson is attending. We love it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School
1501 Cameron St, Alexandria, VA  22314
(703) 706-4400
Last modified Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top