Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
See the rise in test scores. These teachers have made leaps that other schools should envy.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
When we compared homework loads between our daughter and kindergartners (kindergartners!) from other schools, we were pleased to see that our teacher wasn't a drill and kill teacher. A full day of Kindergarten is plenty for a 5-6 year old. And we haven't missed it.


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
The test scores are a drag on grit, but that's currently a Virginia problem not a JH problem.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 4

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
We sent our daughter to JH for kindergarten. She is now a rising first grader. Our child is reading us books, describing plant life cycles based on the school garden (and eating lettuce from said garden's bumper crop!), understanding the root concept of fractions, and she loves school. Just as important, the school loves her - from the new building which says "you matter enough for investment" to teachers who are making test scores climb while still making school fun. Jefferson-Houston does have a bad reputation, but my wife and I found that reputation is a lagging indicator for progress. If you're open to it, visit the school. You might find that the reputation is about five years behind.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 2

Posted February 28, 2015
- a parent
This school has changed principals often. The new building has not changed the staff. They only offer Spanish and middle school students have to go to GW for after school activities. Spend time at this school in the classrooms and meet with the current principal before making a decision to send your child here.


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Jefferson Huston middle school is a great school am very happy Faculty and staff focus on developing students are learning independence and take personal responsibility for their assignments. I believe this makes the students prepared for High school. Jefferson Huston is the best best school from 0ld Town Virginia JF keep up the wonderful work.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 1

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is now a way to big building, the classes are small, the student population is not as diverse as it used to be. The parking is tight, and it is not easy to access the building. One can not enter from the rear of the building for after hour programs. The floors are all cement so not good on legs or feet. If I were not in the designated area for attendance, I would not send my children there.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
I was really happy with the school's special education preschool. My son learned a lot, and learned compassion for others. The teachers were hands-on and caring.


Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 3

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Jefferson-Houston offers three preschool programs. My children attend the PLT program that combines typical developmental children with children with delays in their development. Is a wonderful program with a great team of teachers that families should take benefit of.

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School 4

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
my son just started going to this school three days ago and he seems excited to go to school... they must be doing a good job.

Nearby schools

Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School
1501 Cameron St, Alexandria, VA  22314
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (703) 706-4400
Last modified Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top