Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 902
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Adams Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are constantly striving to learn new ways to reach out to the students.

John Adams Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The homework at John Adams Elementary scool is appropriate for my child's grade, age and class


John Adams Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff at John Adams show respect to students and instill respect with their actions.

John Adams Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
John Adams has helped my child understand right from wrong and had instilled lifelong values of fairness and honesty through communication and an amazing staff.

John Adams Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
My biggest concern in preparation for sending my children off to kindergarten was if they would be in the best hands possible-- would the school staff, administration and teachers be enthusiastic about teaching? The reviews on great schools and other online resources had me tentative about this decision but as I learned more about John Adams through visits, conversations with the teacher and principals, as well as parents of current students, the decision was easier than I had prepared myself for. Our son is enrolled in the dual-language program and spends over half his day in Spanish and consistently sings and speaks Spanish at the dinner table (speaks more than us and he is 5!). The new principal, Jill, moved across the country to take the reins at JA and she is determined to make the school the perfect learning environment for the kids who attend from all over the world. We couldn't be happier.
1 person found this helpful


John Adams Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The teachers implement rigorous curriculums and as a parent have kept me well informed of my children's progress and what they are learning week to week. I've been particularly impressed with the arts program and the dual language teachers who are implementing the single classroom Spanish-English model. Our kindergarten teacher this year had very high expectations, kept the 19 kids in the classroom well engaged, and provided the parents with weekly newsletters on the key subjects that week. The kids by no means had it easy but advanced five levels over the course of a single year in reading-- in two languages. Despite the large size, the school is orderly and the children well behaved. You can hear a pin drop in 1000 kid assemblies. If you are looking for a lax school where the kids roam the halls and the children are given free range this school isn't for you.
1 person found this helpful

John Adams Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
My kids have daily homework in both Spanish and English and are expected to use various learning apps when they complete their assignments.

John Adams Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely. The kids are held to high standards and many of learning in a second language. These kids define grit.


John Adams Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The school is preparing children to excel in a multicultural and racially diverse world via its embrace of the racially diverse and culturally rich community where all are welcome. The children, especially those in Dual Language, will have a leg up on what it takes to excel in an increasingly global community.

John Adams Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The children at the school are very well behaved and inclusive. The big kids are very kinds to the little kids and the teachers and administration to the extra mile to make this large school feel small. Parents are also welcomed via monthly PTA events and principal coffee hours.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Adams Elementary School
5651 Rayburn Ave, Alexandria, VA  22311
(703) 824-6970
Last modified John Adams Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Adams Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top