Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maury Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Alexandria City Public Schools are ranked as seventh best in the Commonwealth of Virginia and Virginia is ranked as the 11th best state for schools by Niche.com. Maury Elementary is a great school in a great school district.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a teacher
Maury is indeed at "Great School" and the skilled teachers produce great results. The Rosemont neighborhood community is also a wonderful community for the students. The only downside is the high cost of housing in the jurisdiction which is partly driven by the excellent public schools - not just Maury Elem., but GW Middle and TC Williams High as well.


Maury Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
I wish all families could have a school like Maury to educate their children. The educators at the school consistently exceed our high expectations in almost all aspects of education. As a bonus, the school will soon begin construction on a $1.4 million playground renovation.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
The field trips funded by the Maury PTA and managed by the teachers and staff provide wonderful educational opportunities. Our children have seen the following on Maury class field trips: Jamestowne and Yorktown; The White House; U.S. Capital; The Kennday Center; DC's Decatur House; George Washington's Mount Vernon; Alexandria's Gadsby's Tavern, Ledbetter Apothocary, City Hall and Masonic Temple; Alexandria's Winkler Nature Preserve; and Alexandria's trash incinerator/power plant; and Alexandria's water treatment falicility.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
Our family loves Maury Elementary and would highly recommend it to others looking for a high quality education in a wonderful community.


Maury Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
Our child tells us he loves this school. We as parents love it, too. The teachers and the administration are great at communicating with families. We have noticed over time that the educators consistently deliver the message to each child that he or she is expected to do his or her best at all times. Of course, the staff support the children in this. Class sizes are small and the music and art teachers are exceptionally talented educators. On-site afters school enrichment programs are run by the PTA and provide excellent additional opportunities for learning.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
We highly recommend this school. Our boy thrives there and the teachers he has had have been highly skillled. The administration focuses on all the right stuff and the PTA is resources beyond imagination.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
Our child has spent five years at Maury School. Each year, he has developed skills beyond his grade level and his highly-skilled teachers have been dedicated. He has loved this school and his community of friends in Rosemont. We, as parents, think his experience at Maury has positioned him well for academic success going forward. We like to think we focus on academics in our family. Maury focuses on academics, too.


Maury Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
I cannot say enough great things about Maury Elementary. The faculty and staff are very effective leaders. The Rosemont Community provides an unbelievable level of positive support for the school. I have become friends with many people and the PTA's raises a large amount of money to support curriculum enrichment programs for all grades. Abobe all, Maury provides a nurturing and caring environment for our children.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Maury Elementary School meets our high standards. The faculty/staff display amazing skills daily. The community supports the school in amazing ways. The school systems provides abundant resources. There is a wonderful positive culture around the Maury Community as well. We are pround to send our children to this excellent school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maury Elementary School
600 Russell Rd, Alexandria, VA  22301
(703) 706-4440
Last modified Maury Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maury Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top