Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 417
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maury Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
I cannot say enough great things about Maury Elementary. The faculty and staff are very effective leaders. The Rosemont Community provides an unbelievable level of positive support for the school. I have become friends with many people and the PTA's raises a large amount of money to support curriculum enrichment programs for all grades. Abobe all, Maury provides a nurturing and caring environment for our children.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Maury Elementary School meets our high standards. The faculty/staff display amazing skills daily. The community supports the school in amazing ways. The school systems provides abundant resources. There is a wonderful positive culture around the Maury Community as well. We are pround to send our children to this excellent school.


Maury Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
Our family moved to Alexandria from Europe where our children attended excellent schools. We have found that Maury Elementary provides our kids with a very high quality educational experience. The active Rosemont community is very engaged as well. It is an amazing convenience that all our children's school friends live within a short walk of the school and our home. We highly recommend this school.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
We are first time parents and Rosemont residents. Two years ago as our oldest started Kindergarten, and we analyzed many school options (public and private) in detail before deciding to send him to Maury School. The school has been terrific for our child and we highly recommend it. The staff is caring and skilled. The community is incredibly involved. Our child does well academically and socially at Maury. W are very happy that we have become a Maury Family. We highly recommend this school to other families.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Our child has been at Maury for a number of years and achieves far beyond our expectations academically and musically. We credit the top teachers, the focused school administration and the supportive community for creating an excellent school.


Maury Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
I am an educator by profession and I believe Maury is one of the best elementary schools in the National Capitol region.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
I can truly say with gratitude and tremendous appreciation that the faculty and every staff member at Maury work especially hard to ensure that our precious child develops a love for learning. The student population is diverse and class sizes remain small by design our children s classes have ranged from 17-22 students. The school is located in the wonderful Rosemont Community of Alexandria and the playground is a gathering place for the whole neighborhood in the afternoons and on weekends. The PTA is very effective, and the school sponsors activities throughout the year including: math night, science night, social study night, art night, curriculum based field trips, etc. I am hopeful that our young kids will carry their Maury friendship with them throughout their lives.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
Our two children continue to thrive at Maury School and continue to be excited about learning year after year. The teachers challenge the students in a positive way. The enlightened Alexandria City Public School System and Alexandria City Government provide great resources for a full range of student needs from talented and gifted to special needs. The soccer field could use some work but the school system and the PTA have an initiative to improve this in the next year.


Maury Elementary School 4

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
Generally a good public school but with poor central administration. It's sort of assumed that you'll get all of your information from other parents. Very strong pta, which sponsors a number of great after-school clubs.

Maury Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
Maury's teachers and staff, the PTA, and the community at-large are all focused on the kids and their success in a loving, supportive, welcoming way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maury Elementary School
600 Russell Rd, Alexandria, VA  22301
(703) 706-4440
Last modified Maury Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maury Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top