Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 3,284
Before care: No
After care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
T.C. is an excellent school. There are a number of stand-out teachers (in Chemistry, Physics and English) who have inspired our daughter to seek out learning on her own.
4 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a student
I feel that I was part of a high-achieving environment at TC and would highly recommend it as a truly great school. I had the opportunity to take many AP classes at TC for which I receive credit at UVA. This will allow me to graduate with a double major in four years.
4 people found this helpful


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a student
I feel very fortunate to be a student at T.C. Williams High School. They faculty and staff focus on students' needs. I find the class offerings to be extensive, interesting and challenging. The facilities and technology are excellent. The resourceful community of Alexandria supports the school in amazing ways, Sports and the arts are fun and high quality. Above all, the school generally has a positive and energetic culture.
5 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
T.C. offer great courses, looks great on college applications and is diverse. As parents, we are very happy that our children have attended this beloved institution and highly recommend it to other families. The school and the community combine to provide the students with a world-class education and a very supportive culture. Math and Science are very strong at the school as well.
2 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
If you do not know T.C. Williams personally, please do not be misled by the relatively low score that GreatSchools.com s methodology assigns to the school. T.C. serves a large number of high-achieving students who perform as well as any of their Northern Virginia peers. In addition, the school s large student population includes some disadvantaged students as well as a sizable segment of non-native-English speakers who often underperform on the standardized measurements used in GS s methodology. T.C. is the only high school in the City of Alexandria, and the administration provides amazing resources and employs top quality faculty. They tailor their approach to maximizing the potential of all students. Do not be misled. T.C. Williams is indeed a great school.
6 people found this helpful


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
We highly recommend T.C. to families looking for an outstanding college prep experience. The facilities are wonderful. The community is supportive. The faculty and staff are skilled and acclaimed.
3 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
T.C. provides world-class opportunties and resources to the hundreds of young adults who graduate from the school every year and matriculate into top universities thruought the U.S., and the world. Our children thrive at T.C. and we are thankful that we have such a solid institution in our city. Great School. I have to say that I question this website's methodology if it does not give T.C. one of the best ratings available.
3 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a student
TC is a very competitive school within a great school district. Many students enroll in challenging AP, honors, or accelerated courses. Many options are available for classes including many languages and upper level math and sciences. The teachers, for the most part, are well qualified and dedicated to teaching their subjects. A large number of students continue on to four year colleges, many of which are well-know universities. Extra-curricular activities as well as academic and service clubs are often stressed. Athletics tend to be good, but they of course vary from year to year. TC s arts department is very established with a various musical opportunities, a large theater. Overall a fantastic school, among the best in VA.
3 people found this helpful


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
TC Williams has been wonderful for our family since we moved to The City of Alexandria. We think our kids receive a high quality, motivational, college-prep experience. the Community is very supportive on many levels. The facilities and the staff are very impressive. We highly recommend this school.
2 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
As a parent, I can say that T.C. Williams is without a doubt a high caliber high school with talented educators, successfull students, and top notch facilities. The ranking that "Great Schools" gives this school does not reflect the quality of the institution in any meaningful way. I believe this website's rating methodology is profoundly flawed.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

T.C. Williams High School
3330 King St, Alexandria, VA 22302, Alexandria, VA  22302
(703) 824-6800
Last modified T.C. Williams High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
T.C. Williams High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top