Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Alexandria, VA
Students enrolled: 3,284
Before care: No
After care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 55 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


58 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
The Washington Post's 2015 Challenge Index ranks T.C. as the 710th most challenging High School in the county, in the top 3.2% nationally. The Challenge Index data is based on over 22,000 high schools and is a measure of how many AP or IB exams were given divided by the number of graduating seniors. Impressive.

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
We continue to have a great experience with the Alexandria City Public Schools on many levels. Currently, our child attends T.C. Williams, however, we found George Washington Middle and Maury Elementary to be wonderful schools, too.


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
T.C. is a an super school which provides our child with some of the DC-area's most acclaimed teachers, with excellent facilities, and a positive culture. We are hopeful that our child and her classmates will be accepted into top universities nationwide (and internationally) as is typical for graduates of this school. We also like the fact that the school does not instill the students with an unhealthy sens of entitlement, which could potentially be a problem in affluent Alexandria. It is a competitive world, and we think T.C. prepares our daugher well to compete.
2 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
TC Willams High School's S.T.E.M. Academy is highly acclaimed and an amazing resource for students.
1 person found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
T.C. is an excellent school. There are a number of stand-out teachers (in Chemistry, Physics and English) who have inspired our daughter to seek out learning on her own.
8 people found this helpful


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a student
I feel that I was part of a high-achieving environment at TC and would highly recommend it as a truly great school. I had the opportunity to take many AP classes at TC for which I receive credit at UVA. This will allow me to graduate with a double major in four years.
6 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a student
I feel very fortunate to be a student at T.C. Williams High School. They faculty and staff focus on students' needs. I find the class offerings to be extensive, interesting and challenging. The facilities and technology are excellent. The resourceful community of Alexandria supports the school in amazing ways, Sports and the arts are fun and high quality. Above all, the school generally has a positive and energetic culture.
6 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
T.C. offer great courses, looks great on college applications and is diverse. As parents, we are very happy that our children have attended this beloved institution and highly recommend it to other families. The school and the community combine to provide the students with a world-class education and a very supportive culture. Math and Science are very strong at the school as well.
4 people found this helpful


T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
If you do not know T.C. Williams personally, please do not be misled by the relatively low score that GreatSchools.com s methodology assigns to the school. T.C. serves a large number of high-achieving students who perform as well as any of their Northern Virginia peers. In addition, the school s large student population includes some disadvantaged students as well as a sizable segment of non-native-English speakers who often underperform on the standardized measurements used in GS s methodology. T.C. is the only high school in the City of Alexandria, and the administration provides amazing resources and employs top quality faculty. They tailor their approach to maximizing the potential of all students. Do not be misled. T.C. Williams is indeed a great school.
11 people found this helpful

T.C. Williams High School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
We highly recommend T.C. to families looking for an outstanding college prep experience. The facilities are wonderful. The community is supportive. The faculty and staff are skilled and acclaimed.
6 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

T.C. Williams High School
3330 King St, Alexandria, VA 22302, Alexandria, VA  22302
(703) 824-6800
Last modified T.C. Williams High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
T.C. Williams High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top