Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
229 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
We feel truly blessed to have found a school that has helped our children to learn respect for themselves, others and the world around them. The teachers truly care about each student's physical, emotional and academic growth and the result is a balanced school environment where kids learn and they are allowed to be kids. The environment is conducive to both quiet learners and active hands on learners. As all parents are part of the cooperative, there is a sense of community at the school that I have not seen elsewhere. For our children and for our family I cannot think of a better place to have our children building the foundation that will last a life time.

Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
The Montessori School of Northern Virginia is a true gem of a school. This is our 5th year at the school for our 3 girls and there is hardly a day that goes by that we don't thank our lucky stars for having found this very special school when we moved to the area several years ago! I wish every child could know the magic of MSNV. The teachers and staff are unfailingly compassionate, deeply dedicated to each and every child, and masterful in their art of teaching. The philosophy, mission, tone, vibe, personality, leadership, people, and overall general daily 'feeling' of the school constantly proclaim and live what we most want our children to experience in their education: a deep joy of learning, a respect for others, a stewardship of their social and emotional well being, a commitment to the development of strong values, a guardianship of their natural environment, and a deliberate nurturing of their individuality and the diversity in those around them. MSNV is authentic montessori AND SO MUCH MORE, that we cannot imagine our children going without!


Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
We have two children at MSNV and have found the school to be provide a great environment for each child to develop self-dependence as well as above grde level academic and social skills. The school administration and faculty take a personal interest in the progress of each child and create a great sense of community.

Montessori School Of Northern Virginia
no rating

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
6 years at school and still LOVING it! Two kids: elementary age and pre-school aged. Could not wait to move my younger kid over from day care at age 2! Everything you want: top notch teaching and facilities; diverse student and parent population and celebration of that diversity; caring parent and teacher collaborative community. If you are pairing pre-school or elementary school with any kind of care, you ll find this school more than reasonable priced and worth more than every penny! Rare opportunity to get in this year due to opening of new campus in response to long wait lists in past.

Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
MSNV is an incredible school that really does manage to get it all 'right.' I have one child who recently completely kindergarten, one in pre-primary, and one entering the pre-primary class next year. Every teacher we have had has been phenomenal -- their approach is to value each child's uniqueness and challenge them appropriately. Even at the pre-school and kindergarten levels, they expose the children to science, art, geography and culture in a manner that has the children learning and absorbing lessons without even being aware of it. They cultivate confidence and joy in learning. The sense of community is inspiring, the teachers and staff inviting, and the campus beautiful. In addition, the before- and after- care programs are beyond excellent; I highly recommend this school to everyone I talk to. Check it out and fill out an application NOW!


Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
We love this school! It has helped our children not only to learn reading and math quickly, but also to become good citizens. MSNV offers a warm community that is accepting of people from all types of backgrounds.

Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted December 19, 2009
- a parent
When we researched preschools, MSNV stood out with its attractive wooded setting, child centered philosophy, caring faculty with master s degrees or the equivalent, staff longevity, and a highly engaged diverse parent population. We applied even though our chances of admission were slim given the school s popularity. When our children were accepted at MSNV, we felt as though they had gotten into Harvard. After spending nearly seven years at MSNV, we have had an excellent experience. Our oldest recently transitioned beautifully to a rigorous local public school after completing the lower elementary program. Our younger child received instruction in multiplication and division as a kindergartener as well as the chance to conduct independent research on Europe as part of cultural/geography studies. MSNV students receive individualized instruction so those who are academically and socially ready can go very far. The Montessori learning method cultivates the child s inner drive, which helps them with academic independence as they grow. Our younger child is thriving in the elementary program now. The MSNV elementary program offers students the opportunity to engage their intellect on all levels with original research, independent study, practical life lessons, as well as the 3 R s reading, writing, and arithmetic. Additional emphasis on community service, ecologically responsible practices such as green lunches/waste free classrooms, peace/conflict resolution, and grace and courtesy lessons turn students into outstanding, responsible young citizens. Many MSNV graduates go on to great success in their pursuits, academically, in the arts, sports and more. MSNV students and parents form strong friendships that last long after they leave the campus. After many years of long waiting lists at its Annandale campus, the school is expanding to open a second campus in fall 2010 for 2-5 year olds in nearby Falls Church. The new building will replace the former Valleybrook preschool, and include some innovative green features as well as natural playground elements.

Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
We enrolled our kids this year and have been thrilled with this school. We have two children in the pre-school programs (called primary), and both classes are fantastic. The teaching staff really cares about each child and customizes a curriculum to each kid's specific needs. The administration is professional, warm, and responsive to parent's needs. The campus is gorgeous, well maintained, and a dreamland for recess and PE. Our son will move up to the school's elementary program next year, and we plan to enroll our third child in the pre-primary (2-3 year olds). The waiting list gets long because the school has such a great reputation, but they're opening a new campus about five minutes away which will open about 70 new slots. We highly recommend this school!


Montessori School Of Northern Virginia 5

Posted February 13, 2008
- a parent
This is the best preschool hands down. The faculty is outstanding and offer so much love to the children. It is much more affordable than other schools for 2-year olds in the area. The parents are extremely active in the school and my children are developing life-long friendships, as well as amazing mathematic and language skills. The Montessori philosophy encourages children to learn at their own pace, and as a result, my daughter started doing division towards the end of kindergarten. There is a huge demand for this school and a long waitlist, so apply early.

Nearby schools

Montessori School Of Northern Virginia
6820 Pacific Lane, Annandale, VA  22003
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (703) 256-9577
Last modified Montessori School Of Northern Virginia is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top