Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Annandale, VA
Students enrolled: 662

5 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS SCHOOL! May daughter went to the D/HOH preschool and had the most fabulous wonderful experience. Her teacher had me at "hello". Creative, bright, intuitive, warm, caring & provided millions of opportunitites for my little girl to absolutely FLOURISH! Now, she is 5 and in Kindergarten there. I had her 2nd grade brother pupil placed for a variety of reasons....we are out of the CWES boundaries & the school he would have gone to pales in comparison both academically & enthusiasm that is the happiest place on earth (CWES). It starts at the top and trickles down. Love, warmth, respect & LOVE OF LEARING is CWES!!!We are so happy we are there.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
I like C.W.E. We moved to the area last year and are very impressed with the school!!. Teachers are very interested on each child well-being,are flexible and work hard for their academic goals. This school has an awesome special education team!!! All so experienced, nice and involved!!


Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school. The principal is a dynamic and strong leader. The school is vibrant, clean and festooned with beautiful student art on the walls. The 5th and 6th grade honors band program is awesome, primarily because of the director. The principal maintains high standards for the school and teachers. I reckon the scores are good at CBWES because it is a GT center.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
This is our second year at CWES. We are very impressed. We came from another local Elementary school and the difference is night and day. Not only does Canterbury have Cued Speech, Kennedy Center CETA Program, Advanced Academic Program but they continually go above and beyond to add new programs to benefit the kids. For example all the teachers are required to study and practice Responsive Classroom. Most teachers take advantage of after school teacher training programs. The school strives for improvement all the time and is often picked for pilot programs - they were a year ahead of other Fairfax schools converting to online SOL testing and the new letter grade system. They seek out parent involvement (not a standard among all schools). The PTA is highly successful and sponsors great events and raises money responsibly (this year they eliminated their biggest fundraiser because they had too much money carried over from the previous year). Parental participation is outstanding. This is an exceptional school that is always asking 'how can we be better...'

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
Not sure what a previous reviewer said about rude office staff. They are the friendliest group I've ever met. If they want to see rude staff, swing by Frost middle school. That reviewer will be in for a 'rude' awakening. This is a top tiered school and deservedly so. We bought our home in this area for that very reason. GT program is awesome and the school is consistently ranked very high. Again deservedly so. They have a partnership with the Kennedy Center's CETA program, almost all of the teacher enroll in after school continual enrichment and learning programs on their own time. Incredible school and great Principal who encourages both student and staff to do better and strive for higher goals. PTA is incredible and do so much for the school and kids. We are very happy.


Canterbury Woods Elementary School 1

Posted July 11, 2011
- a parent
Office people are really rude. And PTA are already set up with friends. My kid was treated as criminal by other kids and punished so hard by the teacher. If you are not in GT class, no homework and teacher really does not care about the student. Really rally a bad school.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
We just love this school! Our child just finished the second year at this school and the transition has been wonderful. The school counselors (including Ms. Dodds) are wonderful and supportive, and the teachers are high energy and striving to do their very best for each student. The strings program is very, very well run. The SACC teachers do a fabulous job with the program as well, with the older students grouped together separately from the younger students. There is a strong PTA with many after-school activities, including Girls on the Run, Odyssey of the Mind, chess club, scouting programs, and foreign language classes.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
CWES is a good school but there are some issues to be aware of. They practice "mass punishment" for the crimes of the few, i.e., if a few kids are acting up, the entire class gets in trouble (or section in the cafeteria) and has to suffer the consequences. This is not based on one teacher but is a common practice among multiple teachers and staff at the school. Some of the teachers are not fans of the principal--she seems a bit hands off in my experience of going through IEP mtgs (she never said a word) and lets her assistant handle other big issues of mass interest to parents.


Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
I love Canterbury Woods. It's tucked in a private setting, safe and secure feeling. All the teachers are wonderful, hands on, and great resources. They are really "with it" and are great advocated for the students. Diverse programs with friendly staff and quality children. I can't wait for the large-scale renovations, which completes in 2014. Very exciting!

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2010
- a parent
FABULOUS school! The principal is wonderful and knows how to advocate for the school. The teachers are fabulous -- they even had Pajama Days when the students were having Standards of Learning testing this spring. The PTA is very involved and supports the students for field trips, after school activities, and a Laps for Laptops program. The school has an upcoming renovation scheduled and the entire community was welcomed to see the blueprints and plans. FIVE STARS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canterbury Woods Elementary School
4910 Willet Dr, Annandale, VA  22003
(703) 764-5600
Last modified Canterbury Woods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Canterbury Woods Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top