Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful school with a faculty that is dedicated to the success of their students. We are incredibly impressed with our experience so far.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Great school !! Awesome teachers! Awesome principle!! Thanks for everything you do for our kids!


Canterbury Woods Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to everyone!they all are awesome!!!and top of that the principals is the best !!thank you for taking care of our kids.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS SCHOOL! May daughter went to the D/HOH preschool and had the most fabulous wonderful experience. Her teacher had me at "hello". Creative, bright, intuitive, warm, caring & provided millions of opportunitites for my little girl to absolutely FLOURISH! Now, she is 5 and in Kindergarten there. I had her 2nd grade brother pupil placed for a variety of reasons....we are out of the CWES boundaries & the school he would have gone to pales in comparison both academically & enthusiasm that is the happiest place on earth (CWES). It starts at the top and trickles down. Love, warmth, respect & LOVE OF LEARING is CWES!!!We are so happy we are there.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
I like C.W.E. We moved to the area last year and are very impressed with the school!!. Teachers are very interested on each child well-being,are flexible and work hard for their academic goals. This school has an awesome special education team!!! All so experienced, nice and involved!!


Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school. The principal is a dynamic and strong leader. The school is vibrant, clean and festooned with beautiful student art on the walls. The 5th and 6th grade honors band program is awesome, primarily because of the director. The principal maintains high standards for the school and teachers. I reckon the scores are good at CBWES because it is a GT center.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
This is our second year at CWES. We are very impressed. We came from another local Elementary school and the difference is night and day. Not only does Canterbury have Cued Speech, Kennedy Center CETA Program, Advanced Academic Program but they continually go above and beyond to add new programs to benefit the kids. For example all the teachers are required to study and practice Responsive Classroom. Most teachers take advantage of after school teacher training programs. The school strives for improvement all the time and is often picked for pilot programs - they were a year ahead of other Fairfax schools converting to online SOL testing and the new letter grade system. They seek out parent involvement (not a standard among all schools). The PTA is highly successful and sponsors great events and raises money responsibly (this year they eliminated their biggest fundraiser because they had too much money carried over from the previous year). Parental participation is outstanding. This is an exceptional school that is always asking 'how can we be better...'

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
Not sure what a previous reviewer said about rude office staff. They are the friendliest group I've ever met. If they want to see rude staff, swing by Frost middle school. That reviewer will be in for a 'rude' awakening. This is a top tiered school and deservedly so. We bought our home in this area for that very reason. GT program is awesome and the school is consistently ranked very high. Again deservedly so. They have a partnership with the Kennedy Center's CETA program, almost all of the teacher enroll in after school continual enrichment and learning programs on their own time. Incredible school and great Principal who encourages both student and staff to do better and strive for higher goals. PTA is incredible and do so much for the school and kids. We are very happy.


Canterbury Woods Elementary School 1

Posted July 11, 2011
- a parent
Office people are really rude. And PTA are already set up with friends. My kid was treated as criminal by other kids and punished so hard by the teacher. If you are not in GT class, no homework and teacher really does not care about the student. Really rally a bad school.

Canterbury Woods Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
We just love this school! Our child just finished the second year at this school and the transition has been wonderful. The school counselors (including Ms. Dodds) are wonderful and supportive, and the teachers are high energy and striving to do their very best for each student. The strings program is very, very well run. The SACC teachers do a fabulous job with the program as well, with the older students grouped together separately from the younger students. There is a strong PTA with many after-school activities, including Girls on the Run, Odyssey of the Mind, chess club, scouting programs, and foreign language classes.

Nearby schools

Canterbury Woods Elementary School
4910 Willet Dr, Annandale, VA  22003
(703) 764-5600
Last modified Canterbury Woods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top