Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1104 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2012

Poe Middle School is the best!!! I am currently in 8th grade right now. This school is so unique in its own ways. The teachers,students, and staff are beyond great and fun(:


Posted May 6, 2010

I am actually was the class of 08-09 and I went all three years to Poe I miss Poe so much all my three years I had alot of fun and some of the teachers are extremly nice..they do push you to do your work and they expect your effort to do your work. I am attending Annandale High scool and if I was to make time go backwards I would, Class of 08-09
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2009

Poe is the best and i wish everyone could have went to poe to see how wonderful it is
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

Poe is awesome!!! i a in the 6th grade!!! the teachers are very fun and educational to be with!!! i have already learned alot fro poe!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

this is an exceptional school. the staff are very well educated and professional. they care about the students a 100 percent. they are always attentive and supportive towards the students and are available to answer any concerns or questions we as parents may have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

This school is the best!!!!! The student who posted a comment a little below is a very negative student. All the teachers are helpful and supportive and there are always administrators in the hallways to see what is going on. The counselers are very supportive too! You can go to them for anything! Some of the teachers even come and eat lunch with the students too. The principal is also a very nice person because she always seems to be in a happy mood. Over all I give this school an outstanding rating!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

this school is awesome because it helps the students learn better in different ways!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

I'm in my 3rd year here, I would just like to say that the teachers are always unaware of things, and always losing students work and just being unfair, and the other students here are pathetic. Harsh bullying; not usually fighting, but there is so much cursing and profanity, and I've seen 8th graders here reduced to tears because of other students. Overall, this school is terrible, and I can't wait to get to highschool!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

Poe is an extraordinary school! The teachers, prinicpal and other staff go out of their way to ensure each child can succeed academically and socially. There are numeous extracurricular opportunities. Communication between teachers and parents is the best I've ever experienced! Problems and issues are handled effectively and quickly. Perhaps the best indicator is that the kids themselves will tell you the school is excellent, and the happy faces pouring out the doors at 3:15 show it! Diversity is celebrated. Academics are emphasized. Community service is emphasized, and the adults set the example. Our family are extremely happy with Poe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

beat teachers ever !!!!!!!!!!!!! yeah!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

This school is amazing. Their teaching and discipline method is actually just amazing. Us, students, don't realize what kind of education we're getting and we're not grateful for it, but the education is more than expected. The enviorment is extremely comfortable and the students here are well-disciplined. I absolutely love this school and most students are prepared to learn. I think that the STRETCH program is genius; it encourages kids to do their homework. All-in-all, I think this school is the best of the best out there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2007

this school is a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

Poe Middle School is a fantastic school. A lot of after-school activities was created this school year(2005-2006), and my children seem to enjoy them. Teachers are very nice,too. I think they are teaching my children very well, and my children say teachers are very caring. My children are doing very good in this school. Other electives are very good in my point of view. Principal Ms.Monterio is nice and leading this school without any bad incident. I think Poe Middle School is safe enough. Overall, Poe Middle is a perfect school you can count on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have a child attending and doing academically very well. My dissapointment in the school lays in the very limited choices in extra curricular activities,and mainly I fear for my child's physical wellbeing. I am driving and picking my kid up from school everyday since I am very alarmed and will move out of that school district as soon as possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

I think Poe Middle school is an amazing school. There is a new assistant principal and she is awesome, she inspires the children very much. I had a child just graduate from 8th grade with good grades and a positive outlook on their educational experiences. The teachers are very friendly and are very involved in the students acidemic career. Overall it is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2004

This school is unreal. I have a child that attends, the teachers do not push the children to excel. some of the teachers do not return phone calls. I have noticed that they even lose some of the children school work, and then grade base on what they can actually find at the end of the grading period ( oh believe me it goes on). I have never witness such a poor quality of leadership to the children. There is even an administrator, who interacts with the children as though she is very uneducated,and totally unprofessional. I am sure the principal is aware, but has not step in to correct her behavior. I donot sense a caring amphoshere at the school when the children interact with teachers or admin, especially in the office, when I am there to pick my child up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students68%
Male students66%
Black students59%
Asian students85%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students87%
Female students85%
Male students90%
Black students75%
Asian students92%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students73%
Male students68%
Black students66%
Asian students83%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students49%
Female students47%
Male students52%
Black students40%
Asian students77%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students43%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficient students37%
Proficient in English61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students78%
Male students74%
Black students74%
Asian students92%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial91%
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English85%

English: Writing

All Students63%
Female students70%
Male students56%
Black students63%
Asian students81%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial100%
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students70%
Female students71%
Male students70%
Black students76%
Asian students89%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students66%
Female students64%
Male students68%
Black students69%
Asian students80%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial73%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students98%
Female students98%
Male students99%
Black students100%
Asian students98%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial90%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities100%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English98%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sonya Swansbrough

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7000 Cindy Ln
Annandale, VA 22003
Phone: (703) 813-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Michael School
Annandale, VA




Oakwood School
Annandale, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT