Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barcroft Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Supportive teachers and caring community of families all of which are fostered by our principal! I love the modified school year calendar. Having intercession classes in the fall and spring are an added bonus to the regular curriculum.

Barcroft Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
We moved into this neighborhood before we had children. We just got lucky that Barcroft Elementary is our school! I am always impressed with how the teachers and staff work with the uniqueness and general needs of our children! My children love learning, still! They are in 4th and 1st. That is a gift and they are always safe! Being a Title 1 school also offers our whole community a beautiful range of resources that teach us all how to learn together. Our modified school calendar is brilliant!


Barcroft Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
There is great value from the teachers in having the students solve the problems before them. I have witnessed my own child leaning into his grit! And now he is teaching my daughter the building blocks to the school!

Barcroft Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
There are several working buddy groups through out the school and during the day for students to build in their compassion and empathy. They have projects together, meals together, work together. Practical skills are essential! The teachers and resource teachers take the lead in forming these.

Barcroft Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
I respond mostly to the high integrity and honesty! I have personally experienced a foundational collaboration of teachers and parents around builing our trust and integrity. As a parent, when i may disagree with decisions or actions of our school, there is integrity and fairness in responses to my concerns and questions. This models so much for our students!


Barcroft Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic teachers, fantastic principal, fantastic PTA

Barcroft Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2008
- a community member
This is a great school. The teachers and staff couldn't do a better job of teaching and really putting the needs of the children first.

Barcroft Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2008
- a community member
I worked at Barcroft for several years and only left to become a stay @ home mom. To this day having gone through many principals in my daughter's 6 years of formal education, I have never come across a principal so dedicated with such a natural ability to show children and parents as I have here with MHG. The teachers when I was part of Barcroft, were excellent role models with a true desire for children to succeed. This is an awesome school, with many great leaders. I am proud to say I worked at such an excellent school.


Barcroft Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
Barcroft is a great school. I'm kind of shocked by the low rating here. The teachers and staff are all amazing. Barcroft is an intimate school and it does have a diverse population with many immigrant kids just learning english, which may be the reason for some lower than expected test scores. But the kids at Barcroft learn and excel.

Barcroft Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attends here. She's 8 years old. This is her 2nd year. We are very pleased with her teachers and the work she's doing. She's in 3rd grade but reading at a 4th grade level. She's a leader in her class and is loved by her classmates. The children all get along. They are helpful to one another and I believe that it is taught and maintained by the teachers there. She goes all year round - and it's been a very positive experience. She learns quickly and it sticks. I thank the Teachers and especially the principal. My child has to us an inhaler. On occassion she needs it. The nurses know the children by name and are always helpful and encouraging. We love Barcroft and you will too!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barcroft Elementary School
625 S Wakefield St, Arlington, VA  22204
(703) 228-5838
Last modified Barcroft Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barcroft Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top