Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barrett Elementary School 3

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
No child can be turned away from its local school. Barrett is across the street from Buckingham Village which is flooded with illegal immigrants. Therefore, the school is flooded with illegal immigrants. Notice there is no demographics listed on the review? The school broke a record for the number of Kindergarteners in the recent past.

Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at Barrett are superb. They get to know each child as an individual so that they can better foster his or her development. The Barrett Community is friendly and welcoming. The school has tons of resources to insure that every child learns. In particular we like that it is a NASA explorer school with a science focus. My children love it!


Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
Great school. My kid loves it there. The emphasis on science and math (e.g., Project Discovery) is great and really unique in Arlington.

Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
I don't know what "parent" wrote the previous review but it can not possibly be a parent with a child at Barrett or they would know that almost everything they stated is false. There are a lot of students who receive free lunch, but the classes are not 80% Hispanic. Barrett is a choice school but they have not been accepting out of boundary children for years since they have been at capacity, except for siblings. There are indeed children from N. Arlington school districts such as Ashlawn, McKinley, and Nottingham who chose Barrett over their neighborhood program. Arlington Forest is a very sought-after neighborhood because of its relatively affordable homes, good location, and strong sense of community, which carries over to the elementary school. I have had one child at Barrett for four years and another who will start soon. We do know of a few children who left Barrett for other schools because it wasn't a good fit for them, but everyone we know there currently is very pleased with the school.

Barrett Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
Barrett Elementary is a fabulous school with a wonderful, experienced principal and dedicated staff. We were lucky to be able to choose to attend Barrett when transfers were permitted from nearby "cluster" schools and the community has become our community even though we don't live in the neighborhood. It has been a great fit for my children educationally and socially. Barrett has been recognized for its leadership in human rights and community building and does amazing things to bring everyone together in a rich learning environment. Barrett students are engaged in many ways and are lucky to have the Science Discovery Lab and TV studio which are lead by extremely talented teachers. Just this year Barrett was selected to offer the foreign language "FLES" program and the staff and students made the transition remarkably well.


Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
Barrett is a wonderful school. The teachers are top-notch, and the principal is amazing. The community is very welcoming and close knit. The family involvement in the school community is an added bonus. The projects at the class level and the school wide level are fun, creative, and a great way to inspire the kids to learn.

Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
Barrett is an outstanding school withincredibly dedicated teachers, staff and specialists who work with all students. Great programs and services. Fabulous community and activities from the arts, science, and more!

Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
Great school with supportive and helpful staff. Teachers are willing to work with students in many levels.


Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
Barrett has amazing teachers. Both of my children are progressing very nicely. I recommend this school to every parent I meet.

Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barrett Elementary School
4401 N Henderson Rd, Arlington, VA  22203
(703) 228-6288
Last modified Barrett Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barrett Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 32 reviews.