Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barrett Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Wendy Radcliffe was a tenacious educator and loved the kids. She realized the system is broken but chose to teach anyway.

Barrett Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Some great teachers but others are just not willing to stand firm on keeping a more structured environment. My daughter was punched.


Barrett Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Half page of homework per day. She only gets assigned a half page of math and a 20 minute reading assignment.

Barrett Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
My kid isn't challenged in the school, just taught to act up and be mischievous.

Barrett Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
The school is a big daycare for future democrat voters. Kids run wild not being taught how to be ladies and gentlemen.


Barrett Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are so scared of disciplining children they let them do what they want. Young Latino boys can get away with a lot of mischief in their home country and the US. So, white kids get harassed and the Latino kids don't get disciplined.

Barrett Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
This school is about pandering to minorities to promote future Democrat voters. So, they focus on bringing the minorities up to the minimum standard instead of unlock the best of the white kids.

Barrett Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Barret is a typical Arlington school imposed upon recent Affordable housing across the street at capacity due to Arlington's sanctuary city standing. My kid's 3rd grade photo has 5 white kids out of 22 kids in all. There are some really great teachers. However, some teachers come and go not serious about Barrett long term. The kids act up a lot. I noticed my kid was more in control in preschool than in K-3. Its our neighborhood school but we are enrolling our kid in independent school in Fairfax County, which uses a higher standard than the already low SOL which Barret barley achieves. The school grounds are dilapidated and neglected. If you live here you'll be foreced to send your kids here and be unhappy. Private school is $25/year which works about to about ~$2,000 a month, go buy a home in McLean, VA.


Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2014
- a parent
Our school has been great for my daughter. In the first semester of Kindergarten, our daughter has progressed so much further than when she was in pre-school this year. She loves her teacher, Mrs. Kirk, and the school and the PTA keep you well informed about our daughter's progress and school developments. For parent involvement, my wife has enjoyed the opportunities to participate in-class activities and be a classroom parent.

Barrett Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at Barrett are superb. They get to know each child as an individual so that they can better foster his or her development. The Barrett Community is friendly and welcoming. The school has tons of resources to insure that every child learns. In particular we like that it is a NASA explorer school with a science focus. My children love it!

Nearby schools

Barrett Elementary School
4401 North Henderson Rd, Arlington, VA  22203
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (703) 228-6288
Last modified Barrett Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top