Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Drew Model Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 612 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

My twins are in a primary montessori class. This school has been wonderful in their approach in making the whole school one community. It has a small but active PTA and the teachers have been amazing. Very responsive to questions and concerns. This school is very diverse in socio-economic areas, as well as hosting various programs for special education, including a MIPA class. Drew also offers a peace program with a peace room that allows students to work out conflicts on their own with an adult moderator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

We have been really happy with Drew. Our child is in the Montessori program and her teacher is top-notch. Contrary to the previous poster, we have seen no issues with bullying. The school administration seems to work hard to make sure this isn't a problem. Also contrary to the previous poster, my child's montessori experience last year included multiple (5+) "going outs" -- experiential learning in the community. My child ate lunch in her classroom. Drew is still in the process of forming a strong community. However, I think it is well on the way to doing so -- the PTA is now quite robust. The school is incredibly diverse, and if you value the opportunity for your child to learn in an environment with children from many different backgrounds, this is it. I'm not sure you can find this level of diversity in any other Arlington school. But most importantly, my child learned a lot, and is getting a great, student-driven, well-rounded education -- not the cookie cutter experience of many other elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

Drew has alot of issues that they are working through. Compared to other Arlington schools, I think it is well below average. Just this year I know of at least 5 parents who have pulled their student out of the Montessori program at Drew because of issues relating to bullying and the qualtity of instruction. I know of at least 3 others that might do the same. There is a disconnect between the philosophy of Maria Montessori and the actual practice at Drew. The principal is well aware and is trying to address the issue of rudeness from some of the teaching and office staff towards the children. Multiple parents have complained about this. There have not been any going outs in the 4 years my child has been at that school (despite that it was in a promo video of theirs), and most of the Montessori students eat in the crowded loud cafeteria, not the classrooms due to a previous mouse problem and the teachers preference. There is a lack of community and the PTA struggles. Their budget is way below other N. Arlington schools. There are great Montessori teachers at Drew but some really bad ones too. I love Montessori but think Drew doesn't deliver.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2012

I have 2 kids in the Montessori program and could not be happier with the quality of their teachers. Drew has an incredible faculty. Both my kids are excited to go to school every day and totally thriving. The librarian and library are excellent, and the school has a fantastic arts program bolstered by a relationship with the Kennedy Center. The Montessori program is a welcome alternative to traditional education with mixed-age, diverse classes where each child learns at her own pace and the teacher never has to teach to the middle of the class. There is far less homework than in a traditional school, and the Montessori math materials that teach even complicated math concepts through concrete beads, checkerboards, and blocks mean students really understand the concepts rather than simply memorize math equations. Housing the Montessori program within a traditional school is not ideal, but the building and grounds are spacious and kept up relatively well. Because it is a county-wide school, there is less cohesiveness and parent involvement than there might be in a neighborhood school, but since the PTA was established 3 years ago, parent involvement is improving each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

Don t like the way some of the new teachers at Drew handle things with their students. wish things could change bt at this moment we don t recommend drew to any one anymore.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 22, 2012

Our child is attending the Montessori program at Drew as a first year student. We have been impressed by her development and constant motivation to learn new lessons. The staff is amazing...from when the children enter onto to the school grounds to the follow-up call from the office making sure your child is missing a day from school with your permission. Great place to have a child start their education and develop life friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

Drew is a unique county-wide school offering both a Montessori program and traditional graded program. We feel fortunate to be a part of the Drew and Montessori community. It is wonderful to have the option of Montessori education in the public school system. We also appreciate the school's diversity. The programs at Drew are thriving and growing because they are in such demand in the county. In my experience, the teachers are dedicated, creative and well-qualified, and the administration is responsive and caring. The Library and its staff are top-notch. The PTA has a small but very committed group of parents and is actively working to increase parent involvement (frankly, this a challenge for any school that draws children county-wide with a large percentage of bus riders). A school is more than just test scores, so if you are interested in Drew I highly recommend looking beyond the numbers. Ask to see the data of test scores by program, and in particular look at the improvement in scores in the last several years. I am completely confident that my children are getting a first-rate education at Drew.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

One very impressive aspect of the Drew total education program is the unique integration of special eduction students with those in the Montessori classroom. On a daily basis, the Montessori children host one or two of the Special Education students, accompanied by a teacher or an aide, I have observed this process for three years, and I salute both the Special Ed as well as the Montessori teachers for making this an incredible learning experience for all. And thanks to the Principal for fostering this kind of an environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

My granddaughter recently transferred to Drew in order to participate in the Montessori program Drew offers. She is very happy there and we are impressed by what we see and hear.


Posted March 17, 2010

Albeit, the Montessori philosophy/program is wonderful for many children(!) (And this is the main attraction for Drew), the school academic curriculum is lacking in expectations of achievement in core studies as well as in competition. There is a lot of focus on what otherwise are extracurricular activities, in the classroom. Teachers, when they stay, are wonderful and always have their doors open to parents. The PTA is new and growing strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

Drew houses an incredible public Montessori program for children ages 3 through 5th grade; there is also a popular traditional program in the school. My children attend the Montessori program and the Montessori teachers are top notch. When choosing elementary schools, I observed at nearly a dozen public and private schools in the area, and Drew was by far my favorite. The children are actively engaged in their learning at this school and the teaching is very individualized and child centered. It is an excellent school, in a beautifully renovated building, with large playgrounds, an amazing arts program, and some of the best teachers in the D.C. area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

Not sure why shool ranking is low....This school is definately deserve good ranking...my kids are in Montessori program and they are loving it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

Great school my son has excelled in this program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2006

Drew has a wonderful new Principal and the school is shining. Extracurricular activities have blossomed this year. The Montessori Program, through 5th grade, is unparalleled in public AND private schools. We have been thrilled with the quality of education and the performance of our child. We're amazed this is offered in a public system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

Amazing Montessori program for 3 year olds - 5th grade. One of the only Montessori elementary schools in the DC metro area, and it is free/public. Also arts focused, with most teachers specially trained to integrate arts into the curriculum. The teachers are incredible. Highly trained, student focused and committed to their students. There is a hum of excitement about learning from all the kids. The school pledge focuses on peace and self-discipline, and it really shows. In 5 years as a Drew parent I have never seen a fight between children, or even seen a teacher yell. The multi-ethnic, mixed income, international student body inspires each student to learn about the world, and discover more about themselves. The new principal is energetic, dedicated and warm. Beautiful new building is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Not pleased at all with the overall education of my child and other children that I have witnessed. Especially children within the special education program, I had a lot of trouble have some of the teachers that I had to deal with follow the childs IEP, not fair to the child. Looking for a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

Drew Model school is two schools housed under one roof. There is the montessori school that my daughter participates in and the regular graded program. My daughter has been in the school for two years. The quality of the montessori teachers is high... special recommendation for Mrs. Carmack -- a strong guide for young learners! Though this school is one of Arlington's 'lottery' schools, it's not full to capacity -- something I stuggle to explain. I think it has to do with the economic conditions of the neighborhood immediately surrounding the school... though I personally think it's a close-knit community with a great deal of neighborhood pride. The school was recently re-built and it's quite a nice facility -- the children have a high-tech tv studio, computer labs, and an excellent art program. The fifth graders in the graded program write and produce an opera each year!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students73%
Male students81%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students61%
Female students62%
Male students59%
Black students42%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English65%

Science

All Students68%
Female students60%
Male students78%
Black students41%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students57%
Female students52%
Male students63%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students59%
Female students55%
Male students64%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students59%
Female students64%
Male students52%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English71%

English: Writing

All Students56%
Female students70%
Male students38%
Black students32%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English58%

Math

All Students57%
Female students62%
Male students52%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English58%

Science

All Students51%
Female students56%
Male students45%
Black students37%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jackie Smith

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 South 23rd Street
Arlington, VA 22206
Phone: (703) 228-5825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Claremont Immersion
Arlington, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT