Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Arlington, VA
Students enrolled: 597
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Key school is a bi-lingual immersion school with a diverse community . Half the day is spent in Spanish and the other half in English. Children leave the school ready to converse in two languages. They also learn about different cultures. There are over 15 countries represented and I know that is a very scaled down number. The kids enjoy so much at the school that it could not possibly fit on a page. Some one could bring in an Italian dish, Spanish dish, Ethiopian dish, the Netherlands, or one for Nigeria to name a few I have tried. The teachers have high expectations for the children and it shows, wish there were 5 more just like it.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
We love Key. My daughter is going into first great but the immersion has been wonderful, she mumbles Spanish in her sleep. The staff and faculty are great.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This school is great! My child has excelled there so far and is learning a second language. The Immersion of the Spanish language has been very positive for my child, and they have maintained a fun, interesting environment.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2013
- a parent
My child is currently studying at Key, she loves her teacher and I love the principal and all staff in the school is very helpful with everybody.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
I moved to Arlington for this school and it was so much better than I expected. And I had high expectations! Wonderful principals and staff, great teachers and the after school staff if just phenomenal.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
Excellent School! Key School has knowledgeable and teachers dedicated to academic excellence, who are committed to help English and Spanish-speaking children learn the curriculum in both languages. The school is well managed and run by a superb Principal, who has advanced studies and understanding of child pedagogy, as well as innate leadership skills. The school provides additional support to children whose performance is above or below the academic norm. Overall, I have seen positive academic and linguistic results: Many happy, thriving and academically accomplished children who speak, read and write in both English and Spanish by 4th grade. Children who love the library and speak highly of their teachers. Parents who in general appreciate the responsiveness of teachers. Teachers who are prepared to give all the needed support to children. An academic and social community that works well together. As a parent, I highly recommend this school.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a community member
Bilingual, and great relations with the community...

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
The academics are not up to par. I'm contemplating taking my daughter out of the school as I don't think the academics are as rigorous as they ought to be. The teachers are okay. It seems to be a hit or miss, which is dissapointing. Not as great as I thought.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2007
- a parent
Even if the students were not learning to be bilingual, Key would be an excellent school. The academics are top notch and the school is wonderful for working parents. There are numerous activities (chess club, homework club, sports, and more) and the school offers an extended day program (after school care) that is well organized and fun. My son enjoys the after school program so much that he does not want me to pick him up early. In addition to all of this, all students learn to be bilingual -- English speakers learn Spanish and vice-a-versa. The fact that the entire school is bilingual is helpful in comparison to schools with smaller immersion programs. The immersion aspect can be more challenging for non-bilingual parents (try helping with science reports in Spanish), but it is well worth it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francis Scott Key Elementary School
2300 Key Blvd, Arlington, VA  22201
(703) 228-4210
Last modified Francis Scott Key Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francis Scott Key Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top