Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Henry Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
The teachers truly care about their students. They engage the family and take care of the less fortunate.

Henry Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
It's in their motto. Do your personal best today and all life long. The school is extremely well run. I compare it to the private schools i attended


Henry Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
The culture at the school is amazing and the teachers love being there. They go above and beyond and it shows. They received the National Blue Ribbon School Award

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is a gem! The teachers, the staff and the kids are just nice kids and everyone helps each other. The community involvement and PTA accomplishments are outstanding and my kids just love all the events!

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
We have been so impressed with Henry Elementary. The principal is fantastic, approachable, and engaged. We've really enjoyed the teachers. My daughter has really enjoyed her time in school.


Henry Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, fantastic teachers that really care and put forth so much extra effort for the children. I think Patrick Henry will be moving up in the rankings. Not sure why it's not a 10 or at minimum a 9, with outstanding test scores, bright cheery school & dedicated faculty. Mr. Ramsay and Mrs. Love are outstanding Pre-K teachers & Dr. Piehota is a super involved principal. Diverse, Involved & willing to go the extra mile. Fantastic school!

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted December 25, 2012
- a parent
Great school. As a military family, we moved to Arlington this year (2012) and have a first and third grader at Patrick Henry. We could not be any happier with the school and the teachers. Classes are engaging but challenging - my kids are given a good bit of homework that seems to do a good job incorporating ideas from across the curriculum into the work. The teachers have done a good job assessing our kids and giving them appropriate level assignments. The Principal and PTA are extremely active, much more than we saw at previous schools, which has been a welcome change. Overall, Patrick Henry has been terrific - I would highly recommend it to any inbound families.

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
So often schools south of Route 50 get a less-than-stellar reputation among Arlington folks, but Patrick Henry is simply not one of those. It is far more diverse than many of the elementary schools in the Northwest area of Arlington, yet its test scores are through the roof! It's a community school with excellent teachers, one of the best playgrounds around, and ahas caring, involved principal. We like that Spanish is available as a class for all grades, but the curriculum is not immersion. We also enjoy the well-attended bingo nights and other community-oriented events - such as the Halloween parade for the homeless, Veteran's Day celebrations, and International Night! My children feel safe, cared for, and we believe they are challenged at Patrick Henry ... so what more can you ask for?


Henry Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
On the whole, a good school, but lack of playground supervision led to some serious bullying incidents. Also disturbing was that the main bully was from a wealthy white family, while the victims were mostly Latino. My son was not a victim, but he went to pre-school with the bully and one of the victims and was pretty upset about the whole thing. The principal described the incidents as "fighting", but it was clear to my son and to other kids (they talked about it alot) that these incidents were not about two kids fighting but about one kid picking on other, smaller (but in the same grade) minority kids.

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
Great Principal who is very involved with her school - parents, teachers, students. Teachers are excellent. The school has a library across its parking lot and is surrounded by a good neighborhood.

Nearby schools

Henry Elementary School
701 South Highland St, Arlington, VA  22204
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (703) 228-5820
Last modified Henry Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top