Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Arlington, VA
Students enrolled: 431

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henry Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is a gem! The teachers, the staff and the kids are just nice kids and everyone helps each other. The community involvement and PTA accomplishments are outstanding and my kids just love all the events!

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
We have been so impressed with Henry Elementary. The principal is fantastic, approachable, and engaged. We've really enjoyed the teachers. My daughter has really enjoyed her time in school.


Henry Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, fantastic teachers that really care and put forth so much extra effort for the children. I think Patrick Henry will be moving up in the rankings. Not sure why it's not a 10 or at minimum a 9, with outstanding test scores, bright cheery school & dedicated faculty. Mr. Ramsay and Mrs. Love are outstanding Pre-K teachers & Dr. Piehota is a super involved principal. Diverse, Involved & willing to go the extra mile. Fantastic school!

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted December 25, 2012
- a parent
Great school. As a military family, we moved to Arlington this year (2012) and have a first and third grader at Patrick Henry. We could not be any happier with the school and the teachers. Classes are engaging but challenging - my kids are given a good bit of homework that seems to do a good job incorporating ideas from across the curriculum into the work. The teachers have done a good job assessing our kids and giving them appropriate level assignments. The Principal and PTA are extremely active, much more than we saw at previous schools, which has been a welcome change. Overall, Patrick Henry has been terrific - I would highly recommend it to any inbound families.

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
So often schools south of Route 50 get a less-than-stellar reputation among Arlington folks, but Patrick Henry is simply not one of those. It is far more diverse than many of the elementary schools in the Northwest area of Arlington, yet its test scores are through the roof! It's a community school with excellent teachers, one of the best playgrounds around, and ahas caring, involved principal. We like that Spanish is available as a class for all grades, but the curriculum is not immersion. We also enjoy the well-attended bingo nights and other community-oriented events - such as the Halloween parade for the homeless, Veteran's Day celebrations, and International Night! My children feel safe, cared for, and we believe they are challenged at Patrick Henry ... so what more can you ask for?


Henry Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
On the whole, a good school, but lack of playground supervision led to some serious bullying incidents. Also disturbing was that the main bully was from a wealthy white family, while the victims were mostly Latino. My son was not a victim, but he went to pre-school with the bully and one of the victims and was pretty upset about the whole thing. The principal described the incidents as "fighting", but it was clear to my son and to other kids (they talked about it alot) that these incidents were not about two kids fighting but about one kid picking on other, smaller (but in the same grade) minority kids.

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
Great Principal who is very involved with her school - parents, teachers, students. Teachers are excellent. The school has a library across its parking lot and is surrounded by a good neighborhood.

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school! My child has disabilities and all the teachers, principles, and staff did everything they could to insure his learning abilities. They really know what they are doing. Thank, God for Patrick Henry Elementary!


Henry Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2008
- a parent
My stepdaughter attended 5th grade. She loved her teachers, especially Ms. Watson. She felt very safe there, made new friends, and got plenty of special attention when needed. Dr. Piehota is an excellent leader, and very approachable. The students had a lot of activities and field trips, including trips to the Washington, Lincoln, and Jefferson monuments in DC. My stepdaughter immigrated from China, and was surprised at how easy American math classes are. Everything was a review, and she always won all the math competitions in her class.

Henry Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry Elementary School
701 S Highland St, Arlington, VA  22204
(703) 228-5820
Last modified Henry Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henry Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top